Posts: 1660
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 1999 9:45 am


Wed Jul 17, 2002 3:56 am

Does anyone run this tool. how hard is it to set up. I know you can get the prog. off the net for free, and a scanner is not that expensive. I was thinking of getting it, but I dont want anything to elaborate.
727, L1011, MD80, A300, 777-200, 737-300, 737-700, 747-400, 757-200, 737-800, A320. E190, E135, 767-200, CRJ9
Posts: 675
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2002 2:37 am

RE: Acars

Thu Jul 18, 2002 4:32 am

I have used WACARS. The program is free it self. You do need a scanner thoug. What you also need to buy is a ittle cable between your soundblaster and the scanner. (earphone output).
It is really good fun. But you have to have patience. It can take a while before you receive any good messages.
Hope this helps.

"You should have gone to specsavers"
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2000 4:56 am

RE: Acars

Fri Jul 19, 2002 6:38 am

Also keep in mind that you will likely need a decent antenna. Usually a regular "whip antenna" won't do the trick, at least from my experience. It also depends on your location, etc., as well as your computer. It took me a very long time to get the settings correct and everything, but you may have better luck. There are plenty resources on the web about ACARS which will answer many questions. I personally use either WACARS or KRACARS which are both decent programs.

But in the end it can be fun looking at the results of the planes that flew overhead and some of the remarks noted in the messages.

Posts: 6944
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2001 5:29 am

RE: Acars

Sat Jul 20, 2002 2:25 am

you must get a TON of AF flights coming up!Where abouts did you get the cable to go from the scanner to the soundblaster?Also,where abouts on the computer is the soundblaster(or am i being thick?)
Posts: 675
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2002 2:37 am

RE: Acars

Sat Jul 20, 2002 2:55 am

To be honest, I had a lot of KLM flights because I live in Holland (ok not at the moment). I had just a normal antenna, the only thing is that you need to keep it as far from electrical stuuf because that interfears with it a lot. You need to buy a cable with to jack plugs on it (that is how it is called in dutchland). basicly two plugs like on an earphone for your discman. On of those either side. Sound blaster is easy to reconize (i think). You also plug your joystick for FS in your soundblaster.
Hope this will help

"You should have gone to specsavers"
Posts: 634
Joined: Sun May 20, 2001 3:21 pm

RE: Acars

Sat Jul 27, 2002 2:57 am

Those plugs are called 3.5mm jacks, 1/8th inch, or headphone jacks. Radio shack sells the exact cable you need as a "3.5mm Male to Male Patch Cable"
Someday, we'll look back at this, laugh nervously, and then change the subject.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests