dc-10 levo
Posts: 3376
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2001 3:22 am

What Graphics Card Do You Have?

Mon Nov 18, 2002 5:01 am

 Smile Hi everyone!  Smile

I just saw the screenshots from Hoons90:

http://www.airliners.net/discussions/aviation_hobby/read.main/34638/

Those screenshots are perfect!

So what graphics card do you have, maybe you could show us one of your screenshots to let us see how good the card is.

Well, I'll start: I have a GeForce 2 MX 400, its pretty good, but not as good as Hoons90's!

What card have you got?

Thanks for all your replies!

DC-10
 
wietse
Posts: 3630
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2001 12:49 am

RE: What Graphics Card Do You Have?

Mon Nov 18, 2002 5:26 am



GeForce 2GTS 32mb DDR
Wietse de Graaf
 
cramos
Posts: 547
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2000 10:50 am

RE: What Graphics Card Do You Have?

Mon Nov 18, 2002 6:49 am

I've got a GeForce Ti 200 64MB

I've been wondering how to best use my card in FS. Any suggestions as to what is "processor dependent" and what is "video card dependent"? I have a 400MHz PII with the card named above. A lot of people tell me that my processor is the "bottleneck".

What things could I "slide to the right" or activate that my card would take advantage of without taxing my system?

Sorry if I got off topic, but while we're on the subject of video cards.

Regards
 
jmacias34
Posts: 363
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2000 10:50 am

RE: What Graphics Card Do You Have?

Mon Nov 18, 2002 12:29 pm

GeForce 2 GTS Pro 64MB

At least I'm not alone...
 
Accidentally
Posts: 612
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2000 7:33 am

RE: What Graphics Card Do You Have?

Mon Nov 18, 2002 3:42 pm

GeForce 3 (64mb) overclocked 1mhz above Ti500 speeds.
Indianapolis, IN
 
User avatar
Luxair
Posts: 836
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2001 12:17 am

RE: What Graphics Card Do You Have?

Mon Nov 18, 2002 4:13 pm

Mine is a GeForce 3 also 64mb overclocked with GeForce Tweaker!!! I have a AMD Athlon XP1600 (1425 mhz) with 512mb ram (motherboard is Asus AV7) All this components together are very fine for flying the beasts
in FS2k2 with all sliders set to max!!! Everything turns smooth behalf of the Paris area don't know why maybe somebody has any idea? In that area the FPS drops drastically!!! But for the rest I got almost perfect images!
Sorry no screenshot (I'm at work)!

Accidentally, how do you overclocked your GeForce?

Greez

Marc
 
ryanb741
Posts: 5058
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2002 6:36 pm

RE: What Graphics Card Do You Have?

Mon Nov 18, 2002 10:55 pm

ATI Radeon 9000 Pro, 128megs DDR RAM.

I have noticed that graphics cards make little difference to FS2002 performance - in my experience a RAM increase has the biggest performance improvement
I used to think the brain is the most fascinating part of my body. But, hey, who is telling me that?
 
GE
Posts: 312
Joined: Sun Mar 26, 2000 5:01 pm

RE: What Graphics Card Do You Have?

Tue Nov 19, 2002 1:28 am

Hi Cramos:
FS2K2 is generally very CPU-dependent, but you can take advantage of your card in FS by increasing your display resolution. This works for almost all games and tends to make games less 'processor-reliant' and uses more of your video card.
Hope this helps!

Regards,
Russell J.
 
dragon-wings
Posts: 3896
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2001 4:55 am

RE: What Graphics Card Do You Have?

Tue Nov 19, 2002 5:17 am

I have a GeForce 2 MX 400
Don't give up don't ever give up - Jim Valvano
 
northstardc4m
Posts: 2724
Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2000 11:23 am

RE: What Graphics Card Do You Have?

Tue Nov 19, 2002 7:30 am

GeForce 3 Ti200 overclocked (+100mem/150gpu)
System specs: AMD Athlon XP1800+ o/c to 1610mhz (1900+ level) (140mhz/+0.100VCore/multiplier unchanged) with GlobalWin CAK-II38 heatsink/fan.
425w Sparkle Industries PSU
Soyo Dragon Plus Motherboard, VIA KT266A chipset
Sound Blaster Audigy Gamer audio
and various other stuff...

FPS max seen in Fs2002: 122 (no i didnt leave out a decimal)
now locked to 30, but see as low as 12 in high AI traffic areas (im on staff at Project AI, that should give you a hint as to the amount of AI traffic ive got)

Im also running lots of 3rd party scenery, POSky/AFG/FFG/HJG/etc aircraft and lots of other stuff.
Those who would give up Essential Liberty to purchase a little Temporary Safety, deserve neither Liberty nor Safety.
 
sharpnfuzzy
Posts: 557
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2001 2:24 pm

RE: What Graphics Card Do You Have?

Tue Nov 19, 2002 1:45 pm

Well my comp crashed recently so I lost lots of good screenshots, but i found some on some webservers that I uploaded to...


These are really old and were made with my old Voodoo 5 5500:









Notice that the ac textures have no reflections, Voodoo 5 didn't support it...


These were taken with my GeForce2 Ti 64DDR:







 
Accidentally
Posts: 612
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2000 7:33 am

RE: What Graphics Card Do You Have?

Tue Nov 19, 2002 5:45 pm

Luxair:
I use the coolbits tweak which is actually included with the detonators, you just need to turn it on.

Indianapolis, IN
 
hoons90
Posts: 3116
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2001 10:15 pm

RE: What Graphics Card Do You Have?

Tue Nov 19, 2002 8:33 pm

GeForce 4 ti4200
run on a Pentium 4 1.7GHz, 512mb DDR ram
The biggest mistake made by most human beings: Listening to only half, understanding just a quarter and telling double.
 
mikkel777
Posts: 361
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2002 1:15 am

RE: What Graphics Card Do You Have?

Wed Nov 20, 2002 5:35 pm

I have the ATI radeon-9700 pro, and Athlon 1,4GHz. I guess changing it for a XP-2800 soon will help keep the FPS up at crowded airports.. Things are going to slow right now
 
AA 777
Posts: 706
Joined: Thu May 30, 2002 9:34 am

RE: What Graphics Card Do You Have?

Sat Nov 23, 2002 1:07 pm

nVIDIA GeForce4 440 GO

AA 777
Matt
CRJ-700 FO
 
TropicalSQ744
Posts: 237
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2001 3:17 am

RE: What Graphics Card Do You Have?

Thu Nov 28, 2002 1:47 pm

I've got a GeForce 2 MX400 with 64mb...  Sad

TropicalSQ744
SIN/WSSS
DMK(TG773/772) PEN(SQ772/MH734) PER(QF333) PEK(CA763) HKT(MI320) HKG(SQ744) ICN (OZ333), CJU,TAE(OZ734) TPE(3K320) KUL(T
 
dc-10 levo
Posts: 3376
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2001 3:22 am

RE: What Graphics Card Do You Have?

Fri Nov 29, 2002 2:40 am

TropicalSQ744, why do you have the sad face?
Its a great graphics card!

DC-10
 
mb339
Posts: 235
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2001 8:37 pm

RE: What Graphics Card Do You Have?

Tue Dec 03, 2002 4:48 am

Creative 3D Blaster GeForce 4 4600.

Simply great!
 
cramos
Posts: 547
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2000 10:50 am

RE: What Graphics Card Do You Have?

Tue Dec 03, 2002 8:53 am

GE,

Thanks for the tip there. I've noticed no performance degradation by increasing my resolution. I'm enjoying a good frame rate with good settings, and a high resolution as well.

Regards
 
GE
Posts: 312
Joined: Sun Mar 26, 2000 5:01 pm

RE: What Graphics Card Do You Have?

Tue Dec 03, 2002 12:50 pm

Sure no problem!! May I know what resolution you are using now? Thanks.


Regards,
Russell J.
 
cramos
Posts: 547
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2000 10:50 am

RE: What Graphics Card Do You Have?

Tue Dec 03, 2002 5:44 pm

Yes, I'm using 1600X1200 on 16-bit color mode.

Regards
 
Flightlevel
Posts: 68
Joined: Fri Jul 11, 2003 6:54 am

RE: What Graphics Card Do You Have?

Sat Dec 14, 2002 5:33 am

Geforce Ti4200 on a P4 1.7Ghz with 512MB of SDRAM. SDRAM is quite slow, really is a bottleneck. Get decent fps and good IQ though. BTW Sharpandfuzzy those shots look great for a Voodoo 5!
 
flyvs007
Posts: 179
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2001 5:14 pm

RE: What Graphics Card Do You Have?

Wed Dec 18, 2002 7:17 pm

GeForce 4 ti4600. Gorgeous.
 
AC320
Posts: 2809
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2001 11:29 pm

RE: What Graphics Card Do You Have?

Thu Dec 19, 2002 2:51 am

GeForce 4 MX440G at 128mb. Came with the computer, and I'm really not satisfied, should have paid extra for a ti series card.
fuddle duddle
 
LOT767-300ER
Posts: 8526
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2001 12:57 pm

RE: What Graphics Card Do You Have?

Thu Dec 19, 2002 9:46 am

Why do you guys have such crappy vid cards? MUAHAHAHAHHA!

"GeForce 4 ti4600. Gorgeous"

Was gonna get one but the 9700 Pro is just plain better  Smile No hard feelings

Dell 4550
ATI Radeon 9700 Pro 128mb
Running a P4 2.4ghz
120GB HD
512MB RAM

 
cba
Posts: 4228
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2000 2:02 pm

RE: What Graphics Card Do You Have?

Thu Dec 19, 2002 2:28 pm

GeForce 2 MX400 64MB
P4 1.8ghz, 256mb RAM

Get good framerates except when around other dense scenery/AI traffic.
 
dc-10 levo
Posts: 3376
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2001 3:22 am

RE: What Graphics Card Do You Have?

Sat Dec 28, 2002 1:36 am

Well, now I got my new computer, I have these specs:

2.4 GHz
ATI Radeon 9000
256Mb DDR SDRAM

I'm not able to take any pictures on FS yet because when I installed fs on my computer and tried to put the joystick in the back - there is no socket for it!
It is a normal serial port on the joystick - and there is no socket for it, so I have to get a new joystick aswell!

DC-10
 
TWAL1011
Posts: 2317
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2003 12:39 pm

RE: What Graphics Card Do You Have?

Sat Dec 28, 2002 6:27 am

Hold on there, DC-10 Levo!

What kind of joystick do you have?
 
dc-10 levo
Posts: 3376
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2001 3:22 am

RE: What Graphics Card Do You Have?

Sat Dec 28, 2002 11:21 pm

I have a Quickshot GenX500.
It takes a serial port, but there is no serial port in the back of my computer.  Sad

DC-10
 
dc-10 levo
Posts: 3376
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2001 3:22 am

RE: What Graphics Card Do You Have?

Tue Dec 31, 2002 11:09 pm

Is there anyway I could buy a converter to change the serial port from my joystick into a USB connection?

Thanks for your help!

DC-10
 
Guest

RE: What Graphics Card Do You Have?

Tue Dec 31, 2002 11:57 pm

Hello,

Would a GeForce 4 make much of a difference to FS2002 on a Pentium 2, Windows 98 etc. Or is it more RAM that makes the difference on a older machine.

Regards
EAC_732
 
mika
Posts: 2810
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2000 7:53 am

RE: What Graphics Card Do You Have?

Thu Jan 02, 2003 8:55 am

Running fs2002 on a P4 1.7Ghz with 512mb RDRAM and a GF 3 Ti200 running @ 455/200Mhz. I'll wait and see how well fs2004 will run on my machine before i upgrade either my graphics card or mobo & CPU.
 
EGGD
Posts: 11880
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2001 12:01 am

RE: What Graphics Card Do You Have?

Thu Jan 02, 2003 10:09 am

Geforce 2 MX 400.

I need to upgrade my CPU one of these days!

Regards

Dan
 
subzero
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2002 7:22 am

RE: What Graphics Card Do You Have?

Fri Jan 03, 2003 6:44 pm

NVidia GeForce 4 Ti4200 128 MB Ram
Pentium 4 2.4 Ghz
512 MB Ram

get about 20-28 fps into O'Hare from Meigs with all bars maxed, including Aircraft settings and hardware setting...
 
venuscat2
Posts: 461
Joined: Fri Sep 08, 2000 1:44 am

RE: What Graphics Card Do You Have?

Sat Jan 04, 2003 1:04 am

I don't have a 3D graphics card right now. Would you reccommend getting one? I use FS2002 on an Celeron 1.3 ghz HP (Hewlett Packard, not America West  Smile/happy/getting dizzy )
 
mirrodie
Posts: 6789
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2000 3:33 am

RE: What Graphics Card Do You Have?

Thu Jan 09, 2003 4:29 am

Like DC-10 Levo, I am about buy my computer. It is a Dell 8250 with 1GB RDRAM and 120GB hard drive and Pentium® 4 Processor at 2.40GHz w/533MHz front side bus/ 512K L2 Cache .

Note: the only game I plan on having is Flight sim. Otherwise, I hope to run my life as well as edit home movies on it. Are these cards below all pretty much the same considering the info I have above?

So which is better?
-64MB DDR NVIDIA­ GeForce4 MX™ Graphics Card with TV-Out
-New 128mb DDR ATI Radeon™ 9700 TX Graphics Card with TV-Out and DVI [add $140]
-New 128mb DDR ATI Radeon™ 9700 Pro Graphics Card with TV-Out and DVI [add $180]

Also, are most of these soundcards pretty close contenders?

-SoundBlaster Live! 5.1 Digital Sound Card
-Turtle Beach Santa Cruz DSP Sound Card
-Sound Blaster­ Audigy 2™ sound card with DVD Audio
Forum moderator 2001-2010; He's a pedantic, pontificating, pretentious bastard, a belligerent old fart, a worthless st
 
mirrodie
Posts: 6789
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2000 3:33 am

RE: What Graphics Card Do You Have?

Thu Jan 09, 2003 7:40 am

Never mind, I chose these two. I should be happy.


-64MB DDR NVIDIA­ GeForce4 MX™ Graphics Card with TV-Out

-Sound Blaster­ Audigy 2™ sound card with DVD Audio
Forum moderator 2001-2010; He's a pedantic, pontificating, pretentious bastard, a belligerent old fart, a worthless st
 
n521na
Posts: 457
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2001 6:51 am

RE: What Graphics Card Do You Have?

Thu Jan 09, 2003 2:28 pm

"Never mind, I chose these two. I should be happy.


-64MB DDR NVIDIA­ GeForce4 MX™ Graphics Card with TV-Out "


Don't plan on getting reflections or the moving water with that card.
 
dragon-wings
Posts: 3896
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2001 4:55 am

RE: What Graphics Card Do You Have?

Thu Jan 09, 2003 4:08 pm

What is the BEST graphic card you can get for FS2002?
Don't give up don't ever give up - Jim Valvano
 
GE
Posts: 312
Joined: Sun Mar 26, 2000 5:01 pm

RE: What Graphics Card Do You Have?

Thu Jan 09, 2003 5:47 pm

Dragon-wings:
I would think the Nvidia Ti4600 with 128MB of RAM. The Radeon 9700 PRO is better, but I heard that Nvidia cards are the best for FS. Anyway, it's best to wait until the new GeForce FX (Geforce5) series comes out. That will blast away even the Radeon 9700 in terms of performance and quality graphics. Big grin

Regards,
Russell J.
 
mirrodie
Posts: 6789
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2000 3:33 am

RE: What Graphics Card Do You Have?

Fri Jan 10, 2003 1:37 am


Don't plan on getting reflections or the moving water with that card

I am sold. I am on the line with Dell right now changing the card to the

128mb DDR ATI Radeon™ 9700 TX Graphics Card with TV-Out and DVI.
Forum moderator 2001-2010; He's a pedantic, pontificating, pretentious bastard, a belligerent old fart, a worthless st
 
n521na
Posts: 457
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2001 6:51 am

RE: What Graphics Card Do You Have?

Fri Jan 10, 2003 9:14 am

Mirrodie,

Good to hear. My brother has a Dell 8250 2.4 gig with the gf4mx and it sucks ass with FS. No reflections no nothin and the frames were not what I expected.
 
dragon-wings
Posts: 3896
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2001 4:55 am

RE: What Graphics Card Do You Have?

Fri Jan 10, 2003 9:30 am

I going to stick with the graphic card I have (GeForce 2 MX 400) Then when FS2004 comes out I will see how my graphic card handles the new game, and then maybe upgrade to the new GeForce FX card.
Don't give up don't ever give up - Jim Valvano

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests