cramos
Posts: 547
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2000 10:50 am

Whose Got A GeForce 2 Ti Card?

Sun Jun 02, 2002 7:28 am

Hello,

I just wanted to know if anyone had a GF2 card and if so, what do they have their settings at in FS2002. Do you have them maxed out? Would RAM help out in framerates? I tried maxing out the settings but I got low framerates. I'll be installing RAM to get up to 384MB very soon, but for now I'd appreciate any comments, thanks.

Regards
 
crank
Posts: 1524
Joined: Tue May 22, 2001 11:42 pm

RE: Whose Got A GeForce 2 Ti Card?

Sun Jun 02, 2002 7:50 am

I don't know about the Geforce 2, but I upgraded my computer from 64 to 192 MB of RAM a few months ago and I did not notice any changes in the frame rates, it only gave me faster loading to change views, textures, but no higher frame rates.
 
jwenting
Posts: 9973
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2001 10:12 pm

RE: Whose Got A GeForce 2 Ti Card?

Sun Jun 02, 2002 2:48 pm

GF2Ti works fine. If performance does not go up when putting in a faster graphics card (which I suppose the GF2Ti is, but I can't tell as I don't know what you had before) the bottleneck is clearly somewhere else.
I advise you to either do a complete analysis of your system and find where that bottleneck is or (and that's preferred) you forget about that fps number and just enjoy flightsim.
This is not some first person shooter where a microsecond difference in pulling the trigger can mean you kill the other guy first you know...
I wish I were flying
 
cramos
Posts: 547
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2000 10:50 am

RE: Whose Got A GeForce 2 Ti Card?

Sun Jun 02, 2002 10:29 pm

My system is the following:

400MHz PII Processor
10GB hard drive
Will soon install 384MB RAM

I was at a 16MB VooDoo Banshee card before installing my GeForce card.

Regards
 
n521na
Posts: 457
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2001 6:51 am

RE: Whose Got A GeForce 2 Ti Card?

Mon Jun 03, 2002 2:56 am

Your P2 400 MHz will not take full advantage of the GeForce 2 Ti200. Your processor is the bottleneck of your system. I don't think you will see much of an increase in performance by upgrading to 384 MB of RAM on that system. You could buy a new motherboard and processor but you might as well buy a new computer if you are going to do that.

I would suggest an Athlon XP 1800+ or faster for the processor and at least 256 MB of RAM. With the Geforce 3ti200 so cheap these days I would suggest getting that.
 
TropicalSQ744
Posts: 237
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2001 3:17 am

RE: Whose Got A GeForce 2 Ti Card?

Thu Jun 13, 2002 12:02 am

At the moment with your current configuration, you might as well get a GeForce2 MX400. Forget about the GeForce2Ti as your processor will be the bottleneck and it will not achieve it's full potential. Remember that the GeForce2 MX400 is dirt cheap nowdays and it's a budget card meant for systems that are slower than 800 MHz.

TropicalSQ744
SIN/WSSS
DMK(TG773/772) PEN(SQ772/MH734) PER(QF333) PEK(CA763) HKT(MI320) HKG(SQ744) ICN (OZ333), CJU,TAE(OZ734) TPE(3K320) KUL(T
 
TimeForFlight
Posts: 261
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2000 6:36 am

RE: Whose Got A GeForce 2 Ti Card?

Thu Jun 13, 2002 12:32 am

heh... not a geforce 2, but a recently released GeForce 4 Ti 4400 128 MB ram, etc. Its a beautiful new computer.
 
jmacias34
Posts: 363
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2000 10:50 am

RE: Whose Got A GeForce 2 Ti Card?

Thu Jun 13, 2002 3:11 am

Cramos,
I've be trying to investigate what effects the performance of FS2002 more; RAM, Video Card or Processor Speed. About two weeks ago I was running FS2002 on a Duron 700MHZ with 384MB of Ram running a nVidia Geforce2 GTS 64MB. With the display settings at moderate with 100% default AI Traffic I was seeing 15-22fps, not bad. However if you are interested in running custom AI Traffic expect to see a slide show - around 4FPS. Just recently I purchased a Barebones system. To be exact I purchase an AMD XP1900+ with the ECS K7S5A Motherboard. Put all my current components into my new case, one problem. My motherboard only accepts 2 sticks of SDRAM. So I stuck with 256 until my 2 512 DDRAM sticks arrive. Well I decided to install FS2002 and see how it look. With Very Dense (40+ aircraft) Custom AI Traffic at KDEN, scenery setting maxed out I was seeing about 10FPS. In conslusion, I have found that Processor speed has a lot to do with the framerates. When my extra DDR-RAM arrives I will be able to give you a better idea.

IMHO I think you should consider purchasing a Barebones system. You can put the components of your current system into the Barebones system. Again, barebones systems include the case, power source, motherboard, processor, heatsink, and cooling fan. You (or a friend) installs the Hard Drive, floppy, CD-ROM and additional cards. If you are on a budget Duron systems are the best. Decent Barebones setups can be had fairly cheap at http://www.pricewatch.com/menus/m235.htm.
 
jwenting
Posts: 9973
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2001 10:12 pm

RE: Whose Got A GeForce 2 Ti Card?

Thu Jun 13, 2002 2:39 pm

Update. My GF2Ti died on me. I think it's overheating (standard cooling that came with it, no overclocking, no dense packing in the computer).
Hope to get a GF4Ti4200 next month to replace it...
I wish I were flying
 
portcolumbus
Posts: 1570
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2000 7:10 am

RE: Whose Got A GeForce 2 Ti Card?

Thu Jun 13, 2002 10:12 pm

Any AMD chip is fine if you're on a budget. You can get a 1.4Ghz athlon chip for under $100.
 
9V-SVE
Posts: 1953
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2001 7:51 pm

RE: Whose Got A GeForce 2 Ti Card?

Thu Jun 13, 2002 11:03 pm

Technology evolves quick! I was at a Computer Store because my family wanted a new PC to build ourselves. I asked for a 1.2 GHz AMD/Pentium CPU, but the guy said that was too old! He then asked if we wanted 1.7.

This is going to be my new system:

Pentium IV 1.7 GHz
512mb DDR RAM (Get DDR - its faster than SD)
ATI Radeon 64mb Video Card
40 Gig SeaGate Hard Drive
17" Moniter
Longitech Mouse
Windows XP Home

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests