USAFHummer
Topic Author
Posts: 10261
Joined: Thu May 18, 2000 12:22 pm

Flight Simulator (98 And 2000) Questions

Tue Oct 03, 2000 10:02 am

Hi all,

THis is one of my first posts to the hobby forum. My Flight sim background is that I have 98 and 2000, but mostly fly 98.

Questions

1. I don't play FS2000 as much because it runs incredibly slow on my computer (Pentium III 450 mhz). Can anyone offer suggestion as to why this isn't working?

2. For those simmers who aren't pilots in their real careers, do you use the VOR and ILS systems correctly, or use them at all?

3. When I download planes from Flightsim.com, and convert them, I get an error message that says bad format- Is there anyway to fix that?

4. In FS98, when climbing past 20,000 feet, the scenery turns to a single tan shade. This is annoying and I would like to know if there is any way to fix that?

5. In FS98, I make an approach in the 737, float in over the runway threshold at 200 feet and 160 knots, with some flaps, yet my plane RISES over the runway, then stalls and crashes at the end. Short of nosediving it (which I have done, and isn't pretty), what am I doing wrong? When it doesn't climb back up, I hit nose wheel first and do a wheelie on it before the main gear hits.

6. When watching instant replays of take-offs in the 737 that comes with flight simulator, the gear comes up considerably before I actually pressed gear up on my joystick. Is there any way to fix this?

That's all for now-
I appreciate your help.

G.R.
Chief A.net college football stadium self-pic guru
 
tim
Posts: 672
Joined: Sun Jun 11, 2000 12:25 pm

RE: Flight Simulator (98 And 2000) Questions

Tue Oct 03, 2000 10:04 am

When Microsoft designed FS2000 they seemed to forget that not everyone had 1 Gig of RAM a 800MHZ CPU and a 64 meg video card!
 
USAFHummer
Topic Author
Posts: 10261
Joined: Thu May 18, 2000 12:22 pm

RE: Flight Simulator (98 And 2000) Questions

Tue Oct 03, 2000 10:06 am

Yep-Is it slow on your CPU too?
Chief A.net college football stadium self-pic guru
 
tim
Posts: 672
Joined: Sun Jun 11, 2000 12:25 pm

RE: Flight Simulator (98 And 2000) Questions

Tue Oct 03, 2000 10:50 am

Yer it is. mines a 500mhz. with 64 meg of RAM. I suspect it would run a lot better with 128 meg tho.
Basically im still using my FS98.
 
USAFHummer
Topic Author
Posts: 10261
Joined: Thu May 18, 2000 12:22 pm

RE: Flight Simulator (98 And 2000) Questions

Tue Oct 03, 2000 10:55 am

Same here-It runs much better, although from the little bit of FS2000 I have done, the scenery is better there.

G.R.

P.S. Answers would be appreciated!
Chief A.net college football stadium self-pic guru
 
Night Hawk
Posts: 264
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 1999 11:18 am

RE: Flight Simulator (98 And 2000) Questions

Thu Oct 05, 2000 12:01 am

Hi Tim, USAFHummer

I have both FS98 and 2000 myself. I've been running 2000 lately and have found that my P3 667 keeps up quite well. I run into problems when I decide to start throwing the plane around a bit. The system doenst have enough memory to store the complex graphics the MS are using with FS2000. The problem is the program needs so much memory. 64Mb really isnt enough for it.

To solve your first problem, I can suggest 2 things, first thing is to reduce the graphics settings and try to free up some system resources, ie, turn off any programs that run in the background like virus scanners, printer monitors and other system programs. The second suggestion is to upgrade your ram to at least 128Mb. I have 64Mb at the moment and Im putting in another 128Mb in the near future.

Problem 2 I cant really answer because Im a real pilot. Although Im not endoresed to use VOR or ILS as yet because I only hold a PPL, I dont have night VFR or instrument ratings yet, I still do use them as much as I can to help me fly.

Problem 3 all depends on what planes you are downloading. You only need to convert planes designed for FS5 or FS95. Planes designed for FS98 or 2000 dont need to be converted. I have had some problems converting FS95 planes but havent found a solution to that one yet. I suggest stick to FS2000 planes only, there is plenty available on Flightsim.com.

Problem 4 cant be solved. It was a design limit set simply because computers of the time werent powerful enough to run the kind of graphics required to solve that problem. FS2000 has overcome this problem because computers have come such a huge distance since FS98 was released a few years ago.

Problem 5 is easy, put simple your coming too fast. when approaching set full flap and approach at about 135-140 kts. This should help make all landings perfect ones. You still may bounce on landing but that has proved very hard to avoid unless you really kiss the runway   .

Im not sure with Problem 6 as I havent used the instant reply function yet, maybe something I should start using to improve me landings  

Hope this helps

Regards

Greg
 
Pacific
Posts: 1043
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2000 2:46 pm

RE: Flight Simulator (98 And 2000) Questions

Thu Oct 05, 2000 1:14 am

1. I use a P1 233MHZ with 48 MB RAM. don't have FS2000. FS98 works pretty well but landing at Kai Tak is a real pain. The slow frame rate makes the 40 degree turn difficult.
2. I always make visual landings. I can't bother to look up the frequency. It takes too long to load. I've become pretty good at visual so it works fine.
4. In mine, you can still see the multicolour of the ground, if you lessen the zoom.
5. 160 knots with full flaps is way too fast. Keep your speed at around 140knots when hovering. When you're close to the ground (50 feet above the runway), make the thrust idle. The plane should come down if you hold your joystick steady. Can't avoid the bouncing though.
6. I never knew there was such a feature!

Hope my info helps.  

Pacific
 
N139J
Posts: 371
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 1999 12:24 pm

RE: Flight Simulator (98 And 2000) Questions

Thu Oct 05, 2000 5:35 am

People have already answered the rest of your questions, so i'm not going to bore anyone with the same answers. I have two things to say. One, I own both FS98, and FS2K. I am in the same boat with you. My FS98 is what i use! The other is that yes i do use VOR/ILS. It really isnt difficult to use, once you get the hang of it. There is an excellent tutorial in your FS2K hanbook. You wont be albe to fly the lessons, but it pretty much tells you exactly how to use the two. Then just go in, and practice. I try to fly many flights that require many VOR trackings, and then i set visiblity to 3/4 to 1/4 visibility and land using ILS. Just practice! Hope this helps.
N139J
 
USAFHummer
Topic Author
Posts: 10261
Joined: Thu May 18, 2000 12:22 pm

RE: Flight Simulator (98 And 2000) Questions

Thu Oct 05, 2000 7:18 am

Thanks all for your help-I really appreciate it!

G.R.
Chief A.net college football stadium self-pic guru
 
USAFHummer
Topic Author
Posts: 10261
Joined: Thu May 18, 2000 12:22 pm

RE: Flight Simulator (98 And 2000) Questions

Thu Oct 05, 2000 11:58 am

Pacific-

At what altitude are you when you can still see the ground-what I mean is that you can if you switch to down view you can see it fine, but the SURROUNDING scenery becomes tan.

G.R.
Chief A.net college football stadium self-pic guru
 
USAFHummer
Topic Author
Posts: 10261
Joined: Thu May 18, 2000 12:22 pm

RE: Flight Simulator (98 And 2000) Questions

Thu Oct 05, 2000 12:04 pm

Can anyone tell me the FS98 distances between:

Riyadh-Karachi
Karachi-Bombay
Bombay-Calcutta
Calcutta-Macau
Macau-Manila
Manila-Guam
Guam-Wake Island
Wake Island-Johnston Atoll
Johnston Atoll-Honolulu
Honolulu-SFO or LAX

Any help would be appreciated,
G.R.
Chief A.net college football stadium self-pic guru
 
N139J
Posts: 371
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 1999 12:24 pm

RE: Flight Simulator (98 And 2000) Questions

Fri Oct 06, 2000 7:30 am

to find those distances, I would recommend downloading FSNAV. You can get it at microwings.com and flightsim.com i belive. It works hand in hand with your Autopilot to fly a flight plan for you, as well as good flight plans. I use it on everything.
N139J
 
USAFHummer
Topic Author
Posts: 10261
Joined: Thu May 18, 2000 12:22 pm

RE: Flight Simulator (98 And 2000) Questions

Sat Oct 07, 2000 8:42 am

The thing is, I don't really need a special GPS because the aircraft I fly, a C-130, has an onboard GPS, and it tells me distance, but only from my current position-Any more FS98 downloads for me, and my FS will become really slow.

Thanks anyway,
G.R.
Chief A.net college football stadium self-pic guru
 
Pacific
Posts: 1043
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2000 2:46 pm

Usaf Hummer

Sat Oct 07, 2000 12:41 pm

I've posted a reply in the "Longest Flight In Your FLight Sim" thread where you asked the same question. I'll just copy and paste it.

I have not touched my Flight Sim yet so I cannot answer about the scenery. I'll try working out some distances using a world atlas, ruler and a calculator!

Riyadh-Karachi 2000km
Karachi-Bombay 815km
Bombay-Calcutta 1625km
Calcutta-Macau 2565km
Macau-Manila 1140km
Manila-Guam 2646km
Guam-Wake Island 2457km
Wake Island-Johnston Atoll ?
Johnston Atoll-Honolulu ?
(Johnston Atoll is not on my atlas)
Honolulu-SFO 3860km (using Great Circle Calculator)
Honolulu-LAX 4113km (using Great Circle Calculator)

All these distances become shorter if you use a curved flight pattern. Go to the great circle calculator and after typing in the airport codes, it'll work out the shortest distance and flight path for you. The calculator is at
http://www.chicago.com/airliners/gc.html

Hope this helps!

Pacific
 
Guest

RE: Flight Simulator (98 And 2000) Questions

Sat Oct 07, 2000 2:43 pm

I use FS98 (I have FS2K, but it is wayyyyy too slow on my system).
I am not a "real" pilot, but I use all of the navigation equipment I can to make it feel more real. I usually have all ILS and VOR freqs on hand before taking off and get all my STARs, SIDs, and airport & approach diagrams in order.
Landing takes lots of practice (as in months or more)! I have had FS98 since it first came out and am just now getting my landings down to where they are almost perfect. Approach speed, RoD (rate of descent), glidepath, and at what time and place you flare are all important. I suggest finding a good tutorial (maybe someone here knows of one) that can teach you exactly how it is done.
 
USAFHummer
Topic Author
Posts: 10261
Joined: Thu May 18, 2000 12:22 pm

RE: Flight Simulator (98 And 2000) Questions

Thu Oct 12, 2000 9:44 am

I tried taking the speed to 130 on final and it still stalled, CLIMBED, and crashed at the end.

This is gotta be a screwup with my FS98-
Also see my post FS98 Scenery Screwup for another weird problem
Chief A.net college football stadium self-pic guru
 
Pacific
Posts: 1043
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2000 2:46 pm

RE: Flight Simulator (98 And 2000) Questions

Thu Oct 12, 2000 12:24 pm

Maybe it's the landing technique. You have to hover above the runway at about 140 knots and then make the thrust idle when you are about 50 feet above ground. If you keep the joystick at the same position, the plane should decend by itself. The moment you touch down, first thing to do is to deploy spoilers immediately. This helps keep the bouncing under control. My touchdown speed is usually around 120-130knots.

Pacific
 
N139J
Posts: 371
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 1999 12:24 pm

RE: Flight Simulator (98 And 2000) Questions

Fri Oct 13, 2000 3:57 am

I would suggest using the glide slope to help with decent rate. Watch your speed, and use the flaps. they really help when used correctly. Like Pacific said, spoilers also do wonders. Keep your final appr. speed low. It should be close to the clean stall speed. It just takes practice. Do it over and over. Its easier to just do touch-and-goes so you get better at it. Just keep trying, you'll get it!
-N139J
 
USAFHummer
Topic Author
Posts: 10261
Joined: Thu May 18, 2000 12:22 pm

RE: Flight Simulator (98 And 2000) Questions

Fri Oct 13, 2000 8:22 am

Ok I will give it another shot- it's really frustrating-I can land everything but the jets, and the jets are what I really want to fly!!
G.R.
Chief A.net college football stadium self-pic guru
 
preswest
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 6:09 pm

Your Landings

Fri Oct 13, 2000 9:28 am

I am not a real profesianal pilot, but i still use the ILS systems. I found it the simplest way to land a large jet.

First.....200ft over the threshold is too far up. It should be around 20-50ft. You should land at about 120 - 130knts, not 160. The wings are creating too much lift at 160 to land....so you will balloon on the flare or bounce if you touch down. When you get cross the inner marker becon or get 50ft above the ground, go to idle on the power and then flare right BEFORE you touch. If you are 200 ft, you are almost double the length of your plane in the air. You have to go slow to get down.

The replay is flawed. Not your fault.
 
