Spark
Topic Author
Posts: 421
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2002 11:50 am

Afcad Help?

Sun May 25, 2003 11:44 am

I want to learn how to set up multiple runways when working AFCAD at various airports.
It seems that Closing the longest runway means that only landings are allowed. Is this correct?
Also, is it possible to allow an approach from only one direction on a runway?

The big reason that I'm confused is that I set up my JFK so that landings occur on 31L, and take offs are on either 31R/13L, or 22R/4L. However, the first time I tried this planes were landing on 31L and taking off on 13L. This doesn't seem to be possible in a real world situation.
BTW, the wind direction was 60.
 
N139J
Posts: 371
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 1999 12:24 pm

RE: Afcad Help?

Sun May 25, 2003 12:27 pm

From what I read above you need to open other rwys for landing. If the only one you have open is 31L, they have to land there regardless of winds and departing aircraft. If you open up 13L for landing, I would assume the problem will be gone.

-jason
N139j
 
dc-10 levo
Posts: 3376
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2001 3:22 am

RE: Afcad Help?

Sun May 25, 2003 5:32 pm

The runways you don't want planes taking off on must be set to closed.

For example, LHR:

Runway 09R for takeoff. (09L, 27L, 27R, 5, 23 closed.)

Runway 09L for landing. (09R, 27L, 27R, 5, 23 closed.)

DC-10

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests