airbus_330_340
Posts: 154
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2001 11:56 am

How To Line Up With Runway For Landing In FS200

Wed Aug 15, 2001 3:44 am

This may sound stupid, but how do you line up for approach in flight simulator 2000. I use the flight planner and it only takes me directly to the airport and will NEVER line me up with a runway. Would someone please explain how this is done.

-thanks
 
VgnAtl747
Posts: 1333
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2001 3:59 am

RE: How To Line Up With Runway For Landing In FS200

Wed Aug 15, 2001 4:24 am

If you use a flight planner, add a GPS fix at the end of the ILS path for the runway you want to land at. The computer can fly you to this fix on autopilot, then tune in the ILS freq. in the nav1 radio, and set your autopilot to apr (approach). You'll hit the centerline every time.
Work Hard. Fly Right. Continental Airlines
 
airbus_330_340
Posts: 154
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2001 11:56 am

RE: How To Line Up With Runway For Landing In FS200

Wed Aug 15, 2001 5:44 am

how do you add a gps fix?
 
cramos
Posts: 547
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2000 10:50 am

RE: How To Line Up With Runway For Landing In FS200

Wed Aug 15, 2001 7:55 am

While you are in the planning phase of your flight, you go to "edit route". Then locate your destination airport on the map. Simply take the red route line marking your route (anywhere on the route), and click and hold, and drag it onto a fix (most likely an intersection) close to the runway. A box will come up notifying you of which fix you dragged it onto, then click on the check mark and you are set to go. If you don't see intersections, make sure you have them shown by clicking on the triangle icon at the top of the map, then they will show up as green triangles. Hope this helps.

Regards
 
N139J
Posts: 371
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 1999 12:24 pm

RE: How To Line Up With Runway For Landing In FS200

Wed Aug 15, 2001 11:51 am

A lot of runways also have NDBs located at their OM (LOM). Tune this into your ADF radio and use it to help you line up. I would suggest practice of all of the above suggestions using a Cessna or other light aircraft and then move up. This way you get used to it slow before going fast.
-Jason
N139J
 
gotAirbus
Posts: 791
Joined: Fri May 18, 2001 10:02 am

RE: How To Line Up With Runway For Landing In FS200

Thu Aug 16, 2001 11:27 am

OK..
Has anyone heard of the ILS or the APR? (my conclusions might be wrong)
(gotAIRBUS?) - (Got Commonality?) - (Have A Nice Flight!)
 
BA
Posts: 10133
Joined: Fri May 19, 2000 11:06 am

RE: How To Line Up With Runway For Landing In FS200

Thu Aug 16, 2001 11:50 am

You can have the ILS allign the plane with the runway for you like what the rest of the guys have told you, or do it manually, like I do (I think its more fun, but thats just me). It takes some practice, but after a while you'll be able to allign your aircraft with any runway in no time.

Regards.
"Generosity is giving more than you can, and pride is taking less than you need." - Khalil Gibran
 
cramos
Posts: 547
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2000 10:50 am

RE: How To Line Up With Runway For Landing In FS200

Thu Aug 16, 2001 11:54 am

The ILS is good option as well. Tune into the frequency and fly it all the way. I like to fly my ILS approaches manually. If you have the FS2K Pro manual, take a look at that as well, there you can find information on approaches and landings. Also in the help section, there are a few things you can view also under the Aircraft Handbooks section.

Regards
 
cramos
Posts: 547
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2000 10:50 am

RE: How To Line Up With Runway For Landing In FS200

Thu Aug 16, 2001 9:48 pm

Like BA said, I also like the manual approach better, you'll be surprised as to how your skills will improve.
 
Soku39
Posts: 1731
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2000 7:16 am

RE: How To Line Up With Runway For Landing In FS200

Fri Aug 17, 2001 9:21 am

When you do it manally how do you correclty use the rudder. I always over do it or don't give it enough.
The Ohio Player
 
cramos
Posts: 547
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2000 10:50 am

RE: How To Line Up With Runway For Landing In FS200

Fri Aug 17, 2001 2:01 pm

Soku39,

Unfortunately I cannot tell you exactly how, as I use a joystick without rudder pedals. However, there is an article under "help>aviation articles" about using the rudder, they have a term for this (a balance between rudder and bank) that I cannot recall. If you look it up there, you could find your answer. I'll look it up to see if I can give you the exact name to the article. Sorry I couldn't help any further.

Regards
 
N139J
Posts: 371
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 1999 12:24 pm

RE: How To Line Up With Runway For Landing In FS200

Fri Aug 17, 2001 8:08 pm

In regard to rudders, always watch your inclinometer (side-slip indicator). This is that curved tube normally around your HSI with a black ball in the middle. There are two black lines in the center as well. If you are trying to match rudder with bank, "step on the ball" (if the ball is to the left, apply left rudder) as you turn. If you are using rudder to yaw the plane to help alignment (especially in a cross-wind situation), you can tell how much rudder you are using by looking at that. Hope this helps
-Jason

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: FAST Enterprise [Crawler], Mumrik and 9 guests