BA747-436
Topic Author

Air Scanners?

Wed May 16, 2001 11:00 pm

Hi,
I'm a total novice to the world of scanners ect.
I would like to buy one and listen to ATC and aircraft movements, APR ect from my home. I live approximatley 20 miles away form EGLL (Heathrow) and about 5 miles away from London City Airport. Would it be possible to listen to Heathrow? Or am i to far away? Please somone help me here on if this would be possible, what i need and a rough estimate on pricing.
Many thanks for your help  Smile/happy/getting dizzy  Smile/happy/getting dizzy  Smile/happy/getting dizzy
Regrds
Dan
Dan Valentine - Bad Ass MOFO Photographer

LBA

RE: Air Scanners?

Wed May 16, 2001 11:28 pm

How much money do you have? Be prepared to spend a minimum of £150. I have a Uniden Bearcat with 100 channel memory. It cost about £120 two or three years ago and is a good entry level model. Generally the greater frequency coverage you require the more expensive the scanner - for instance mine does not cover the military range. You would certainly be able to hear the a/c transmissions on approach to LHR, I get all Manchester traffic up to them being about 8 miles out and I live 40 miles away, but tower transmissions would be difficult without a decent antenna, these start from about £20. I live 5 miles from LBA but can only get the tower in certain weather conditions, but I have no problem with ground vehicle and a/c transmissions. I was a novice and went to a local supplier who spent a good half an hour with me going through the options. In the end budget was my limiting factor.

BA747-436
Topic Author

RE: LBA

Thu May 17, 2001 12:19 am

Thanks for all your help mate  Smile/happy/getting dizzy
Wow that's pretty expensive then! So i'd be looking at spending around £200 for the the lot (aerial, scanner everything) Hmmm, i guess i'll have to wait a few months to get that kind of money.
Thanks  Smile/happy/getting dizzy
Dan
Dan Valentine - Bad Ass MOFO Photographer

GOT