donder10

Scanners Etc.

Wed Feb 14, 2001 7:50 am

I am completely new to plane spotting but it is something which I have been fascinated about since I was 5.I live directly on the landing path of 27L at Heathrow, about 3 miles out.We get a lot of traffic at what appears to be very altitudes ie.they have long jet streams. Would these be European Trans-Atlantic flights from say to CDG to JFK??I want to buy a scanner which I can use to here the converation of these planes to ATC(London Centre?) and I am willing to pay up to 2oo pounds (about $320 i think).How far will I be able to track these planes for in terms of miles?Could someone please explain to me how communcation between ATC and planes especially high-flying ones work as I am vbery interested in it .However, I am a complete novice.Thanks a lot,alex

donder10

RE: Scanners Etc.

Wed Feb 14, 2001 10:21 pm

Could someone please help me?:D

Thom@s

Wed Feb 14, 2001 11:53 pm

Hi Donder10

Welcome to the discussion forums.

I'm not 100% sure, but I think it would be easier to ask someone in the photography forum

Thom@s
"If guns don't kill people, people kill people - does that mean toasters don't toast toast, toast toast toast?"

Thu Feb 15, 2001 6:29 am