September11
Topic Author
Posts: 3293
Joined: Fri May 21, 2004 12:49 am

767 Nose Cone On 777?

Tue Mar 30, 2010 4:27 pm


View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Ken Iwelumo - Global Aviation Images



Please take a look at the picture -- is that a 767 nose cone?
Airliners.net of the Future
 
Braniff747SP
Posts: 2565
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2008 4:56 am

RE: 767 Nose Cone On 777?

Tue Mar 30, 2010 4:31 pm

Does not look that diffrent from this pic, I think it's just badly painted, but someone with more expertise can help you more.

The 747 will always be the TRUE queen of the skies!
 
musang
Posts: 788
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2001 4:11 am

RE: 767 Nose Cone On 777?

Tue Mar 30, 2010 4:34 pm

I don't think they're interchangeable.

Its just painted inaccurately. Boeing probably painted them all with precision accuracy, but when an airline repaints, it isn't done as well and differences happen. This will be a nose transplanted off another, repainted machine. Its not just American. You see this with numerous airlines.

Regards - musang
 
EMBQA
Posts: 7795
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 3:52 am

RE: 767 Nose Cone On 777?

Tue Mar 30, 2010 5:05 pm

The White and Red stripes on the radome are not the same width as the fuselage stripes... the blue looks to be pretty close.

Painting stripes on a radome takes a keen eye by the painter and a lot of lay-out as you are dealing with several factors and curved surfaces. It also helps to have the radome installed on the aircraft. You can lay one out in a back shop by a drawing.. most likely the case here.. and it will look like @** on the plane.

[Edited 2010-03-30 10:07:25]
"It's not the size of the dog in the fight, but the size of the fight in the dog"
 
timz
Posts: 6084
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 1999 7:43 am

RE: 767 Nose Cone On 777?

Tue Mar 30, 2010 5:14 pm

Quoting musang (Reply 2):
This will be a nose transplanted off another, repainted machine.

Anybody find a pic of an AA 777 with no red showing below the doors?

Looks like... 40-50 cm difference in the bottom of the red stripe? Painters do better than that, don't they?
 
User avatar
airportugal310
Posts: 3208
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2004 12:49 pm

RE: 767 Nose Cone On 777?

Tue Mar 30, 2010 5:14 pm

Quoting EMBQA (Reply 3):
You can lay one out in a back shop by a drawing.. most likely the case here.. and it will look like @** on the plane.

thats an understatement. FAIL job
I sell airplanes and airplane accessories
 
Fly2HMO
Posts: 7207
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2004 12:14 pm

RE: 767 Nose Cone On 777?

Tue Mar 30, 2010 5:29 pm

Quoting September11 (Thread starter):
Please take a look at the picture -- is that a 767 nose cone?
Quoting musang (Reply 2):
I don't think they're interchangeable.

Seeing that the whole nose/cockpit section in the 777 is taken directly from the 767 I would not be surprised if that is indeed from a 767.
 
musang
Posts: 788
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2001 4:11 am

RE: 767 Nose Cone On 777?

Tue Mar 30, 2010 5:38 pm

And I stand corrected, having just called maintenance. Its a different part number but some paperwork allows interchangeability.

Yours humbly - musang
 
boeing767mech
Posts: 804
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2000 5:03 pm

RE: 767 Nose Cone On 777?

Tue Mar 30, 2010 6:01 pm

Quoting musang (Reply 7):
And I stand corrected, having just called maintenance. Its a different part number but some paperwork allows interchangeability.

We have a note in the computer that states the radomes are interchangable if you use a certain CPN but the stripes will be approx 1 inch off depending on the airframe it is fitted on.

David
Never under-estimate the predictably of stupidty
 
User avatar
HAWK21M
Posts: 29867
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2001 10:05 pm

RE: 767 Nose Cone On 777?

Wed Mar 31, 2010 12:38 pm

Quoting musang (Reply 2):
This will be a nose transplanted off another, repainted machine.


Looks like a Radome replacement that had the painted stripes not matching....Normally the case if the Aircraft is repainted not taking into exact dimensioning of the livery.I'm sure this can be attended by a quick paint job time permitting or The original radome eturning back post repairs.

Very common with liveries that extend on to the radome.

regds
MEL.
I may not win often, but I damn well never lose!!! ;)
 
474218
Posts: 4510
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2005 12:27 pm

RE: 767 Nose Cone On 777?

Wed Mar 31, 2010 5:23 pm

Quoting boeing767mech (Reply 8):
We have a note in the computer that states the radomes are interchangable if you use a certain CPN but the stripes will be approx 1 inch off depending on the airframe it is fitted on.

What do the 767 and 777 IPC say about radome interchangeability? The IPC provides the part number of the radomes and their aircraft effectivity.
 
UAL747
Posts: 6725
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 1999 5:42 am

RE: 767 Nose Cone On 777?

Wed Mar 31, 2010 5:57 pm

Forward sections of both the 777 and 767 are identical. Should be able to use the radomes interchangeably on both.

UAL
"Bangkok Tower, United 890 Heavy. Bangkok Tower, United 890 Heavy.....Okay, fine, we'll just turn 190 and Visual Our Way
 
boeing767mech
Posts: 804
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2000 5:03 pm

RE: 767 Nose Cone On 777?

Wed Mar 31, 2010 7:24 pm

Quoting 474218 (Reply 10):
What do the 767 and 777 IPC say about radome interchangeability? The IPC provides the part number of the radomes and their aircraft effectivity.

The IPC for the 767 and the 777 both have 284T0052-39 which is the part number for a radome that fits both airframes.

Quoting HAWK21M (Reply 9):
Looks like a Radome replacement that had the painted stripes not matching....Normally the case if the Aircraft is repainted not taking into exact dimensioning of the livery.I'm sure this can be attended by a quick paint job time permitting or The original radome eturning back post repairs.

This radome came off a 767 before being refitted to this 777

Quoting September11 (Thread starter):

Please take a look at the picture -- is that a 767 nose cone?

yes

David
Never under-estimate the predictably of stupidty
 
474218
Posts: 4510
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2005 12:27 pm

RE: 767 Nose Cone On 777?

Thu Apr 01, 2010 1:48 am

Quoting boeing767mech (Reply 12):
The IPC for the 767 and the 777 both have 284T0052-39 which is the part number for a radome that fits both airframes

Thanks, boeing767nmech.

This is how all of these type questions should be answered, with the facts.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Groundpoint9er and 24 guests