797
Topic Author
Posts: 1386
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 8:51 am

Garmin 1000 & Aero Commander 1000

Tue Feb 17, 2009 7:15 pm

Hello everyone,


View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Hidemi Bustamante Prudente - Aerolmagenes De Mexico



Since the Garmin family have decided to be a practical protagonist in the corporate aviation environment by adding full glass cockpits to planes such as the King 350, Caravan, Mustang and so forth, I was wondering if there's any version available for the Aero Commander 1000 series.

Avydine introduced their systems to the AC1000 in 2003, giving wonderful results:

Avydine Systems


Old systems





It would be great to see this amazing plane equipped with either the G1000 or G600 equipment. Is there any possibilities of integrating any of these systems into this plane? I would be very interested in doing so.

If any of you guys could provide some info I would really appreciate it.

Thanks!

797

[Edited 2009-02-17 11:20:42]
Flying isn't dangerous. Crashing is what's dangerous!
 
KELPkid
Posts: 5247
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2005 5:33 am

RE: Garmin 1000 & Aero Commander 1000

Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:53 pm

I'm sure that once a rich owner of one decides that they must have a Garmin 1000 flight deck in their Commander, then Garmin (or someone else  Wink ) will go through the work to produce an STC for it's installation.

Also, if there's an STC for another similar Aero Commander model (let's say, for example, Shrike Commander), it is possible that whoever produced the STC could be prodded to do the additional work to get it certified for the 1000 series.

I know that full flight deck replacement STC's are expensive, as it cuts across many certified redunant systems (like vacuum, electrical, pitot, static, etc.). Electronic flight deck certifications are based upon the applicant showing that their system has the same level of reliability and redundancy, or greater, than the original factory flight instrument and avionics installation... twocents 

Unfortuntely, for these reasons, it's not as simple as, say, STC'ing adding a GPS receiver to the existing avionics stack  sigh 
Celebrating the birth of KELPkidJR on August 5, 2009 :-)
 
Mir
Posts: 19107
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2004 3:55 am

RE: Garmin 1000 & Aero Commander 1000

Tue Feb 17, 2009 11:39 pm



Quoting 797 (Thread starter):
Avydine introduced their systems to the AC1000 in 2003, giving wonderful results:

Actually, that looks like a Meggitt Magic setup, like the one that was in the Meridian before Piper fitted the Avidyne Entegra to it.

http://www.s-tec.com/magic/

-Mir
7 billion, one nation, imagination...it's a beautiful day
 
9VSIO
Posts: 653
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2006 5:00 pm

RE: Garmin 1000 & Aero Commander 1000

Wed Feb 18, 2009 5:26 am

What I want to see is a warbird with glass cockpit. Heck, why not put one in a B-17!
Me: (Lining up on final) I shall now select an aiming point. || Instructor: Well, I hope it's the runway...
 
NBGSkyGod
Posts: 812
Joined: Sun May 30, 2004 7:30 am

RE: Garmin 1000 & Aero Commander 1000

Wed Feb 18, 2009 11:02 am



Quoting 9VSIO (Reply 3):
What I want to see is a warbird with glass cockpit. Heck, why not put one in a B-17!

 thumbsdown 

Now that I believe is blaspheme.
Pilots are idots, who at any given moment will attempt to kill themselves or others.
 
cptspeaking
Posts: 567
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 2:49 pm

RE: Garmin 1000 & Aero Commander 1000

Thu Feb 19, 2009 4:09 am

You're much more likely to see the Garmin G600 installed...it's a baby version of the 1000 that is meant for uses such as this.

Much cooler in my opinion is the Aspen Avionics EFD1000 system. I've only used the PFD, but it can be paired with one or two MFD units to provide all the information the Garmin does in a very similar layout. I've used it in a Turbo Arrow, and it is a phenomenal system. It's connected to the 430W and it works almost exactly the same as the G1000 in terms of switchology.

The best thing about the Aspen? It is all contained in two cylinders extending from the back of the unit, which lets it slip nice and easy without any* panel modification into the standard 3 inch holes where your old AI and HSI were. Includes an AHRS, ADC, backup reversionary GPS, and a 30 minute backup battery in case of electrical failure.

http://aspenavionics.com/
...and don't call me Shirley!!
 
dw747400
Posts: 1091
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2001 8:24 am

RE: Garmin 1000 & Aero Commander 1000

Fri Feb 20, 2009 3:33 am



Quoting Cptspeaking (Reply 5):
You're much more likely to see the Garmin G600 installed

I agree. To my knowledge, the King Air is the only aircraft with an after market STC for the G1000. All other STCs are for the G600. If you want a G1000 in a 172, for example, you need to buy it new.
CFI--Certfied Freakin Idiot
 
797
Topic Author
Posts: 1386
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 8:51 am

RE: Garmin 1000 & Aero Commander 1000

Sat Feb 21, 2009 2:47 am



Quoting Cptspeaking (Reply 5):
You're much more likely to see the Garmin G600 installed...it's a baby version of the 1000 that is meant for uses such as this.

I thought so! I had never seen this set of Garmins installed in any plane but now that I went into their website I understand a bit better.

What I didn't see available on this G600 is the Garmin Engine Airframe (GEA) that show all the engine information. That is a very important feature of the G1000. Is there any chance of putting 3 G600s into one cockpit in which all the information that the G1000 shows is also available?

Thanks for the input guys
Flying isn't dangerous. Crashing is what's dangerous!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: RL777 and 20 guests