kaitak744
Posts: 2088
Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2005 1:32 pm

Can QF Base A Plane At LAX For SYD-LAX-JFK?

Wed Dec 31, 2008 3:57 am

Can QF base a plane at LAX for SYD-LAX-JFK?

For example, rather than flying a half or 3/4 empty 747 from LAX to JFK, can they base an A330 at LAX, and fly it over to JFK everyday with pax coming in from SYD or elsewhere?

Also, forgive me, but if the loads on the LAX-JFK sector are high, and warrant a 747, wouldn't it be better to base one of their old 747-300s at LAX to do the daily flight?
 
Airvan00
Posts: 236
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2008 1:06 am

RE: Can QF Base A Plane At LAX For SYD-LAX-JFK?

Wed Dec 31, 2008 4:07 am

They have sometimes 6 744's (sometimes 2 A380's) sitting all day at LAX. So one of them going over to JFK is no problem. Maybe they should be sending them to other places as well instead of cluttering up the parking area. (Althought I understand some Mx is done in LAX)
QF don't have any more 743.
 
azncsa4qf744er
Posts: 328
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2003 4:04 pm

RE: Can QF Base A Plane At LAX For SYD-LAX-JFK?

Wed Dec 31, 2008 4:44 am



Quoting Airvan00 (Reply 1):
(Althought I understand some Mx is done in LAX)

 checkmark   bigthumbsup 

Sometimes you can see two B744's in the old TWA hanger at the same time.
 
AirNZ
Posts: 544
Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2005 6:03 pm

RE: Can QF Base A Plane At LAX For SYD-LAX-JFK?

Wed Dec 31, 2008 5:00 am



Quoting Kaitak744 (Thread starter):
For example, rather than flying a half or 3/4 empty 747 from LAX to JFK, can they base an A330 at LAX, and fly it over to JFK everyday with pax coming in from SYD or elsewhere?

Also, forgive me, but if the loads on the LAX-JFK sector are high, and warrant a 747, wouldn't it be better to base one of their old 747-300s at LAX to do the daily flight?

Sorry, but I'm not quite understanding what you're saying and I might be misunderstanding. If you say the loads LAX-JFK are high and warrant a 747, how does that correlate with your previous comment of flying a half or 3/4 empty 747?
Flown:F27/TU134/Viscount/Trident/BAC111/727/737/747/757/767/777/300/310/320/321/330/340/DC9/DC10/Dash8/Shorts330/BAe146
 
User avatar
EK413
Posts: 4333
Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2003 3:11 pm

RE: Can QF Base A Plane At LAX For SYD-LAX-JFK?

Wed Dec 31, 2008 5:00 am



Quoting Airvan00 (Reply 1):
QF don't have any more 743.

Correction, QF have 3 B743 aircraft... Last remaining B743 aircraft will be retired by years end which is less than 8 hours from now... Big grin

EK413
Good evening, ladies and gentlemen. We are tonight’s entertainment!
 
TG992
Posts: 2310
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2001 12:03 pm

RE: Can QF Base A Plane At LAX For SYD-LAX-JFK?

Wed Dec 31, 2008 5:09 am

The loads have never been particularly high.. it is common to have under 100 pax.
Where this flight breaks even and profits is in the cargo carried.
-
 
Airvan00
Posts: 236
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2008 1:06 am

RE: Can QF Base A Plane At LAX For SYD-LAX-JFK?

Wed Dec 31, 2008 5:14 am



Quoting EK413 (Reply 3):
Correction, QF have 3 B743 aircraft... Last remaining B743 aircraft will be retired by years end which is less than 8 hours from now...

Picky Picky  Big grin Well only 2 left in Oz i think, and they won't be doing any scheduled flights in the next 7hr 45 min .. Happy New Year to u 2  champagne 
 
kaitak744
Posts: 2088
Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2005 1:32 pm

RE: Can QF Base A Plane At LAX For SYD-LAX-JFK?

Wed Dec 31, 2008 6:29 am



Quoting AirNZ (Reply 4):
Sorry, but I'm not quite understanding what you're saying and I might be misunderstanding. If you say the loads LAX-JFK are high and warrant a 747, how does that correlate with your previous comment of flying a half or 3/4 empty 747?

I said that because I wasn't sure if the loads were in the half full ball park or in the completely full ball park. Sorry about that, I wasn't clear.

But:

Quoting TG992 (Reply 5):
The loads have never been particularly high.. it is common to have under 100 pax.
Where this flight breaks even and profits is in the cargo carried.

There is the answer.
 
EXAAUADL
Posts: 1740
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 3:48 am

RE: Can QF Base A Plane At LAX For SYD-LAX-JFK?

Wed Dec 31, 2008 10:16 am

it would probably be more expensive to base a sole 330 in LAX than fly to JFK 1/2 full on a 744. Also they would have to get the 330 back to SYD or else it would be isolated...wasnt QF looking at flying LAX-AKL with a 330 at one point?
 
User avatar
vhqpa
Posts: 1205
Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2005 8:21 pm

RE: Can QF Base A Plane At LAX For SYD-LAX-JFK?

Wed Dec 31, 2008 2:23 pm



Quoting EXAAUADL (Reply 8):
wasnt QF looking at flying LAX-AKL with a 330 at one point?

They did use the 332 for a couple of months before the 743 joined the 744 on the route now with the 743's withdrawn it is currently operating as a 332 on Tuesdays, Thursdays and Sundays and as a 744 on Mondays, Wednesdays, Fridays and Saturdays untill 16JAN when it goes back to 744 daily.




Vhq
"There you go ladies and gentleman we're through Mach 1 the speed of sound no bumps no bangs... CONCORDE"
 
avt007
Posts: 1989
Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2000 4:51 am

RE: Can QF Base A Plane At LAX For SYD-LAX-JFK?

Wed Dec 31, 2008 5:36 pm

Would they be allowed by the FAA? By changing aircraft, they are effectively flying a domestic route within the United States, even if they only took the pax from SYD.
 
Viscount724
Posts: 19046
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 7:32 pm

RE: Can QF Base A Plane At LAX For SYD-LAX-JFK?

Wed Dec 31, 2008 6:50 pm



Quoting Avt007 (Reply 10):
Would they be allowed by the FAA? By changing aircraft, they are effectively flying a domestic route within the United States, even if they only took the pax from SYD.

I don't think that's a problem since they can't sell domestic traffic.
 
PER744
Posts: 397
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2003 11:38 am

RE: Can QF Base A Plane At LAX For SYD-LAX-JFK?

Tue Jan 06, 2009 6:00 am

I thought a major reason for the LAX-JFK flight was cargo? (I'm sure I remember reading that even if there were zero passengers the cargo revenue would make the route profitable)
 
avt007
Posts: 1989
Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2000 4:51 am

RE: Can QF Base A Plane At LAX For SYD-LAX-JFK?

Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:13 pm

I'd still be surprised if they were allowed to operate a separate aircraft on that leg. I have nothing to back that up, just a hunch.
 
vikinga346
Posts: 314
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2006 9:45 pm

RE: Can QF Base A Plane At LAX For SYD-LAX-JFK?

Fri Jul 24, 2009 3:24 pm



Quoting Viscount724 (Reply 11):
I don't think that's a problem since they can't sell domestic traffic.

Although they can't sell domestic traffic - can airline employees still non-rev on LAX-JFK or vice versa without a ticket for the Australia sector?
With the Australia sector it's fine, right?
...you will walk the earth with your eyes turned skyward, for there you have been and there you shall return
 
thegeek
Posts: 1330
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 7:20 am

RE: Can QF Base A Plane At LAX For SYD-LAX-JFK?

Sat Jul 25, 2009 12:28 am



Quoting VikingA346 (Reply 14):
can airline employees still non-rev on LAX-JFK or vice versa without a ticket for the Australia sector?

I wouldn't think so, but how many QF employees would even want to? Maybe ones from the LAX maintenance base.

Quoting Kaitak744 (Thread starter):
Also, forgive me, but if the loads on the LAX-JFK sector are high, and warrant a 747, wouldn't it be better to base one of their old 747-300s at LAX to do the daily flight?

Besides the problems that others have mentioned, getting the crew there would be a problem. You could have done it when the 743 was flying AKL-LAX, but where's the advantage?

If an A332 could have taken the cargo load, it could have worked when it was flying AKL-LAX.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: FAST Enterprise [Crawler], JAAlbert, jonchan627 and 5 guests