gmonney
Posts: 2076
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2001 2:59 pm

I Need Help With FS2002 And My Computer

Sat Nov 09, 2002 6:45 am

Hey guys i need your help.....

I have a newer (and hence newer computer) its a P4 1.3GHz 640MB of Ram....(yes 640) i had it upgraded not to long ago, stupid HP put 4 64MB of Ram chips in, i replaced 2 with 2 256MB of ram chips, so it totals 640.... i also have a 128MB G-Force graphics card......so thats my system and here is my problem.

When i got it back from being installed (graphics card and Ram)......FS2002 was already installed when they upgraded, it was fine worked perfectly.....I flew lots and no problems....that was after my friend set it up....he sold me the software, yoke and pedals, all are USB. Then not too long ago was think i did a scan disk and "wammo" there are two problems now.....I can't burn CD's and my frame rate sucks....my flights are jumpy.....i can't stand it. I also have world airports installed.

Also has anyone experienced the pannel goes blurry.....like when i am flying the pannel goes blurry, i can togel between high quality gagues and low and it seems to work......for a while, or atleast untill i check like a map and then it goes blurry....the view out the window is fine....it started to happen when the graphics card got installed....

My buddy said to format the Hard Drive.....what do you guys think??

Your help is appreciated....i have guys bugging me to fly with them online....i think as a part of Avsim or something like that....

Grant
Drive it like you stole it!
 
Trent_800
Posts: 136
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2002 11:29 pm

RE: I Need Help With FS2002 And My Computer

Sun Nov 10, 2002 2:27 am

Formatting always helps, i do it once every few months. As long as you Have a few hours spare to put all your software back on afterwards and are able to back up your important files then i suggest you format. Which Operating system are you using? Im using XP Pro and when i installed it i dont have to install any drivers, it does it all for me but i allways put my own graphics card drivers on as the default windows ones are a bit old (Geforce3 64mb DDR) so
try and get the latest drivers downloaded. If you defrag windows that might help with the Frame rates but my best tip would be to not run things aswell as FS2002. When i CTRL-ALT-DEL on XP pro it tells me whats running and how much memory and processer each application is using so i can judge what is hogging the computer apart from FS2002.
But first of all try using Windowed and fullscreen mode. in the oldedn days of Voodoo cards they could only hardware accelerate graphics in fulscreen mode but nowadays it doesnt matter which one you use. Without knowing your level of knowladge on computers and what Operating system you are running i cant give you any focused advice so im just generalising. Let us know how you get one.
Trent
 
ba777-236
Posts: 645
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2001 11:35 pm

RE: I Need Help With FS2002 And My Computer

Tue Nov 12, 2002 2:49 am

I'm not sure about the CD recorder, but perhaps you don't have the newest driver for your video card?

You should be able to download the latest driver here: http://www.nvidia.com/content/drivers/drivers.asp


Hope this helps a little,
Faheem
I like British Airways! I'm not sure why, but I do! ;-)
 
brons2
Posts: 2462
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2001 1:02 pm

RE: I Need Help With FS2002 And My Computer

Fri Nov 22, 2002 1:02 am

What OS are you using?
Firings, if well done, are good for employee morale.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests