User avatar
cotparampguy
Topic Author
Posts: 156
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2008 2:56 am

Beacon Light Synchronization

Sat Apr 23, 2011 10:51 am

From what i've seen, usually the beacon lights on A320 series and the 737NG series usually blink at the same time with each other. On some aircraft however, they blink seperately. What causes this difference between the same aircaft? Is this a computer operated function or just a worn type of relay?
 
fr8mech
Posts: 6599
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2005 9:00 am

RE: Beacon Light Synchronization

Sat Apr 23, 2011 9:50 pm

Power up time. Age of the tube or power supply. Whether the strobes share a power supply or timer. Any number of reasons.
When seconds count...the police are minutes away.
 
spchamp1
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2010 6:52 pm

RE: Beacon Light Synchronization

Mon Apr 25, 2011 6:56 am

I have noticed that myself as well on our (B6) A320's. One explanation was that there are actually two bulbs in each housing. A primary and a backup. If the primary goes out then the secondary will kick in and perhaps because of some type of bypass they will blink slightly out of sync.
 
RJLover
Posts: 344
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 1:41 pm

RE: Beacon Light Synchronization

Mon Apr 25, 2011 1:39 pm

I've always like the beacons on the CRJ that blink opposite to eachother (top, bottom, top, bottom, etc).
Last Flight(s): YYJ-YVR-YYZ-YHZ Next Flight(s):
 
413X3
Posts: 171
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 5:59 pm

RE: Beacon Light Synchronization

Tue Apr 26, 2011 5:10 am

747 follows a pattern of slowly going in synch then alternating. Pretty neat.
 
Woof
Posts: 84
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 9:00 am

RE: Beacon Light Synchronization

Wed Apr 27, 2011 4:05 pm

Quoting 413X3 (Reply 4):
747 follows a pattern of slowly going in synch then alternating. Pretty neat.

I think I have exactly the same system on my Alfa Romeo.

More to the point, I've often wondered the same as the OP.
Deleted
 
shamrock137
Posts: 227
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 7:10 am

RE: Beacon Light Synchronization

Wed Apr 27, 2011 6:38 pm

Quoting 413X3 (Reply 4):
747 follows a pattern of slowly going in synch then alternating. Pretty neat.

This is not necessarily a design feature, but instead most likely because the top and bottom beacon use two seperate strobe power supplies. Because each power sullpy is designed to flash at say for example a one second interval, the strobes may start off flashing in sync but slowly go out of sync due to tiny differences in each flasher module, but eventually they will sync back up, and again go out of phase. On the other hand aircraft such as the 737 and 757 most likely share a power supply for both lights, this meaning that they flash at the same time. Taking it a further step, Airbus has complete synchronization between all the flashing exterior lights. All the white wingtip and tail lights will flash, then just the wing tip, then the red beacon lights. Im not 100% sure, but I once head that this makes it easier to determine of the plane is coming towards you, or heading in the same direction. If you see the double flash of the wingtip, vs the single flash of the tail, you know which way the aircraft is facing without having to see the position lights. The MD-11 has a similar pattern for its lights as well.
Time to spare? Go by air!
 
T prop
Posts: 910
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2001 4:33 pm

RE: Beacon Light Synchronization

Thu Apr 28, 2011 5:49 am

On some aircraft when there are separate power supplies, the connecter on each power supply usually will have a pin in the connector terminal for sync. If the strobes are to be synched, these pins will be connected between power supplies.
 
bond007
Posts: 4423
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2005 2:07 am

RE: Beacon Light Synchronization

Thu Apr 28, 2011 8:11 pm

Quoting shamrock137 (Reply 6):
This is not necessarily a design feature, but instead most likely because the top and bottom beacon use two seperate strobe power supplies.

It's probably less dependent upon power supplies, but purely on whether they are synced electronically or not, because as you say ..

Quoting shamrock137 (Reply 6):
but slowly go out of sync due to tiny differences in each flasher module

Which will happen regardless of shared of separate power supplies.

Quoting T prop (Reply 7):
On some aircraft when there are separate power supplies, the connecter on each power supply usually will have a pin in the connector terminal for sync. If the strobes are to be synched, these pins will be connected between power supplies.

That would be the only way to ensure synching I assume, unless each module had a GPS receiver for timing... which out of interest is done on some sets of high towers where the strobes are synched (GPS modules are less than $50 for this application)!

Jimbo
I'd rather be on the ground wishing I was in the air, than in the air wishing I was on the ground!
 
rwessel
Posts: 2448
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 3:47 pm

RE: Beacon Light Synchronization

Fri Apr 29, 2011 1:32 am

Quoting bond007 (Reply 8):
That would be the only way to ensure synching I assume, unless each module had a GPS receiver for timing... which out of interest is done on some sets of high towers where the strobes are synched (GPS modules are less than $50 for this application)!

Well, it could be anything to keep the timebases synchronized, so long as the relevant items all use the same reference. You could even slave all the clocks to the phases on the AC busses (which is why your clock radio never drifts off the right time).
 
bond007
Posts: 4423
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2005 2:07 am

RE: Beacon Light Synchronization

Fri Apr 29, 2011 1:32 pm

Quoting rwessel (Reply 9):
Well, it could be anything to keep the timebases synchronized, so long as the relevant items all use the same reference. You could even slave all the clocks to the phases on the AC busses (which is why your clock radio never drifts off the right time).

Yes, very true, but the 'problem' is less with the timing between successive flashes, but more with synchronizing them ... i.e. they can all be flashing at 1 second intervals, but not synchronized. They may start at different times due to delays in the switching of the power supply, the individual module etc. Of course,if your reference interval is the same as the flash interval, this isn't an issue.

Anyway, I feeling somewhat of a geek for even joining this discussion  

Jimbo
I'd rather be on the ground wishing I was in the air, than in the air wishing I was on the ground!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests