HowSwedeitis
Topic Author

AT-SAT Test Help.

Fri Nov 28, 2008 3:06 am

Hello, and thanks for taking the time to read this post.

I have a question regarding the AT-SAT test; and I am wondering if there are any air traffic controllers who can perhaps give me some tips/pointers about the upcoming test, and (if I pass) the interview. What is going to be asked? What did you do? What would you have done differently?

A little about me:
I graduated from High School, and started taking flying courses out of my local FBO. I worked as an intern for about a year and a half, but the insane schedule and the flight costs were just too much. So I left with some solos, a certificate, and a great experience, but no degree. I love airplanes, and am an avid plane spotter. I listen to www.liveatc.net and monitor the flights on www.flightaware.com! A lot of friends saw this, and commented, "You should do that! You like it so much!" So, I applied with the FAA in June or July, and just now got the email. I think I may have a slight advantage in that I know a lot of the ATC lingo, the phonetic alphabet, etc. etc. but I am still concerned in the total lack of information about what the test is going to be about. 8 hours is a long time!

Any help would be very appreciated. Thank you so much!

-HSII
Heja Sverige!!

cactushp

RE: AT-SAT Test Help.

Fri Nov 28, 2008 4:20 am

Read the FAA 7110.65S as well as the AIM/FAR's. That should get you off to a nice start.
Sorry, I was on the landline

freeze3192

Fri Nov 28, 2008 5:42 am

Go to www.forums.jetcareers.com and click on the "Air Traffic Control" sub forum. They have a lot of AT-SAT'ers hanging out there.
"A passenger bets his life that his pilot is a worthy heir to an ancient tradition of excellence and professionalism."

jgarrido

Fri Nov 28, 2008 2:16 pm