USAFHummer
Topic Author
Posts: 10261
Joined: Thu May 18, 2000 12:22 pm

RE: Flight Simulator (98 And 2000) Questions

Tue Oct 17, 2000 8:05 am

Ok-I just feel really uncomfortable crossing the threshold low-guess I am paranoid!

G.R.
Chief A.net college football stadium self-pic guru
 
Guest

Slow - Almost Dead!

Wed Oct 18, 2000 6:22 am

Hi,
I have FS98 and FS2000 and FS98 works perfect I have loads of upgrades for it, but FS2000 is dead slow and it took me (after I had pressed the buttton   !) to switch my strobe lights on because I was in the dark! and it took me about 1 hr before my Mooney Bravo even started to move!

I tried to get rid of FS1998 to see if that effected FS2000's preformance- not a bit changed, so I loaded it back on and remained flying on FS98.

The worst thing is I baught FS2000 professional edition wich was about £50.00 GPB and now I have found out I have to buy an upgrade my PC to a faster speed so it can cope! What a financial nightmare! Whats's that gonna cost me?!

Thank You,
Marc Bowers.

PS The best aircraft I have to fly on FS1998 is the airbus fleet in differant liveries swiftly follwed by the Jersey European Shorts 360.    
 
N139J
Posts: 371
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 1999 12:24 pm

Threshold

Wed Oct 18, 2000 8:24 am

I used to be the same way about flying in low. The way I got over it was flying into airports with plently of daylight using the VASI lights (explained above). u can do that or follow glideslope. all it takes is just a few landings on the marks, and you will get over it real quick!
N139J
 
USAFHummer
Topic Author
Posts: 10261
Joined: Thu May 18, 2000 12:22 pm

RE: Flight Simulator (98 And 2000) Questions

Wed Oct 18, 2000 10:02 am

Ok, lately I have been working with landing fighters (the F/A-18, which comes with Flight Deck from Abacus), which makes landing a 737 look like a Cessna. As soon as I get that down pat, I will continue with the heavy jets.

G.R.
Chief A.net college football stadium self-pic guru
 
IndianGuy
Posts: 3126
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2000 3:14 pm

RE: Flight Simulator (98 And 2000) Questions

Fri Oct 20, 2000 12:52 pm


Well I used to have the same problem too. I couldnt land anything except a Cessna. All the other jets used to crash.

But now i have got the hang of it to a certain extent. I'll list out some of the things i do, perhaps it mught help.

- Line up with the runway well in advance. For A320-20 nm, A310/A300 - 25nm, 747-35 nm. This reduces the tension of last-minute heading changes. after the turn is complete, engage the heading hold (^H). Reduce speed to 240 knots, and descend till level out at 3000 ft AGL.

- Set speed hold to an appropriate Landing Speed. Increase flaps one notch for every 10knots decrease in speed. The Landing speeds:
A320 - 140
A310/300 - 160
B747 - 180

These are the speeds i got from fellow simmers. Howver, i found that it is better to set the speed to ~10 knots BELOW these figures to prevent 'FLOATING'.

- Disconnect the Altitude Hold once it reaches a certain distance. This distance should depend on the speed of the acft.
A320 - 9 nm
B747 - 12 nm
Maintain a steady descent rate of ~750 fpm.

- Around 4-5 nm out, lower the Landing Gear
- Disconnect the Heading Hold and spped hold, and ensure that the aircraft is properly aligned with the rwy.

- For the landing U may need to raise the nose a little for the A320. But for the 747, i didnt really have to, and the aircraft is already is a slightly nose-up position.

- Deploy the spoilers about 50 ft off the ground. Be careful to prevent rapid decay in speed.

- Deploy the thrust reversers till the speed has decayed to around 60 knots. Avoid using Full reverse thrust unless the rwy is really short. Retract the spoilers, and the flaps.

- You have arrived!

Now i got to figure out how to get it down on the actual rwy! It always seems to land to the left of the rwy. Any reasons why this must be happening?



 
USAFHummer
Topic Author
Posts: 10261
Joined: Thu May 18, 2000 12:22 pm

RE: Flight Simulator (98 And 2000) Questions

Fri Oct 20, 2000 9:16 pm

Indian Guy,

How do yoy see the runway 35 nm out? I can't see the airport until I am about 6 nm out. Also in general, will the VASI lights work if you aren't tuned into the ILS?

G.R.
Chief A.net college football stadium self-pic guru
 
IndianGuy
Posts: 3126
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2000 3:14 pm

RE: Flight Simulator (98 And 2000) Questions

Sat Oct 21, 2000 3:40 am

Well ofcourse u dont see the rwy 35nm out!

Well i use a Navigation Module, which shows me the flight path and my own position. pressing F9 swaps between Map view and normal FS view. It is painful, but it serves the purpose.
 
N139J
Posts: 371
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 1999 12:24 pm

RE: Flight Simulator (98 And 2000) Questions

Sat Oct 21, 2000 11:41 am

First, when IndianGuy was listing his steps for landing, he confused a few. You deploy the last notch of flaps 50 ft above the rwy, and as soon as you touch you deploy the spoilers. Reverse Thrust is used once your nose touches the ground, and use the brake as well. About USAFHummers question on the VASI lights, the answer is you can be tuned to any frequency you want. It has no affect on the VASI lights. I believe that ATC controls them in real life, but dont hold me to that.
-N139J
 
Night Hawk
Posts: 264
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 1999 11:18 am

RE: Slow - Almost Dead!

Sat Oct 21, 2000 3:07 pm

Hi

I cant really say what it will cost cause I live in Australia. What I can tell you is the sort of system you'll need to run FS2000 smoothly.

The 2 most important things is the video card and the ram in your system. FS2000 will run quite well on a slow system if you have heaps of ram and a powerful video card. As an example, I was getting 6-7 frames per second on my old P166 MMX system with a medium level of detail set. Im now running a P3 667 with 64Mb of ram. The processor is defintely fast enough but 64Mb of ram isnt enough.

From my experience with FS2000 on different systems, any processor faster than a P3 450 will be more than sufficient. You will need a minimum of 128Mb of ram, 256Mb would be ideal. You'll also need a 32Mb video card, something like the Voodoo 3 of Riva TNT2. They are both cheap and will do the job really well.

Hope this helps

Regards

Greg
 
lamyl_hhlco
Posts: 596
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2000 8:28 am

RE: Flight Simulator (98 And 2000) Questions

Sun Oct 22, 2000 5:57 am

I just Got the FS2000...it's well done but sometimes slow and the airplanes, specially the concorde are not really easy to manoeuvre, 100 knts a fast take off...it's annoying!
 
USAFHummer
Topic Author
Posts: 10261
Joined: Thu May 18, 2000 12:22 pm

RE: Flight Simulator (98 And 2000) Questions

Sun Oct 22, 2000 11:01 am

Well, I probably will for the moment have to wait on FS2000, as my parents control the purchasing of anything computer-related over $100-seeing as we just got our current CPU a year ago, things are looking bleak, as our previous computer we had for 5 years.

G.R.
Chief A.net college football stadium self-pic guru
 
G-KIRAN
Posts: 710
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2000 1:55 am

RE: Flight Simulator (98 And 2000) Questions

Tue Oct 24, 2000 9:15 pm

1.I am running Fs2000 on my pentiumII with 64mb ram and NO 3d accelarator.I get around 10 frames per secong on very sparse scenery mode with 20 miles visabillity.This increases to about 30-40 frames per second in flight.Try to reduce scenery density and trun dynamic scenery off.
2.I use VOR,NDB and ILS all the time,if you want to know how to use them correctly just look in the help file provided
3.You are converting a plane that has been designed for fs98 you dont need to do this.The convertor was built to allow users to convert planes from older FS versions to Fs98
4.As far as I now there is no way to fix this
5.Mantain 140 knots and at about 20-30 feet above the runway bring the throttles to idle and raise the nose SLIGHTLY by about 2-3 degs.Thsi should insure a smooth touchdown and arm your spoilers on approach to reduce bouncing on landing.
6.As far as I know there is no way to fix this
 
northstardc4m
Posts: 2724
Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2000 11:23 am

RE: Flight Simulator (98 And 2000) Questions

Mon Oct 30, 2000 3:05 pm

I run FS2K with everything full and get a minimum of 15 fps...
My system:

P3 550
256 MBSDRAM
32MB Nvidia TNT2 M64 Vid
Turtle BEach Montego 2 sound (320K)
AVB Top Shot Pegasus joystick
Those who would give up Essential Liberty to purchase a little Temporary Safety, deserve neither Liberty nor Safety.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests