9V-SPJ
Topic Author
Posts: 667
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2000 1:51 pm

Is It Possible To Fly The Polar Route In FS2002?

Thu Feb 21, 2002 12:43 pm

I once tried flying EWR-HKG with a CO 777, but when I got near, I think it was 86th parallel, ATC just abruptly cancelled my IFR flight plan. I was right on track and at the correct altitude.
Is it possible to fly the polar route?
9V-SPJ
 
Blackened
Posts: 535
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2001 4:19 am

RE: Is It Possible To Fly The Polar Route In FS2002?

Sun Feb 24, 2002 10:11 am

The poles don't exist in MSFS for some technical reason. As far as I know you can go more north than 89.60 or something. Check the web for details.
Bring it back, bring it back, bring it back
 
Skystar
Posts: 1339
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2000 3:58 pm

RE: Is It Possible To Fly The Polar Route In FS2002?

Sun Feb 24, 2002 10:16 am

Trying to fly over the poles in MSFS is a practical impossibility it seems  Smile

If you set a particular heading, fly it, and then use wing leveller (so mag forces do not affect the course), you'll find when you get to the north pole it seems to just go round & round, unable to get to the other side.

Another thing, there are some beautiful auroras/winter lights up there  Smile

Cheers,

Justin
 
cba
Posts: 4228
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2000 2:02 pm

RE: Is It Possible To Fly The Polar Route In FS2002?

Mon Feb 25, 2002 2:01 am

I've tried flying over the north & south poles in FS98 and FS2000, and when I get near the pole, I just get sucked in, and keep going around and around it.
 
Blackened
Posts: 535
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2001 4:19 am

RE: Is It Possible To Fly The Polar Route In FS2002?

Mon Feb 25, 2002 3:39 am

As I've said: There are no poles!
Bring it back, bring it back, bring it back

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests