cramos
Posts: 547
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2000 10:50 am

Has Anyone Been In A Full-motion Flight Simulator?

Wed Jun 25, 2003 4:23 am

Has anyone ever been on those pilot-for-a-day programs where they take you into a full-motion simulator? How are these programs? What was your experience? What aircraft did you fly and why? Was your experience a good one? Certainly, this will be different from an MSFS session.

Regards
 
doug_or
Posts: 3118
Joined: Sat Mar 18, 2000 9:55 am

RE: Has Anyone Been In A Full-motion Flight Simulator?

Wed Jun 25, 2003 6:18 am

yes/no. been in a pilot for life program at Purdue University which includes 56 hours in both a 721 and 722 sim. I certainly love it.
When in doubt, one B pump off
 
aa61hvy
Posts: 13021
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 1999 9:21 am

RE: Has Anyone Been In A Full-motion Flight Simulator?

Wed Jun 25, 2003 6:33 am

Well I was in an AA sim, it was their KC-135 (they use it to train Mid-East pilots) it was a pretty sweet deal. My friend ran into the then chief AA pilot at the hair cutter. He hooked us up with a tour. It was really cool.
Go big or go home
 
MidnightMike
Posts: 2810
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2003 10:07 am

RE: Has Anyone Been In A Full-motion Flight Simulator?

Wed Jun 25, 2003 12:39 pm


I work for a company that offers these pilot for a day programs, so I am a little spoiled! I have been in the
MD90EFD, MD11, 717, simulators, it is a very good program as you get a chance to see what goes on in front.

We offer 30 minute simulator rides for $99, send me an email
mpenguin1@yahoo.com
NO URLS in signature
 
flyingbronco05
Posts: 3484
Joined: Fri May 10, 2002 11:43 am

RE: Has Anyone Been In A Full-motion Flight Simulator?

Wed Jun 25, 2003 1:44 pm

Been in the 777 FS for AA.

Been in a 737NG FS here at WMU.

fb05
Never Trust Your Fuel Gauge
 
Mr.BA
Posts: 3310
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2000 12:26 pm

RE: Has Anyone Been In A Full-motion Flight Simulator?

Wed Jun 25, 2003 2:26 pm

Been in the B744, B777, A340 and A310 simulator but that was a long time ago. I spent most of my time in the B744 and B777 simulator though, those were better to fly  Smile
Boeing747 万岁!
 
deltadude8
Posts: 553
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2000 12:09 am

RE: Has Anyone Been In A Full-motion Flight Simulator?

Wed Jun 25, 2003 3:39 pm

Back before 9/11 I went on a tour with my sister (a DL F/A) and we were wandering about by ourselves and bumped into a DL employee who worked in the simulator section. It was a Sunday and he invited us to come have a look. We boarded the L1011 simulator and he closed the door and asked me if I would like to take it off. I didn't wait to respond and said how much I would love to.

He put us on the ground at ATL and I took the L1011 off with my F/A sister as my copilot...it was kinda easy. Then we climbed and he stopped the simulator. I started to get up and he said for me to hold on.

He then set me up a few miles off of ATL's runway, and told me to try and land it. About half way in a warning went off going "PULL UP.rrrr rrrr PULL UP" I panicked and threw the throttles all the way up and pulled back on the yoke as hard as I could. We stalled and the simulator reset. He said he would give me one more chance. This time I flew it perfect, putting down the flaps correctly and the gear correctly...

As I approached the runway I flared and set it down very lightly. Auto reversers kicked in and spoilers flew up...I landed it and taxied off the runway. He told me that he was amazed, that he had never in his life seen someone land an L1011 who is inexperienced. He told me that if it would have been possible he would have given me my license right there. He said it was a PERFECT LANDING...It was an amazing experience as the L1011 is my fav. a/c.

IF ANYONE EVER GETS A CHANCE GO FLY ONE...I WOULD DO IT AGAIN IN A HEARTBEAT.
 
cramos
Posts: 547
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2000 10:50 am

RE: Has Anyone Been In A Full-motion Flight Simulator?

Wed Jun 25, 2003 10:26 pm

I'm trying to decide between the 737 and the 747. Any suggestions? Is the heavier one that much more difficult? I'd like the experience to be a rewarding one.

Regards
 
portcolumbus
Posts: 1570
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2000 7:10 am

RE: Has Anyone Been In A Full-motion Flight Simulator?

Thu Jun 26, 2003 12:16 am

I was in a Citation X sim at Flight Safety Intl here at CMH. Got to do a takeoff, and that's about it. Pretty awesome piece of equipment.
 
Mr.BA
Posts: 3310
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2000 12:26 pm

RE: Has Anyone Been In A Full-motion Flight Simulator?

Thu Jun 26, 2003 12:17 am

I think it'll still be a very wonderful experience no matter if its the B737 or B747 you choose to fly. But I'd prefer the B747, she's a beauty to fly, that weight, that size, that grace... everything...  Smile
Boeing747 万岁!
 
Guest

RE: Has Anyone Been In A Full-motion Flight Simulator?

Thu Jun 26, 2003 3:57 am

In connection with one of my college classes (737-200 Systems), I was granted a free hour in a full motion 737-200 simulator at the Salt Lake City FlightSafety office. Took off, manuevered, shot an ILS approach. I'd always wondered if I could land an airliner. Now I know. Since I was doing well, we decided to try some engine-out stuff. Had an engine-out approach and a go around, and an engine-out landing in manual reversion (hydraulic failure). The most difficult by far was the single engine go-around.

