CairnterriAIR
Topic Author

Pilots: Did Your Airline Have A "Hangar Queen"

Fri Sep 02, 2011 2:25 am

This is a question for anybody who is or was a pilot. Was there any particular aircraft in the fleet that was known to be a "hanger queen"...a plane that was forever breaking down or in for repairs? Which aircraft was it? What was the usual issue with it? Did it have a nickname given to it by the crews/mechanics? Would be interested to read.

AA737-823

Fri Sep 02, 2011 10:46 am

Well, I'm a mechanic... is my opinion still welcome?

I'll continue as though it was.

Yes, airlines have hangar queens. Mine doesn't have any one nickname that bears repeating in public.
But even in very small fleets, even between two aircraft, you can easily identify the more reliable of the two. And that applies to 25 year old airliners, AND five year old ones... even rolling right off the line, you can figure out pretty quickly whether you've got a good bird, or one that was completed at 4:59 on Friday, Seattle local time....

Northwest727

Fri Sep 02, 2011 11:22 am

I've talked to my company's mechanics to other mechanics in the past, who have always laughed about a particular aircraft being in the hangar often. Usual names are "Problem Child" to "Hangar Queen" up to and including the "Hangar Whore." One mechanic told me about an aircraft that was in the shop so often he just wanted to burn it and get it over with.

aerdingus

Fri Sep 02, 2011 12:17 pm

I heard a story about one of the EI 747s, EI-ASJ, that went tech so often it was referred to as "Ah Sweet Jesus!"

2016: BHX GLA KIR LCY LGW MUC VIE BA EI FR LH OS A320 A321 ATR 42 ATR 72 B738 E190 E195

boeing767mech

Fri Sep 02, 2011 1:10 pm