Daleaholic
Topic Author

How Do You Balance And Aircraft?

Sun Oct 19, 2008 11:29 pm

Now I'm not an engineer or the like, I'm merely an enthusiast, so please don't jump down my throat  Silly

I often hear people saying that an aircraft needs to be balanced and this is very obvious. My question is, how do pilots/rampers/agents know how much weight is where? Do the landing gears have some kind of measuring device which can determine how much weight is being put on top of it?

Just something I thought about...

Thanks in advance  Smile
Religion is an illusion of childhood... Outgrown under proper education.

Starlionblue

RE: How Do You Balance And Aircraft?

Sun Oct 19, 2008 11:49 pm

They do it the old fashioned way: paper and pencil. Or with a computer.

That is, they do the calculations without help from weight sensors on the gear. They estimate given number of pax and cargo in sections of the aircraft.
"There are no stupid questions, but there are a lot of inquisitive idiots." - John Ringo

Soku39

Mon Oct 20, 2008 12:37 am

Well which one are you talking about? There's a weight and balance done for every flight, and there is also a weight and balance done every time permanent equipment is added or removed from the airplane. The first is the responsibility of the pilot, the second is done by an A&P.
The Ohio Player

wilco737

Mon Oct 20, 2008 1:46 am

Quoting Daleaholic (Thread starter):
I often hear people saying that an aircraft needs to be balanced and this is very obvious. My question is, how do pilots/rampers/agents know how much weight is where? Do the landing gears have some kind of measuring device which can determine how much weight is being put on top of it?

Hi Paul.

the loadmaster gets a loading plan where it says how many baggages he has to put. Or container or pallets.