sqa380fan
Topic Author

753 Fuselage Warp/Torsion?

Mon Feb 06, 2012 5:30 am

Hi,
This is my first time posting in the forums but I've been meaning to ask about this particular picture ever since I saw it a year or so ago:

View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Daan Krans - AirTeamImages

One can clearly see that the window line along the left side is severely warped, and droops toward the front and rear. I'm assuming that this is due in part to the length of the 753's fuselage, but it still seems pretty crazy to me... so my question is, how often does this happen? And why? Could this possibly be some photographic illusion? It seems to me that the plane is pretty clearly 'bent'...

Thanks!

amccann

RE: 753 Fuselage Warp/Torsion?

Mon Feb 06, 2012 5:53 am

Quoting sqa380fan (Thread starter):
I'm assuming that this is due in part to the length of the 753's fuselage, but it still seems pretty crazy to me... so my question is, how often does this happen? And why?

I would have to say you are correct, the fuselage is indeed bent. You can imagine the fuselage of an aircraft as beam, supported only in the middle. The horizontal tail produces a down force on the rear of the fuselage, and the weight of the fuselage itself also produces a down force on both the front and rear of the fuselage. Again, using the beam analogy, a fuselage can be imagined as a beam supported in the middle with loads applied on the ends.

Additionally because the cross sectional area of the 757-300 is relatively low, when compared to other aircraft of long fuselage, the bending stiffness is lower and therefore the bending deflection is higher. The DC-8-60 series experienced a similar bending phenomenon.
What one person receives without working for, another person must work for without receiving. - Ronald Reagan

tb727

Mon Feb 06, 2012 6:11 am

If it didn't bend it would break. You'd be surprised at how much stuff moves!
Too lazy to work, too scared to steal!

sqa380fan