MIAT
Topic Author

Obtaining An Airline Internship

Tue Oct 29, 2013 6:39 am

Hey everyone! I am currently a sophomore at a top-10 university, and given that I've been following the commercial aviation industry for years, I am dying to get a summer internship at a US airline. I am from NYC, so Jetblue would be my top choice. Since I am going to school in Chicago, however, United would also be a contender. I am aware of the different internship opportunities on offer, but I am having a lot of trouble figuring out how I should write my cover letter. I am obviously passionate about the industry, but it's hard to verify the countless hours I've spent leisurely researching airlines and airplanes. That being said, how do I demonstrate to recruiters that I have the know-how and interest to work for an airline, even though I have no relevant experience in the field?

Starlionblue

RE: Obtaining An Airline Internship

Tue Oct 29, 2013 9:48 am

In my experience entry level jobs are much more about a good attitude and a willingness to work hard than about know-how. Emphasize your interest (but don't overdo it) but talk more about your willingness to work hard and take on the jobs no one wants to do (it's what interns get to do after all).

To be blunt, you probably don't have the know-how required (all the stuff you've been studying might not help you much) and I wouldn't emphasize it too much. Lots of people in the industry, including pilots, have no more than a passing interest in the industry itself. I know pilots who switch off aviation completely when they are off work.
"There are no stupid questions, but there are a lot of inquisitive idiots."

n6238p

Tue Oct 29, 2013 11:22 pm