767nutter
Topic Author
Posts: 117
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2008 3:46 pm

A320 Cost Index

Mon Jun 29, 2009 12:55 pm

On behalf of someone i know i am asking if there are any A320 Pilots out there that know what the range of the Cost Index is for the A320 family?

Is it say 0-100 or 0-999? Or is it a Airline preferance?

I have tried searching for a topic like this but i can only find cost index topics related to jetblue and different aircraft

thanks
 
VMCA
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2009 6:46 pm

RE: A320 Cost Index

Mon Jun 29, 2009 1:40 pm



Quoting 767nutter (Thread starter):
Is it say 0-100 or 0-999?

Cost index values range from 0-100.

Quoting 767nutter (Thread starter):
Or is it a Airline preferance?

Default value is 35, IIRC. Airline preference as to what is used.
If we weren't all crazy, we'd all go insane....
 
DescendVia
Posts: 141
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2009 4:26 am

RE: A320 Cost Index

Mon Jun 29, 2009 7:15 pm



Quoting 767nutter (Thread starter):

Is it say 0-100 or 0-999? Or is it a Airline preferance?

It will change weekly at a lot of airlines depending what they are paying for fuel.

Right now were showing the following based on $2.19 per gallon.
A319 . . . . . .11 (OPTIMUM) . . . . . .47 (MAX)
A320 . . . . . .12 (OPTIMUM) . . . . . .49 (MAX)
 
VMCA
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2009 6:46 pm

RE: A320 Cost Index

Mon Jun 29, 2009 8:06 pm

Please be careful with respect to what DescendVia is posting. The cost index he is referring to is only for the airline he is associated with. The cost components will vary from one airline to the next.

This is the formula for the Airbus CI
C = CF x �F + CT x �T + Cc
with CF = cost of fuel per kg
CT = time-related cost per minute of flight
Cc = fixed costs independent of time
�F = trip fuel
�T = trip time

Time related costs are variable from airline to airline and that's the trade-off with the CI. You can minimize the fuel burn or the time it's a trade off. So, it's more than just the price of fuel.
If we weren't all crazy, we'd all go insane....
 
User avatar
zeke
Posts: 9739
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2006 1:42 pm

RE: A320 Cost Index

Tue Jun 30, 2009 3:24 am



Quoting 767nutter (Thread starter):
Is it say 0-100 or 0-999? Or is it a Airline preferance?

It depends on the MCDU/FMGC manufacturer, and the selection of that depends on what the airline orders.

Airbus has a simple graph that converts the airline calculated cost index to the equivalent FMGC cost index.
We are addicted to our thoughts. We cannot change anything if we cannot change our thinking – Santosh Kalwar
 
767nutter
Topic Author
Posts: 117
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2008 3:46 pm

RE: A320 Cost Index

Thu Jul 02, 2009 2:12 am

Im just wondering what is available accross the whole network of FMGC's, some people are saying it is 0-999, others like VMCA are saying it is 0-100, yet someone mentioned it depends on which company provides the FMGC's, is this correct?

I know ( well partially ) what cost index does i just need to know the range of it is on the A320 family

Regards
 
LAXintl
Posts: 20183
Joined: Wed May 24, 2000 12:12 pm

RE: A320 Cost Index

Thu Jul 02, 2009 6:04 am

Per Airbus document I'm reading it states:

Quote:
Scaled 0 to 99 or 999 depending on FMS vendor

From the desert to the sea, to all of Southern California
 
767nutter
Topic Author
Posts: 117
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2008 3:46 pm

RE: A320 Cost Index

Fri Jul 03, 2009 3:16 pm

Quoting LAXintl (Reply 6):

Someone said it is 0-999 for the Smiths-Thales computers and 0-99 for the Honeywell Pegasus, and was told most airliners nowadays has the Smiths-Thales, it was only the earlier A320s that had Honeywell Pegasus, This correct?

DecendVia what airline are you referring too?

VMCA what symbol are you using? eg �F = trip fuel

[Edited 2009-07-03 08:35:56]
 
DescendVia
Posts: 141
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2009 4:26 am

RE: A320 Cost Index

Fri Jul 03, 2009 3:43 pm

Quoting 767nutter (Reply 7):

DecendVia what airline are you reffering too?

A big Airbus operator.

[Edited 2009-07-03 08:54:33]
 
User avatar
zeke
Posts: 9739
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2006 1:42 pm

RE: A320 Cost Index

Fri Jul 03, 2009 4:57 pm



Quoting 767nutter (Reply 7):

Most (75+% in my view) would be Honeywell, Smiths in my view are just to sloooooow, but still like a Pentium 4 compared to a 744 8088 FMC.
We are addicted to our thoughts. We cannot change anything if we cannot change our thinking – Santosh Kalwar
 
LAXintl
Posts: 20183
Joined: Wed May 24, 2000 12:12 pm

RE: A320 Cost Index

Fri Jul 03, 2009 5:09 pm

DecendVia operator currently has Honeywell FMS1's on its A320 series but will be moving to Thales FMS2.
From the desert to the sea, to all of Southern California
 
DescendVia
Posts: 141
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2009 4:26 am

RE: A320 Cost Index

Fri Jul 03, 2009 8:45 pm

Quoting LAXintl (Reply 10):

Still won't change those values...... they will always be proportional to the computed values, what we pay for gas, and the FOM. Plus where did you hear about the switch?

I should better "explain" what MAX means for my vaules. Its not the MAX value able to be line selected, rather its the MAX value that should be used in flight in accordance to the FOM speed policy. The values I listed are the computed allowable limits for said week.

Interesting thing is, a new Cost Index procedure was just put into effect this week at our airline letting us know what the maximum time critical value allowed is (after approval) and that is 140 for the A319 and A320 so that might help out your question since I think the current model we have is something with Sexton in its name. Also if you care, the maximum value that can be LSed for the non-pip, pip, AFMC, and Pegasus is 9999. I'm not sure if the Airbus Pegasus is the same, since I don't know that much about the Airbus, but I don't see why it wouldn't.

[Edited 2009-07-03 13:51:31]

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: David L, Google [Bot] and 12 guests