lhcvg

Why Slow Down In Turbulence?

Thu Jun 04, 2009 2:23 pm

I've read in some of the articles about the AF crash that the pilot may have caused stall due to slowing down in turbulence. This is not intended to be a spat over the AF crash, but rather the principle behind why you would slow down in turbulence. From my layman's position, it would seem that you would want to accelerate when heading into turbulence in order to counteract the momentary loss of effective airspeed when going through updrafts/downdrafts. I have no engineering knowledge whatsoever so this is just my intuition from my limited understanding of aerodynamics.  footinmouth 

Starlionblue

RE: Why Slow Down In Turbulence?

Thu Jun 04, 2009 2:36 pm

AFAIK, airliners a "turbulence penetration speed". My guess is that you slow down in order to alleviate potential stress on the airframe.
"There are no stupid questions, but there are a lot of inquisitive idiots." - John Ringo

PhilSquares

Thu Jun 04, 2009 2:55 pm

Turbulence penetration speed is a trade off. For instance on the 744, it's 290-310KIAS/.82-.85IMN. This speed provides a compromise between high speed buffet on one end and a stall on the other end. In addition, it provides sufficient margins to ensure over G is not an issue.

On the 744, it is suggested to slow to those speeds in sever turbulence. With that kind of turbulence you will see excursions of airspeed, now you have to worry about high speed buffet and you will encounter "g" loading as the aircraft tries to maintain level flight and with you will experience an increase on stall speed.
Fly fast, live slow

SEPilot

Thu Jun 04, 2009 3:52 pm