joelyboy911
Topic Author
Posts: 119
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2009 2:45 am

Which A32X Operators Use Containers?

Sun Jul 24, 2011 12:23 pm

My first time starting a new thread, so I hope everything is compliant. My somewhat brief search did not reveal a discussion on this topic, so feel free to redirect me if necessary.

I'm looking to find out which operators of A32X family use the LD-45 containers for luggage/freight loading, and which don't.

I know some airlines that have decided to use them, such as NZ, operate certain services without them, so I am interested in airlines whose policy is to never use containers on the 32x family, and if they've given reasons for their decision for or against the ULDs.

Also interested if any new A320 operators (such as new operators ordering the NEO) will use containers, though I doubt that information would be available yet.
Flown: NZ, NY, SJ, QF, UA, AC, EI, BE, TP, AF
 
Bongodog1964
Posts: 3069
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 6:29 am

RE: Which A32X Operators Use Containers?

Sun Jul 24, 2011 12:46 pm

BA definitely use containers on their A320 series planes, I believe that T5 is entirely set up for containerised baggage. nopt sure though if they use them when any A319's are based at LGW
 
Fuling
Posts: 79
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2011 4:41 am

RE: Which A32X Operators Use Containers?

Sun Jul 24, 2011 12:48 pm

I saw the title of this thread, and NZ came straight to my mind, but you have said that above. I have however seen the LD-45 containers for JQ being loaded/unloaded at DRW airport from the domestic ports CNS, BNE, SYD, MEL, ADL and also international ports SIN, DPS and MNL.
 
aa777lvr
Posts: 182
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2007 6:42 am

RE: Which A32X Operators Use Containers?

Sun Jul 24, 2011 12:50 pm

I know that JQ/JetStar uses them in Oz. My wife and I flew SYD-OOL last year and I was very impressed at how quickly they could turn the A320.

AA777LVR
 
User avatar
teme82
Posts: 1193
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2007 6:38 am

RE: Which A32X Operators Use Containers?

Sun Jul 24, 2011 1:18 pm

Most of the mainline EU carriers uses containers.  

[Edited 2011-07-24 06:18:36]
Flying high and low
 
Centre
Posts: 321
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2010 11:37 pm

RE: Which A32X Operators Use Containers?

Sun Jul 24, 2011 1:36 pm

Air Canada


Centre
I have cut 4 times, and it's still short.
 
jetskipper
Posts: 316
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2001 1:50 am

RE: Which A32X Operators Use Containers?

Sun Jul 24, 2011 2:25 pm

Second question: Why do they use them? Doesn't the weight of the containers as well as the roller and lock system requires to load and secure them in the cargo bay add a significant and unnecessary amount of weight? I can't imagine the time saved in loading an unloading offsets the weight penalty.
 
User avatar
kgaiflyer
Posts: 2565
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2008 3:22 am

RE: Which A32X Operators Use Containers?

Sun Jul 24, 2011 2:25 pm

Air France on some routes (I've actually seen them used on CDG-LHR).
 
srbmod
Posts: 15446
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2001 1:32 pm

RE: Which A32X Operators Use Containers?

Sun Jul 24, 2011 2:49 pm

Quoting jetskipper (Reply 6):
Second question: Why do they use them? Doesn't the weight of the containers as well as the roller and lock system requires to load and secure them in the cargo bay add a significant and unnecessary amount of weight? I can't imagine the time saved in loading an unloading offsets the weight penalty.

Now I know that AC has LD3-45s (AKG) that have sides made of Lexan, which cuts down on the weight I remember seeing them years ago back when AC was still flying the Airbus to ATL. Do any other airlines use this version as opposed to the standard can that is entirely made of metal?

The savings may be more along the lines of less on the job injuries, lost manpower due to on the job injuries, and less expenses paid out to cover such injuries. I know if I had the option, I'd rather deal with cans instead of hand loading.

Wouldn't there be some time savings during the turnaround in calculating weight and balance? Instead of the agents on the ramp having to keep track of how many bags they've put on, wouldn't you'd just use the standard calculation for that type of container?
 
ZBBYLW
Posts: 1612
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 8:17 am

RE: Which A32X Operators Use Containers?

Sun Jul 24, 2011 3:13 pm

Quoting Centre (Reply 5):

AC has them on all 321s, 320s and I believe some 319s. Some of their 319s do not have it though to save on weight. They originally planed to fly YVR-YHZ direct with them and needed to go as light as they could.
Keep the shinny side up!
 
T5towbar
Posts: 428
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 2:06 am

RE: Which A32X Operators Use Containers?

Sun Jul 24, 2011 3:14 pm

Quoting srbmod (Reply 8):
The savings may be more along the lines of less on the job injuries, lost manpower due to on the job injuries, and less expenses paid out to cover such injuries. I know if I had the option, I'd rather deal with cans instead of hand loading.

Wouldn't there be some time savings during the turnaround in calculating weight and balance? Instead of the agents on the ramp having to keep track of how many bags they've put on, wouldn't you'd just use the standard calculation for that type of container?

I know here in the US, it's easier bulk loading, because you get a lot of large (oversized) bags which take up space in the can. Even if the Bus takes AKE's (LD3's) you still lose room on the back end. So it negates the can's effectiveness, and you lose room. Hence the palletizing of bags (ie: BOM; DEL; TLV) on widebodies. You also have a larger bulk pit or bin in the rear of a widebody to put loose odd shaped items and last minute bags in. Plus you can get more onboard like golf bags; PAD's; COMAT; freight; and the like. Plus the major US airlines use hand held computers (scanners) on the ramp which links up with load planning and the cockpit so you know what to put on. No more old school W/B calculations. The advantage is you can at least load standing up on a 32X, than a 73 or 75. At least if you have a Telair on board (on the 737 &757), it makes loading a whole lot easier.......unless it is busted. BTW: Do they make a Telair for the 32X family? I've never seen one for it yet.
A comment from an Ex CON: Work Hard.....Fly Standby!
 
DALCE
Posts: 1610
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2007 7:45 pm

RE: Which A32X Operators Use Containers?

Sun Jul 24, 2011 3:17 pm

LX uses them on all 32X
LH on the 320/321 but AFAIK not on the 319

I'm happy with them, more cargo flexibility with max container weight being 1134kgs incl AKH/PKC container.
Bulkload max 150kgs / pc.
flown: F50,F70,CR1,CR2,CR9,E75,143,AR8,AR1,733,735,736,73G,738,753,744,77W,788,319,320,321,333,AB6.
 
bwaflyer
Posts: 496
Joined: Sat Jun 05, 2004 12:48 am

RE: Which A32X Operators Use Containers?

Sun Jul 24, 2011 3:29 pm

bmi on short haul A320's. All mid haul (ex-BMed) A320/1 and all short haul A319 are bulk loaded
 
T5towbar
Posts: 428
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 2:06 am

RE: Which A32X Operators Use Containers?

Sun Jul 24, 2011 3:32 pm

Oh yeah, one other thing.
We have a lot of connecting flights, so they would have to download the can and break it up planeside so the runners can meet their connectors. At least when bulkloading, mainly connectors are in one pit (or bin) and the runners can separate their hot and cold bags on the download instead of breaking up a can. You may have about 50 or 60 connectors going different places. Not including the interline connectors too. But mainly the mainline to regional connectors would be a problem.
A comment from an Ex CON: Work Hard.....Fly Standby!
 
NWAESC
Posts: 859
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2007 1:02 pm

RE: Which A32X Operators Use Containers?

Sun Jul 24, 2011 3:41 pm

Quoting joelyboy911 (Thread starter):
and which don't.

No US-based carriers that I can think of use them (DL,UA/CO, US, NK, F9,etc)...
"Nothing ever happens here, " I said. "I just wait."
 
FlySSC
Posts: 5179
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2003 1:38 am

RE: Which A32X Operators Use Containers?

Sun Jul 24, 2011 4:00 pm

Quoting kgaiflyer (Reply 7):
Air France on some routes (I've actually seen them used on CDG-LHR).

AF is using containers on the A320 & A321 but not on the A318 & A319
 
RJLover
Posts: 344
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 1:41 pm

RE: Which A32X Operators Use Containers?

Sun Jul 24, 2011 4:08 pm

Quoting Centre (Reply 5):
Air Canada

Only on the 320/321.

Quoting zbbylw (Reply 9):
AC has them on all 321s, 320s and I believe some 319s. Some of their 319s do not have it though to save on weight. They originally planed to fly YVR-YHZ direct with them and needed to go as light as they could

AFAIK, not a single 319 is equiped for cans, they are all bulk loaded.

There are several 320's that are bulk loaded, but only at certain times of the year... The Jetz aircraft (320's, FINs 401-405) are all bulk loaded while they are in Jetz service. Right now, they're in standard revenue service and are loaded using cans. What I do not know is whether the can loading system is covered over or physically removed from the aircraft for the "Jetz season".
Last Flight(s): YYJ-YVR-YYZ-YHZ Next Flight(s):
 
airproxx
Posts: 406
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2008 7:07 pm

RE: Which A32X Operators Use Containers?

Sun Jul 24, 2011 4:39 pm

Quoting kgaiflyer (Reply 7):
Air France on some routes (I've actually seen them used on CDG-LHR).

AF uses containers as well, except on A318/A319. Looks like FlySSC beat be to it  
If you can meet with triumph and disaster, and treat those two impostors just the same
 
LAXintl
Posts: 20183
Joined: Wed May 24, 2000 12:12 pm

RE: Which A32X Operators Use Containers?

Sun Jul 24, 2011 5:38 pm

It really boils down to ground handling labor cost.

In my experience air carriers that opt for ULDs do so primarily on project labor staffing cost. ULD A320 can be turned quicker with less staffing then a bulk load version.
Also for some carriers the ability to nicely segregate baggage, especially transfer connections is an additional positive factor.
From the desert to the sea, to all of Southern California
 
contrails15
Posts: 371
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2008 9:46 pm

RE: Which A32X Operators Use Containers?

Sun Jul 24, 2011 6:09 pm

Boy do I wish our 320 fleet was containerized. I was on a AMS-CDG flight on a 320 that had containers and I just saw a pic on Anet of a Alitalia 320 or 321 which was containerized.
Giants football!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
Tristarsteve
Posts: 3359
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2005 11:04 pm

RE: Which A32X Operators Use Containers?

Sun Jul 24, 2011 7:39 pm

Quoting LAXintl (Reply 18):
It really boils down to ground handling labor cost.

     

I think its all down to cost. In Northern Europe labour is expensive. We save money using containers.
In places where the loaders are on minimum wage, then it is cheaper to employ more loaders, and not use
containers.
All the BA A32X (except the A318) are containerised. But, we can load a couple of pallets into each hold, put up the nets and bulk load them. When the A319 were delivered they were like this.

But containers make the turnround much smoother, especially when its snowing. You can leave the containers on their dollies until 10 mins B4 dep, and sort the last bags out.
 
joelyboy911
Topic Author
Posts: 119
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2009 2:45 am

RE: Which A32X Operators Use Containers?

Sun Jul 24, 2011 8:20 pm

Quoting nwaesc (Reply 14):
No US-based carriers that I can think of use them (DL,UA/CO, US, NK, F9,etc)...

I had guessed the split would fall somewhat in the category of LCCs vs network/legacy. I knew they were unpopular in the States, but hadn't realised that not a single American carrier employed them. Thanks for your reply.

Quoting aa777lvr (Reply 3):
I know that JQ/JetStar uses them in Oz. My wife and I flew SYD-OOL last year and I was very impressed at how quickly they could turn the A320

Thanks for the post - I actually witnessed a JQ 320 being turned around at ZQN last week, seemed very efficiently done.
Flown: NZ, NY, SJ, QF, UA, AC, EI, BE, TP, AF
 
wn676
Posts: 1116
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2005 5:33 am

RE: Which A32X Operators Use Containers?

Sun Jul 24, 2011 9:16 pm

Quoting LAXintl (Reply 18):
In my experience air carriers that opt for ULDs do so primarily on project labor staffing cost. ULD A320 can be turned quicker with less staffing then a bulk load version.
Also for some carriers the ability to nicely segregate baggage, especially transfer connections is an additional positive factor.

How many people does it take to load a containerized aircraft? We bulk load A321s with 3 to 4 people usually, or 6 if it's a heavy flight (2 people in each bin, 1 at the bottom of each beltloader). Also, how do containers work with lots of connecting bags? Do the runners break open the containers as they're offloaded on the ramp or do they usually go to a carousel? It seems like the former would require a lot of ramp space, while the latter would require longer connecting times.
Tiny, unreadable text leaves ample room for interpretation.
 
LAXintl
Posts: 20183
Joined: Wed May 24, 2000 12:12 pm

RE: Which A32X Operators Use Containers?

Mon Jul 25, 2011 2:07 am

Quoting wn676 (Reply 22):
How many people does it take to load a containerized aircraft?

As little as 2. One up on the loader, and second person driving the dollies.

Quoting wn676 (Reply 22):
Do the runners break open the containers as they're offloaded on the ramp or do they usually go to a carousel?

In Europe thing like ramp transfer is really unknown thing. Bags go to the bagroom and dumped back into the baggage sorting system for their onwards flights. Many airports have fantastic consolidated sorting and bagrooms so it works very well. Also there are security requirements employed by many places that require rescreening anyhow.

On the outbound completed and closed up ULDs get delivered ramp side and loaded.
From the desert to the sea, to all of Southern California
 
T5towbar
Posts: 428
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 2:06 am

RE: Which A32X Operators Use Containers?

Mon Jul 25, 2011 3:48 am

Quoting joelyboy911 (Reply 21):
I had guessed the split would fall somewhat in the category of LCCs vs network/legacy. I knew they were unpopular in the States, but hadn't realised that not a single American carrier employed them. Thanks for your reply.

Yeah. We don't use them here. 2 factors: 1 the RJ's. 2 the transfer process.

Quoting wn676 (Reply 22):
Also, how do containers work with lots of connecting bags? Do the runners break open the containers as they're offloaded on the ramp or do they usually go to a carousel? It seems like the former would require a lot of ramp space, while the latter would require longer connecting times.

On a widebody, that's a simple process. Cans are dedicated by: A. Local Bags B. Priority Bags C. Interline Bags
You have a lot more room to organize. I don't know how you do that on a 320 - 321.

Quoting LAXintl (Reply 23):
As little as 2. One up on the loader, and second person driving the dollies.
Quoting LAXintl (Reply 23):
How many people does it take to load a containerized aircraft?

As little as 2. One up on the loader, and second person driving the dollies.

Correct. Easy work unless you have warped edges or warped pallets......a whole lot of fun trying to lock them.

Quoting LAXintl (Reply 23):
In Europe thing like ramp transfer is really unknown thing. Bags go to the bagroom and dumped back into the baggage sorting system for their onwards flights. Many airports have fantastic consolidated sorting and bagrooms so it works very well. Also there are security requirements employed by many places that require rescreening anyhow.

On the outbound completed and closed up ULDs get delivered ramp side and loaded.

Well here in the US, since most cans are on international flights, all bags go to the dump area (inbounds) where the bags are screened and cleared by US Customs. If there are any connecting or interline bags, they will be sent to a recheck area where the bags are then transfered to different airlines or cities. If the flights are local (ex: EWR - IAH, a repo flight), transfer cans (heading international) dumped and screened then sent to the bagroom for reloading (while the domestic cans are dumped inbounds to the carousels)

Ramp transfer is the reason we don't use cans on a narrowbody. It's really not practical where frequency rules. Plus the RJ factor where you would have to break up a can anyway. On a 737 or 757, with a Telair, one man can load the aircraft.
A comment from an Ex CON: Work Hard.....Fly Standby!
 
joelyboy911
Topic Author
Posts: 119
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2009 2:45 am

RE: Which A32X Operators Use Containers?

Mon Jul 25, 2011 10:23 am

So if we were to list (Including some that I already knew):

Yes/Majority:
JQ, NZ, AC, LH, BA, AF, LX, EI

Partial:
BD

No:
US, UA, VX, DL, NK, F9
Flown: NZ, NY, SJ, QF, UA, AC, EI, BE, TP, AF
 
T5towbar
Posts: 428
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 2:06 am

RE: Which A32X Operators Use Containers?

Mon Jul 25, 2011 2:00 pm

Quoting T5towbar (Reply 24):
On a 737 or 757, with a Telair, one man can load the aircraft.

I mean one man in the pit; 1 on the ground.
A comment from an Ex CON: Work Hard.....Fly Standby!
 
Clydenairways
Posts: 1099
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 8:27 am

RE: Which A32X Operators Use Containers?

Thu Jul 28, 2011 1:36 pm

IB use them too...
.
.
.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests