kimon
Posts: 252
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2009 2:37 pm

747 Classic Throttles

Sun Dec 27, 2009 8:52 pm

were all throttle controls only mastered by the flight engineer?
ie could the captain and co-pilot not do it by themeselves for takeoff and landing?
Dum Romae consulitur, Saguntum expugnatur
 
User avatar
CCA
Posts: 775
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2002 7:29 pm

RE: 747 Classic Throttles

Sun Dec 27, 2009 11:56 pm

The throttles are controlled by the PF, the flight engineer is used to set the exact thrust for take-off for example for a RR powered A/C we would set approx 1.2 EPR then approx 1.4 and then with the help of the F/E set the exact take-off thrust, the F/E would trim each throttle independently to get them all the same, you could feel it happening under your hand, all this was done before 80 knots and he would call "thrust set" and remove his hand.

The F/E did the same job during climb and cruise setting the required thrust on each engine independently.

For decent the PF would reduce the thrust to idle and the F/E wouldn't have to touch the throttles again until landing when he holds the thrust levers at idle while while the PF selects reverse thrust.

This may be different to other operators and/or if the A/C had FFRATS.

If you ever have an inoperative A/T on the 744 the PM becomes an F/E and does the job of setting the required thrust during each phase of flight.

[Edited 2009-12-27 16:15:55]
P1 in A330, A340, A346, B742, B744, B748.
 
User avatar
tb727
Posts: 1874
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2005 1:40 pm

RE: 747 Classic Throttles

Mon Dec 28, 2009 2:23 am

On another old airplane, the 727, we have the PF push the throttles up to 1.4 to stabilize then get it close to Takeoff EPR then call "set max/reduced thrust" then the PNF sets it. At some companies the FE does the final setting. After takeoff during climb out the FE sometimes sets climb thrust when asked for, but normally he is kinda busy and the PNF will get it. It works the same way in the 747, it depends on the operator. We do it our way because we don't want the FE leaning forward during this phase when he could be watching for any abnormalities on the roll.
Too lazy to work, too scared to steal!
 
9VSIO
Posts: 654
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2006 5:00 pm

RE: 747 Classic Throttles

Mon Dec 28, 2009 10:24 am

How many a/c had a set of throttles on the F/E panel as well?
Me: (Lining up on final) I shall now select an aiming point. || Instructor: Well, I hope it's the runway...
 
vc10
Posts: 1371
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2001 4:13 am

RE: 747 Classic Throttles

Mon Dec 28, 2009 11:51 am

Well the Lockheed Constellation was one and on jets the VC-10 was an aircraft where the F/E had his own set of throttles. As "CCA" stated it perhaps varied from company to company but in BOAC the F/E operated the throttles at all times except perhaps for the last 200ft of the approach when the pilots were allowed to play with them and for reverse.

The engines thought it was a very civilized approach so I am told  Wink

littlevc10
 
jayeshrulz
Posts: 350
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2007 7:36 pm

RE: 747 Classic Throttles

Mon Dec 28, 2009 7:56 pm



Quoting 9VSIO (Reply 3):
How many a/c had a set of throttles on the F/E panel as well?

I think even the tu-154 has two sets.
Keep flying, because the sky is no limit!
 
jetstar
Posts: 1380
Joined: Mon May 19, 2003 2:16 am

RE: 747 Classic Throttles

Mon Dec 28, 2009 10:21 pm

Quoting 9VSIO (Reply 3):
How many a/c had a set of throttles on the F/E panel as well?

The Boeing Stratocruiser and its military twin, the KC/C-97 had another set of throttles for the FE.

JetStar

[Edited 2009-12-28 14:22:08]
 
9VSIO
Posts: 654
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2006 5:00 pm

RE: 747 Classic Throttles

Tue Dec 29, 2009 12:47 am

Did Concorde have a second set, just not on the F/E panel, but aft of the main set of throttle? LIke right on the edge of the pedestal or something...
Me: (Lining up on final) I shall now select an aiming point. || Instructor: Well, I hope it's the runway...
 
User avatar
747classic
Posts: 2124
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2009 9:13 am

RE: 747 Classic Throttles

Thu Jan 07, 2010 10:06 am



Quoting 9VSIO (Reply 7):
Did Concorde have a second set, just not on the F/E panel, but aft of the main set of throttle?

No, like the 747 classic, DC10, etc. an extra addition was made to the existing throttles to let the F/E fine tune the engine thrust setting, while the Pilot Flying was able to override the controls when necessary. It's not a separate set of throttles, but an extra control lever at the same throttle quadrant.


View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © David Watkins 82

Operating a twin over the ocean, you're always one engine failure from a total emergency.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CrimsonNL and 2 guests

Popular Searches On Airliners.net

Top Photos of Last:   24 Hours  •  48 Hours  •  7 Days  •  30 Days  •  180 Days  •  365 Days  •  All Time

Military Aircraft Every type from fighters to helicopters from air forces around the globe

Classic Airliners Props and jets from the good old days

Flight Decks Views from inside the cockpit

Aircraft Cabins Passenger cabin shots showing seat arrangements as well as cargo aircraft interior

Cargo Aircraft Pictures of great freighter aircraft

Government Aircraft Aircraft flying government officials

Helicopters Our large helicopter section. Both military and civil versions

Blimps / Airships Everything from the Goodyear blimp to the Zeppelin

Night Photos Beautiful shots taken while the sun is below the horizon

Accidents Accident, incident and crash related photos

Air to Air Photos taken by airborne photographers of airborne aircraft

Special Paint Schemes Aircraft painted in beautiful and original liveries

Airport Overviews Airport overviews from the air or ground

Tails and Winglets Tail and Winglet closeups with beautiful airline logos