chapavaeaa
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 4:35 pm

Boeing Toolbox

Thu Jan 29, 2009 11:00 pm

I've heard a lot about the Boeing Toolbox software. Is anyone on this site using that tool and what are your thoughts about it?
 
tdscanuck
Posts: 8572
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2006 7:25 am

RE: Boeing Toolbox

Fri Jan 30, 2009 6:55 am



Quoting Chapavaeaa (Thread starter):
Is anyone on this site using that tool and what are your thoughts about it?

It depends on which application you're using. The damage/repair tracking application is very cool, and very useful.

The document viewer is another story. If you have a very fast connection and a really big monitor, it's not bad. But if you're on limited bandwidth or a small screen (including basically any laptop ever seen in industry) it's a royal pain. The text is fine, and the hyperlinks are nice, but the image and printing support is terrible. I much prefer the PDF manuals.

Caveat: I haven't played with the document function in about 6 months...they may have improved it.

Tom.
 
User avatar
HAWK21M
Posts: 29867
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2001 10:05 pm

RE: Boeing Toolbox

Fri Jan 30, 2009 8:19 am

Anyone have a few snapshots of this.I would be keen to see how it looks.
regds
MEL
I may not win often, but I damn well never lose!!! ;)
 
chapavaeaa
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 4:35 pm

RE: Boeing Toolbox

Sat Jan 31, 2009 4:01 pm



Quoting Tdscanuck (Reply 1):
The document viewer is another story. If you have a very fast connection and a really big monitor, it's not bad. But if you're on limited bandwidth or a small screen (including basically any laptop ever seen in industry) it's a royal pain. The text is fine, and the hyperlinks are nice, but the image and printing support is terrible. I much prefer the PDF manuals.

Is the document viewer the part that is used for the inspection program work cards? (not sure if I have that correctly written. I understand that the program will "create" the work card from the AMM text)
 
tdscanuck
Posts: 8572
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2006 7:25 am

RE: Boeing Toolbox

Sat Jan 31, 2009 5:37 pm



Quoting Chapavaeaa (Reply 3):
Is the document viewer the part that is used for the inspection program work cards? (not sure if I have that correctly written. I understand that the program will "create" the work card from the AMM text)

Probably. I say that because the Toolbox is somewhat customizable by the airline. Boeing provides task cards that are pulled from the AMM and you would normally view those from within the document viewer application. But I can't say for sure that an airline hasn't customized a work card viewer for their own need, or reformatted the stock work cards so they display more nicely.

Tom.
 
MD11Engineer
Posts: 13916
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2003 5:25 am

RE: Boeing Toolbox

Sat Jan 31, 2009 8:02 pm



Quoting Tdscanuck (Reply 1):
The document viewer is another story. If you have a very fast connection and a really big monitor, it's not bad. But if you're on limited bandwidth or a small screen (including basically any laptop ever seen in industry) it's a royal pain. The text is fine, and the hyperlinks are nice, but the image and printing support is terrible. I much prefer the PDF manuals.

We use it and have a very slow connection. It takes ages to load a manual page. Also printing wiring diagrams and other schematics requires some fiddling with the printer settings to be readable. I prefered the manuals on DVD or CD, but I like to possibility to search e.g. component overhaul manuals.

Jan
Je Suis Charlie et je suis Ahmet aussi
 
muhamed
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2010 10:07 am

RE: Boeing Toolbox

Wed Oct 13, 2010 10:32 am

Quoting MD11Engineer (Reply 5):
We use it and have a very slow connection

Does the Boeing Toolbox require some sort of network connection? How different is it from the Airbus AirN@v? Also, what kind of files does it use for it's information sets? (i.e. PDF, XML).
There is nothing so useless as doing efficiently that which should not be done at all.
 
tdscanuck
Posts: 8572
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2006 7:25 am

RE: Boeing Toolbox

Thu Oct 14, 2010 2:47 am

Quoting muhamed (Reply 6):
Does the Boeing Toolbox require some sort of network connection?

Yes. It's a MyBoeingFleet.com product and, as far as I know, doesn't support offline operation.

Quoting muhamed (Reply 6):
How different is it from the Airbus AirN@v?

No idea.

Quoting muhamed (Reply 6):
Also, what kind of files does it use for it's information sets? (i.e. PDF, XML).

Mostly XML, but it also supports PDF and some 3rd party formats like IsoView.

Tom.
 
muhamed
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2010 10:07 am

RE: Boeing Toolbox

Fri Oct 15, 2010 10:01 am

Thanks Tom for your replies. I think Toolbox is good but not really suitable for mobile operations i.e. operations away from parent base, forward location etc. Its good in a fully wifi hangar with good bandwidth though.
There is nothing so useless as doing efficiently that which should not be done at all.
 
MD11Engineer
Posts: 13916
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2003 5:25 am

RE: Boeing Toolbox

Fri Oct 15, 2010 10:52 am

The advantage bof the toolbox is that all documents including company procedures are stored centrally on a Boeing server accessible via internet. The toolbox permits the printing of hardcopies for work, but not the downloading on storage media. This way it can be assured that only the newest revision of the manual is being used and that there are no uncontrolled copies stored on company computers.

Jan
Je Suis Charlie et je suis Ahmet aussi
 
User avatar
HAWK21M
Posts: 29867
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2001 10:05 pm

RE: Boeing Toolbox

Sun Oct 17, 2010 10:48 am

We are now using this software.
As mentioned above....If your net connection is fast its worth it.However a large monitor screen makes viewing easier.
regds
MEL.
I may not win often, but I damn well never lose!!! ;)
 
tdscanuck
Posts: 8572
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2006 7:25 am

RE: Boeing Toolbox

Sat Oct 30, 2010 11:04 pm

Quoting tdscanuck (Reply 7):

Yes. It's a MyBoeingFleet.com product and, as far as I know, doesn't support offline operation.

I was wrong...I'm now the proud user of a Toolbox Remote installation.

Tom.
 
User avatar
HAWK21M
Posts: 29867
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2001 10:05 pm

RE: Boeing Toolbox

Wed Dec 01, 2010 9:34 am

Quoting tdscanuck (Reply 11):

I was wrong...I'm now the proud user of a Toolbox Remote installation.

Somehow preloaded Manuals software works faster than WiFi Boeing toolbox.Although one has to reload the revisions on time in the former.
regds
MEL.
I may not win often, but I damn well never lose!!! ;)
 
Sasha
Posts: 856
Joined: Tue May 18, 1999 3:26 am

RE: Boeing Toolbox

Wed Mar 16, 2011 9:51 am

Has anyone used or perhaps seen being used (since it's carried with planes themeselves by the crew) Toolbox Remote Portable application? It's said to be Toolbox Remote only without requiring a local server. Just works as-is off an SD card or USD flash drive?

We're considering distribution of SD cards on our planes, just thought it'd be good to hear any feedback on the process. How easy it is to keep updated, etc. Perhaps anyone had to fix a plane from another airline who had this Portable thing on board?

Thanks!
An2/24/28,Yak42,Tu154/134,IL18/62/96,B737/757/767,A310/320/319,F100,BAe146,EMB-145,CRJ,A340-600,B747-400,A-330-300,A-340
 
User avatar
HAWK21M
Posts: 29867
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2001 10:05 pm

RE: Boeing Toolbox

Sun Mar 20, 2011 9:50 am

Quoting Sasha (Reply 13):

We're considering distribution of SD cards on our planes

How do you cater to misuse of the same or by erroneously not referring the superseded edition.
regds
MEL.
I may not win often, but I damn well never lose!!! ;)
 
JAGflyer
Posts: 3453
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 5:31 am

RE: Boeing Toolbox

Thu May 09, 2013 12:42 am

This thread came up via a Google search and I'd like to bump it if anyone has any questions. I am a Toolbox focal and administrator at my airline so I may be able to provide answers to any questions about this system. My first experience using it was when I started at my current position about 2 years ago and since then I have mastered it quite extensively.

Simply put, the Toolbox system is an online system which allows users to access Boeing manuals (AMM, IPC, etc) which are specific to an airline's fleet as well as other documents which are loaded onto the system (company manuals, etc). Also available are modules for task card development, printing, and package creation. The Toolbox system also hosts a module which allows users to view specific systems in 2D and 3D views and ascertain information about specific parts that make up a specific system. I am currently working on developing a training course for select users at my company on how to use the Systems module to it's full potential. I only began using it a few months ago and am working on mastering it fully myself.

Toolbox also has a Remote client which can be loaded onto a computer and then populated with data packages created by a company's Toolbox administrators. The Remote application is used in situations where users do not have internet access and require the ability to view manuals in an offline environment.

[Edited 2013-05-08 17:50:30]
Support the beer and soda can industry, your recycle old airplanes!
 
flybaurlax
Posts: 588
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2008 12:34 am

RE: Boeing Toolbox

Fri May 10, 2013 3:44 pm

I must say that the FIM is horrible in toolbox. When browsing for various faults, it's categorized by Fault Code but there is no title/description next to it. It could be a lot more user friendly.

Also, the search function is pretty bad.
Boilerup! Go Purdue!
 
Apprentice
Posts: 185
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2013 12:51 pm

RE: Boeing Toolbox

Fri May 10, 2013 5:13 pm

Quoting muhamed (Reply 6):

Hi:
I used Airn@v for a long time, both dvd/ on-line. (Including B744 and B777 doc over airn@v!) and now I'm using myboeingfleet. IMHO, airn@v is better and faster but toolbox provides much more resources. For line/base dynamic mx, I would always choose airn@v

Rgds
A "NO" is a positive answer., "DON'T KNOW" is not. My Tutor
 
JAGflyer
Posts: 3453
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 5:31 am

RE: Boeing Toolbox

Sun May 12, 2013 5:57 pm

Quoting flybaurlax (Reply 16):

In the Systems module there is a function called "Fault Isolation". There you can enter described faults (ie. smoke), fault codes, BITE codes, etc. From there it will lead you to FIM sections that may be applicable to your issue. (ie. smoke from APU, smoke in cockpit)
Support the beer and soda can industry, your recycle old airplanes!
 
MeCe
Posts: 170
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 9:19 am

RE: Boeing Toolbox

Mon May 13, 2013 8:00 pm

Quoting jagflyer (Reply 15):
This thread came up via a Google search and I'd like to bump it if anyone has any questions. I am a Toolbox focal and administrator at my airline so I may be able to provide answers to any questions about this system. My first experience using it was when I started at my current position about 2 years ago and since then I have mastered it quite extensively.




Hi,

Is that any way to use in android devices ? When I try to access, have a message "xml.dom not found".
 
User avatar
HAWK21M
Posts: 29867
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2001 10:05 pm

RE: Boeing Toolbox

Tue May 14, 2013 9:25 am

Personally the hardcopys were so user friendly......however technology creates variation so we need to gget used to Toolbox......the good thing is the hyperlinking.....sad part is the juggling between a diagram and the literature to and fro.
I may not win often, but I damn well never lose!!! ;)
 
JAGflyer
Posts: 3453
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 5:31 am

RE: Boeing Toolbox

Wed May 15, 2013 12:31 am

Quoting MeCe (Reply 19):

There is no support at the moment for Android devices. I know because I tried accessing Toolbox on my phone when I first started using it with no luck. I know Boeing is is working on some sort of support or app for the iPod and iPad (you can read more about it on the MyBoeingFleet home page). Some companies are looking to make iPads available for maintenance personnel to use while working on aircraft.

Quoting HAWK21M (Reply 20):

Hard-copies are the past. The lead publications person has been in aviation documentation for many years and has told me stories about how large hardcopy manuals were. Something like an AMM was multiple volumes and doing revisions was very tedious. I personally like the digital versions of manuals (either on DVD or via Toolbox) as they are easier to navigate. I rarely deal with paper these days and when I do it is only for select people who hold certain company manuals in hard copy format. I have and continue to try to eliminate a lot of the paper stuff since everything is available either on Toolbox, MyBoeingFleet, or via a vendor's website (CMMs, SBs, etc).
Support the beer and soda can industry, your recycle old airplanes!
 
User avatar
HAWK21M
Posts: 29867
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2001 10:05 pm

RE: Boeing Toolbox

Tue May 28, 2013 11:58 am

Quoting jagflyer (Reply 21):
Some companies are looking to make iPads available for maintenance personnel to use while working on aircraft.

Yes true.....Its doing the rounds....For Mx they are looking for a waterproof/skydrol resistant/Impact resistant design.

Quoting jagflyer (Reply 21):
Hard-copies are the past

Softcopy is the future but moving between a diagram & literature can be difficult unlike on a hardcopy where a diagram page could be held adjacent to the literature.
I may not win often, but I damn well never lose!!! ;)
 
rmm
Posts: 518
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2001 10:34 am

RE: Boeing Toolbox

Tue Jun 25, 2013 6:32 am

A few questions guys,

1) When your viewing a AMM, the L/H pane has the chapters and the R/H the text. When you click on a diagram/figure link it appears in the L/H pane under the chapter references, i.e it divides the L/H pane in half so you lose half of the L/H pane. How do you get rid of the diagram/figure? It has a windows type button to increase it to full page view and you can shrink it again but nothing to delete it so the whole L/H chapter pane reappears.

2) I had to print out a FIM procedure. I selected the effectivity and it was good to see that it greyed out all the irrelevant aircraft line number data. When I hit print, it printed 36 pages of which I only needed 7. Is there a way to set it so it only prints data for the effected airplane? I hate paging through all the pages on night shift out in the open when it's freezing.

Cheers
 
JAGflyer
Posts: 3453
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 5:31 am

RE: Boeing Toolbox

Wed Jun 26, 2013 5:06 pm

Quoting rmm (Reply 23):

In reference to your first question, you can adjust the size of the image pane by putting your cursor between the chapter list and the image viewer so that you get the "increase/decrease height" cursor (the one that has on arrow pointing up and one pointing down). Left click and drag up/down to reduce the size of the image viewer which will in turn increase the size of the chapter list. As for your second question, I do not see any way to only have Toolbox print the sections of the task or chapter that is applicable to the selected aircraft.
Support the beer and soda can industry, your recycle old airplanes!
 
rmm
Posts: 518
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2001 10:34 am

RE: Boeing Toolbox

Thu Jun 27, 2013 12:50 am

Quoting jagflyer (Reply 24):
Left click and drag up/down to reduce the size of the image viewer which will in turn increase the size of the chapter list.

That's what I've been doing to date. I was hoping there might be a way to close the image viewer like you can in ADOC.
 
Apprentice
Posts: 185
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2013 12:51 pm

RE: Boeing Toolbox

Thu Jun 27, 2013 7:32 pm

Quoting rmm (Reply 23):

For second question, when I need to print only a part of a whole procedure I hit print button, after a while, 2 windowas should appears, one - procedure as it will be printed and second, printer command. I cancel printer command and start browsing procedure till I get what I'm looking for and with rh click or a tool bar at the botton, select again printer command and print current or interval of pages, It is not auto selection, but it helps. Browsing procedure I also using when I want to read direct from PC, since adobe format is much better, for instance to check the fig.

Rgds
A "NO" is a positive answer., "DON'T KNOW" is not. My Tutor
 
User avatar
HAWK21M
Posts: 29867
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2001 10:05 pm

RE: Boeing Toolbox

Fri Jul 05, 2013 4:15 pm

Toolbox software is best viewed on a 21 in screen or larger....Any one Agree with me  
I may not win often, but I damn well never lose!!! ;)
 
Sasha
Posts: 856
Joined: Tue May 18, 1999 3:26 am

RE: Boeing Toolbox

Mon Jul 08, 2013 4:29 am

Printing issues lately. Have any other Toolbox users noticed lately that when you press Print inside the toolbox to print text (not the diagram), documents come out sprinkled with funny "A" characters everywhere on the page's sides and sometimes in the text? It greatly obstructs comprehension and can lead to misinterpretation.

I have addressed this to Boeing but with no luck in receiving a suggestion so far.

Tested it with Toolbox Remote Portable with the same database loaded as on local servers - the issue doesn't manifest itself there. Only Toolbox Remote server installations are affected. We're on the latest version of Toolbox. The problem seems to be either with the toolbox itself or whatever Java component it uses to generate a PDF document out of the page requested for printing.

Any ideas?
Thank you!
An2/24/28,Yak42,Tu154/134,IL18/62/96,B737/757/767,A310/320/319,F100,BAe146,EMB-145,CRJ,A340-600,B747-400,A-330-300,A-340
 
User avatar
HAWK21M
Posts: 29867
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2001 10:05 pm

RE: Boeing Toolbox

Tue Jan 20, 2015 7:48 pm

Was checking MBF on a new Computer......Tried Toolbox remote but was not able to view the documents
as ISO Viewer was not installed.
Any idea where this can be downloaded from.
I may not win often, but I damn well never lose!!! ;)
 
pianos101
Posts: 80
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 5:33 pm

RE: Boeing Toolbox

Tue Jan 20, 2015 8:37 pm

Quoting hawk21m (Reply 29):

You should be able to just Google ArborText IsoView and install from a link depending on your company's computer policy. If your work computer is access-controlled, you'll have to contact your IT department.

If you need further help, you can contact MBF support via phone or the online form found on the website. Hope this helps.
 
Apprentice
Posts: 185
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2013 12:51 pm

RE: Boeing Toolbox

Wed Jan 21, 2015 6:00 am

Quoting hawk21m (Reply 29):

A shortcut if You don't have authority to install isoview and while waiting for ..
Select taskcard you want to check and them select "print" tab, You will have a pdf document complete w/ diagrams and of course, You may print it.

Rgds
A "NO" is a positive answer., "DON'T KNOW" is not. My Tutor
 
User avatar
HAWK21M
Posts: 29867
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2001 10:05 pm

RE: Boeing Toolbox

Sun Sep 20, 2015 9:00 am

I recently picked up a Microsoft 640XL phone which has Win 8.1 OS....I tried using Boeing toolbox remote on it, unfortunately the diagrams are not being displayed for lack of ISO Viewer...the computer ISO Viewer does not function on the phone though.
Anyone tried the same on a Windows phone.
I may not win often, but I damn well never lose!!! ;)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests