RightRudder

Why No Psgr. Bay On Aircraft Like Space Shuttle?

Tue Jul 06, 2010 1:04 am

Just curious why there has never been (of my own knowledge) an aircraft that has a cargo bay like the Space Shuttle? Have all the passengers ready in the cylinder shaped compartment and the mechanical arm would load and unload the pod into the aircraft. I am not an engineer but wouldn't it make things seamless during boarding and deplaning.
"Time flies like an arrow. Fruit flies like a banana".

BMI727

RE: Why No Psgr. Bay On Aircraft Like Space Shuttle?

Tue Jul 06, 2010 1:09 am

Quoting rightrudder (Thread starter):
Have all the passengers ready in the cylinder shaped compartment and the mechanical arm would load and unload the pod into the aircraft.

First, there is a reason that passengers are referred to as self loading cargo. There is no reason to add the cost, weight, and complexity when people can simply walk down a jetway.

Even for cargo, such a system makes no sense. If you look at cargo loading equipment, it is quite large and heavy, making it the sort of thing you would rather leave on the ground. I think I saw some snippets about the military looking at a loader that could be carried onboard the aircraft, but such a contraption would only be useful is specific circumstances where such equipment is unavailable at the destination.
Why do Aerospace Engineering students have to turn things in on time?

FlyASAGuy2005

Tue Jul 06, 2010 1:20 am

BMI has it running.

And what are we truly saving. Time? Not much. Mainline boarding time in the US is rought 30 minutes for anything from a Mad Dog to a 757. About 5 minutes is added for widebodies. I've seen DL push a 763 with all seats occupied in about 30 minutes.
What gets measured gets done.

EDICHC

Tue Jul 06, 2010 1:25 am

What would really save time at boarding is a device to extract passengers out of the duty free shops, coffee shops or bars and get them all to the gate on time.