finnishway
Topic Author
Posts: 440
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2012 5:17 pm

Chicago O'Hare A380 Ready?

Sat Feb 02, 2013 7:57 pm

I know A380 can land and take off from ORD, but is it suitable for airline operations?

Are there any gates for A380? Are the taxiways wide enough?

Which airline will most likely be the first A380 operator to ORD? BA? LH?
 
iFlyLOTs
Posts: 493
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 6:45 pm

RE: Chicago O'Hare A380 Ready?

Sun Feb 03, 2013 1:45 am

I'm fairly certain that T5 at ORD isn't A380 ready yet. I think there are plans in the pipeline to get one or two gates VLA ready. And to answer who will be first, I have no dea, last I heard LH wanted to send the 748 to ORD.
"...stay hungry, stay foolish" -Steve Jobs
 
apodino
Posts: 3030
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 2:11 am

RE: Chicago O'Hare A380 Ready?

Sun Feb 03, 2013 2:02 am

Quoting iFlyLOTs (Reply 1):
I'm fairly certain that T5 at ORD isn't A380 ready yet. I think there are plans in the pipeline to get one or two gates VLA ready. And to answer who will be first, I have no dea, last I heard LH wanted to send the 748 to ORD.

There is one problem with that. LH flights depart from T1, so even if T5 became equipped to handle the A380, I don't think T1 is, and I can't see UA spending money to make T1 A380 capable.
 
strfyr51
Posts: 2139
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 5:04 pm

RE: Chicago O'Hare A380 Ready?

Sun Feb 03, 2013 4:17 am

the B748i could operate from the C concourse of T1,
 
lotpilot16
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 6:39 am

RE: Chicago O'Hare A380 Ready?

Mon Feb 04, 2013 4:25 pm

Quoting strfyr51 (Reply 3):

The B748i can depart from the B concourse as well, B17 is capable of handling the aircraft. The parking position and jetways were changed to accommodate this aircraft

[Edited 2013-02-04 08:32:57]

Big version: Width: 3264 Height: 1840 File size: 1321kb


[Edited 2013-02-04 08:33:37]
 
apodino
Posts: 3030
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 2:11 am

RE: Chicago O'Hare A380 Ready?

Mon Feb 04, 2013 5:07 pm

I didn't read the full post about the 748. That makes a lot more sense now that I see that.
 
sovietjet
Posts: 2549
Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2003 12:32 am

RE: Chicago O'Hare A380 Ready?

Mon Feb 04, 2013 7:56 pm

I still can't believe that ORD being one of the top 5 airports in the world still can't accept A-380!
 
iFlyLOTs
Posts: 493
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 6:45 pm

RE: Chicago O'Hare A380 Ready?

Mon Feb 04, 2013 10:01 pm

Quoting sovietjet (Reply 6):
I still can't believe that ORD being one of the top 5 airports in the world still can't accept A-380!

Why does it have to? Are there any routes that demand that kind of capacity?
"...stay hungry, stay foolish" -Steve Jobs
 
User avatar
Starlionblue
Posts: 17117
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2004 9:54 pm

RE: Chicago O'Hare A380 Ready?

Mon Feb 04, 2013 11:42 pm

Quoting sovietjet (Reply 6):
I still can't believe that ORD being one of the top 5 airports in the world still can't accept A-380!

Several US airports, including ATL and ORD have a lot of traffic in terms of aircraft movements. But much of this traffic is narrowbodies and regional jets. Compare with a place like HKG, where most of the traffic is widebodies. As iFlyLOTs says if there are no routes which require the capacity...
"There are no stupid questions, but there are a lot of inquisitive idiots." - John Ringo
 
finnishway
Topic Author
Posts: 440
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2012 5:17 pm

RE: Chicago O'Hare A380 Ready?

Tue Feb 05, 2013 11:11 am

Quoting iFlyLOTs (Reply 7):
Why does it have to? Are there any routes that demand that kind of capacity?

I would say ORD-LHR and ORD-FRA have demand enough to operate with A380.

[Edited 2013-02-05 03:14:27]
 
Cubsrule
Posts: 11516
Joined: Sat May 15, 2004 12:13 pm

RE: Chicago O'Hare A380 Ready?

Tue Feb 05, 2013 1:40 pm

Quoting Starlionblue (Reply 8):
As iFlyLOTs says if there are no routes which require the capacity...

With multiple 388 operators operating multiple daily flights to ORD, there's no question that there are routes that require the capacity. Of course, it may be that more frequency on smaller aircraft makes sense for an individual operator, but it should be commercial concerns, not facilities constraints, driving that decision.
I can't decide whether I miss the tulip or the bowling shoe more
 
User avatar
Starlionblue
Posts: 17117
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2004 9:54 pm

RE: Chicago O'Hare A380 Ready?

Wed Feb 06, 2013 12:04 am

Quoting Cubsrule (Reply 10):
Quoting Starlionblue (Reply 8):
As iFlyLOTs says if there are no routes which require the capacity...

With multiple 388 operators operating multiple daily flights to ORD, there's no question that there are routes that require the capacity. Of course, it may be that more frequency on smaller aircraft makes sense for an individual operator, but it should be commercial concerns, not facilities constraints, driving that decision.

Fair enough. But those operators presumably get better yields on their 388s somewhere else. Maybe when more have been delivered...
"There are no stupid questions, but there are a lot of inquisitive idiots." - John Ringo
 
Cubsrule
Posts: 11516
Joined: Sat May 15, 2004 12:13 pm

RE: Chicago O'Hare A380 Ready?

Wed Feb 06, 2013 1:39 am

Quoting Starlionblue (Reply 11):
But those operators presumably get better yields on their 388s somewhere else.

Maybe. Using a facility that isn't ready for the aircraft has costs, and in the marginal case that might make the difference.
I can't decide whether I miss the tulip or the bowling shoe more
 
Caryjack
Posts: 312
Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 9:45 am

RE: Chicago O'Hare A380 Ready?

Sun Feb 10, 2013 12:48 am

Quoting iFlyLOTs (Reply 7):
Are there any routes that demand that kind of capacity?

Good question. A little OT but which US airports are A-380 ready...LAX, SFO, JFK, MIA?
Thanks,
Cary
 
UA787DEN
Posts: 408
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2012 4:59 pm

RE: Chicago O'Hare A380 Ready?

Sun Feb 10, 2013 2:29 am

Quoting Caryjack (Reply 13):
which US airports are A-380 ready...LAX, SFO, JFK, MIA?

JFK, LAX, SFO, MCO, IAD, IAH, MIA, ATL, off the top of my head and most likely many more.
 
jcwr56
Posts: 758
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 11:36 am

RE: Chicago O'Hare A380 Ready?

Wed Feb 13, 2013 5:09 pm

A quick update for those that are interested.

* No A380 operations until 10/28C is finished this year.

* It's going to cost around $8MM to reconfigure M15 to handle the A380. Duel bridge operation if everything pans out. The goal is to get it approved and completed before or when 10/28C opens up.

* If an A380 operates to ORD, it will need to arrive and depart from T5. Logistically, it is to hard to move around the core terminal area.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: afterburner33, Google [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] and 9 guests