Bryan Becker
Topic Author
Posts: 327
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2001 12:38 pm

Auto Landing

Mon Mar 05, 2001 10:24 am

Does eny one now how to make the planes on flight sim 2000 to make a auto land were you let the autopilot make the landing????

I'd really like to know Thanks alot!!!!!!!!!!!

Bryan Becker  Smile
 
Guest

RE: Auto Landing

Mon Mar 05, 2001 3:39 pm

Theres a button on the dash called "apr" or "app". You will also need to have the proper ILS dialed in.
 
sushka
Posts: 4657
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 1999 12:33 am

RE: Auto Landing

Tue Mar 06, 2001 1:41 am

It NEVER works right, What do I do?
Pershoyu Spravoyu Litaki!
 
BA747-436
Posts: 1192
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2001 11:03 pm

RE: Auto Landing

Tue Mar 06, 2001 6:32 am

Land the bird yourself!  Smile/happy/getting dizzy
I always do, whatever the weather ect. I would be well pissed to just say fly from LHR-LAX (around 10 hours) and have a arsing autopilot land the plane for me!
 Smile/happy/getting dizzy
Dan
Dan Valentine - Bad Ass MOFO Photographer
 
Joona
Posts: 1214
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 2:02 am

RE: Auto Landing

Tue Mar 06, 2001 6:46 am

In order to do a LAND 2 or LAND 3, you'll need a panel with at least two/three APs in it. The default AP that comes with the default panels sucks a big time. The same goes for it's APP mode. You can fly the approach using the APP mode (which btw. never works correctly on my FS2000...) but you should disconnect it at last at 500ft, and from there, continue manually all the way to the runway.

When doing a LAND 3, you can actually let the autopilot fly the approach all the way to the landing and do an automatic FLARE and ROLLOUT. This is called the LAND 3, which is a full Autoland. I'm telling you, sometimes when at morning, after a 10 hour flight, and you sleep 8 seconds out of 10 ( Sleepy), it is really good to have the LAND 3 capability on board... Big grin

One of the panels which includes this is the 767 Pilot In Command. It is a commercial, but once you get it, you can never even think of flying without it....

Z
1740 days idle. Beat that.
 
N139J
Posts: 371
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 1999 12:24 pm

RE: Auto Landing

Tue Mar 06, 2001 8:43 am

Well i actually practice ILS appr. with autopilot it my cessna 182 on FS2K. I fly with autopilot until I am about 200 ft. above. Then I disengage, and let it glide to the r/w. It is not difficult. Just keep a hand on the throttle, and watch the ILS needles. It works fine for me.
-N139J
Jason
 
Timbo
Posts: 217
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 1:10 pm

RE: Auto Landing

Tue Mar 06, 2001 9:24 am

Phoenix Simulation Software's 747-400 also has a full working LAND-3 autoland. (I'm still figuring it out though  Smile ) Although it's payware, it's worth the money. I have yet to find any good freeware 747 panels on the internet so your best bet is to buy one.
 
chiawei
Posts: 927
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2000 9:07 am

RE: Auto Landing

Tue Mar 06, 2001 10:24 am

Seriously speaking, what is the fun if you use autoland.

Manual landing is fun. I have flown all of my approach and landing manually. It's part of the fun to control the rate of decent, speed, and host of others.

I have landed in Kaitak with sever crosswind, this is where FS2k is most fun. My EVA 744 was 45 degree off the runway.

 
N139J
Posts: 371
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 1999 12:24 pm

RE: Auto Landing

Tue Mar 06, 2001 10:28 am

I agree that manuals are the best, but when weather is bad, I always like to know how to use the APR func. of AP. That is why I practice sometimes. I have yet to try it in an airliner though. I like flying the cessnas and other small planes.
-N139J
Jason
 
sushka
Posts: 4657
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 1999 12:33 am

RE: Auto Landing

Tue Mar 06, 2001 1:22 pm

I had it working in fs98.
Pershoyu Spravoyu Litaki!
 
Joona
Posts: 1214
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 2:02 am

RE: Auto Landing

Tue Mar 06, 2001 5:31 pm

I usually do as much autolands as I do manual landings, 50/50. This way I can become better at both of them, and when I finaly really need the LAND 3, I know what I should do.

Z
1740 days idle. Beat that.
 
GunFighter 6
Posts: 401
Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2001 6:05 pm

RE: Auto Landing

Tue Mar 06, 2001 8:04 pm

Note that the Autoland function does not always work right. due to the fact that there are a lot of third pary planes, these do not have the right flight models to make a perfect autoland.

ofcourse the PSS and the Wilco planes work perfect  Smile

warm regards
G.
 
Guest

RE: Auto Landing

Thu Mar 08, 2001 1:23 pm

one plane that makes a perfect autoland is the freeware flight group dc10-30. They have been shut down, but i have the zip files for ua old & ua new c/s.

e-mail me at bpope@siu.edu if you want them.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests