readytotaxi

Pilots Your Vote Pls, Best ATC Country?

Mon Nov 10, 2008 5:53 pm

Around the globe is there one country,more than any other, that you really feel most comfortable in flying through their air space?
you don't get a second chance to make a first impression!

YWG

RE: Pilots Your Vote Pls, Best ATC Country?

Mon Nov 10, 2008 6:31 pm

I'd have to say the USA. When I was time building and flying over there, you could get flight following from center. This not only ensures traffic avoidance, but also emergency assistance as well. Where as if you were on a traffic advisory freq, you could be talking to the air.

Another thing about the States, which really doesn't relate to ATC is that there seems to be a paved airport every 10-20miles or so. A lot of them even have an instrument approach!

I've also heard the Germans are amazing at pushing tin too!
Contact Winnipeg center now on 134.4, good day.

wing

Mon Nov 10, 2008 9:45 pm

When I was a student at ERAU ATC at DAB was really a big helper for a non native tranee pilot like me.

After I started my airline carreer I never flew in US airspace but excluding them my vote goes equally to British and German controllers.Well %51 to %49 on the German side if I have to make a choice.

Most European countries has good AT services but to feeling the comfort I can complain about French airspace.Not their ability or services but too much French speaking between themselves, sometimes you can really have difficulty to understand whats happening around you.
follow me on my facebook page" captain wing's journey log"

ZBBYLW

Tue Nov 11, 2008 1:25 am