Also got to do some FO duties. Since we had studied 737-200 systems, I knew how to cope with some of the emergencies. I performed a manual landing gear extension, extended the flaps using the Alternate Flaps switch, and shut down an engine due to an engine fire.

And they pay people to do this.

-Normal
 
MidnightMike
Posts: 2810
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2003 10:07 am

RE: Has Anyone Been In A Full-motion Flight Simulator?

Thu Jun 26, 2003 4:18 am


Cool! What college was this for? I did not know that some colleges offer a
737-200 systems course!

Mike
NO URLS in signature
 
miller22
Posts: 594
Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2000 4:48 am

RE: Has Anyone Been In A Full-motion Flight Simula

Thu Jun 26, 2003 5:04 am

727-100/200 level B and C, B400A, CRJ-200 and CRJ-700 Level D's. Makes flying the PC a lot less exciting, but nothing is as exciting as dodging cumulus in the real thing.
 
Guest

RE: Has Anyone Been In A Full-motion Flight Simulator?

Sat Jun 28, 2003 4:34 am

Just a little state school in the SLC area. They've got a four year aviation program. I never loved school until I started that program.

-Normal
 
FSDownloads
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2001 5:05 am

RE: Has Anyone Been In A Full-motion Flight Simulator?

Sat Jun 28, 2003 8:43 am

I was lucky enough to spend 2hrs in a British Airways B777 simulator. It was fantastic. The way they can simulate the G-force as you roll down the runway on takeoff is amazing!
 
cramos
Posts: 547
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2000 10:50 am

RE: Has Anyone Been In A Full-motion Flight Simulator?

Sun Jun 29, 2003 12:07 am

It seems that everyone here has some experience with the heavies and other smaller aircraft.

The reason why I'm considering the 737 is because it could be overwhelming with the 747. I want the experience to be rewarding and I want to have some fun while I'm at it. From what it seems, everyone has had fun regardless of aircraft type.

Regards
 
SWA TPA
Posts: 1454
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2001 6:10 am

RE: Has Anyone Been In A Full-motion Flight Simulator?

Tue Jul 01, 2003 1:12 am

I lucked out about 12 years ago and got to spend a few hours in an American Airlines 727 sim in Dallas. This was when I was in the Air Force and we had a reservist who was working with us at the time, who also was a chief sim pilot (?) with AA full time. His name was Maj. Bickle (I think Henry was his first name). Anyways, he quickly discovered my love of aviation and invited me over one day when they were training a flight engineer. I got to be the F/O. Wow! That was the best thing ever! We had an engine on fire, one landing gear stuck in the up postition; somebody even called the "tower" and told them to tell the F/O (me) they hoped I got a real "bang" out of this flight. Shortly after that an explosion occured in the first class cabin causing decompression and structural damage to our aircraft!
I will never ever forget that once in a lifetime experience I got to have  Smile
I believe I can fly.....
 
SESGDL
Posts: 2610
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2001 6:25 am

RE: Has Anyone Been In A Full-motion Flight Simulator?

Tue Jul 01, 2003 1:31 am

I've flown in a NW A320 simulator at the airline's Eagan, MN base near where I live. It was fantastic!!!!!

Jeremy
 
Guest

RE: Has Anyone Been In A Full-motion Flight Simulator?

Tue Jul 01, 2003 7:57 am

I've done a few sims... KC-135, Saab 340, B737-300 EFIS, B1900D. The most time I have is in the B737-300 sim... I got my high altitude operations endorsement in that one as well.
 
trnswrld
Posts: 1064
Joined: Sat May 22, 1999 2:19 am

RE: Has Anyone Been In A Full-motion Flight Simulator?

Wed Jul 02, 2003 6:27 am

Years back I played around in a MD-80 simulator at the TWA training center in STL. To this day it was probably one of the greatest experiences of my life. Even more so than flying the real general aviation aircraft that I fly.
 
Guest

RE: Has Anyone Been In A Full-motion Flight Simulator?

Wed Jul 02, 2003 6:27 am

I got to fly the C-130 sim at Little Rock AFB, Arkansas in 1991 and the C-17A
simualtor at Charleston AFB, SC in 2002. Applying the brakes in the C-17A was quite difficult, the plane would not slow down upon landing!!
 
LHR340
Posts: 819
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 1:18 am

RE: Has Anyone Been In A Full-motion Flight Simulator?

Wed Jul 02, 2003 7:01 am

Can anyone tell me where you found out how you can go in these simulators, because I know sites, but they're really expensive! any cheaper ones out there?

Cheers in advance...

LHR340
A340 LoVeR! EC-GQK - LHR The Bussiest International Airport & 3rd Bussiest In The World!
 
matt777
Posts: 476
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2001 8:55 am

RE: Has Anyone Been In A Full-motion Flight Simulator?

Wed Jul 02, 2003 10:03 am

My brother works at Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University.
Ive been on the Gulfstreem 1900 and the 733 Simulators in DAB.
Regards from Argentina,
Matt  Laugh out loud
 
av8rphx
Posts: 683
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2003 8:10 am

RE: Has Anyone Been In A Full-motion Flight Simulator?

Sat Jul 05, 2003 6:16 pm

"Flown" in a DC10 and 727 sim at Northwest's (NATCO)training facility in Eagan,MN.
 
UN_B732
Posts: 3529
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2001 12:57 am

RE: Has Anyone Been In A Full-motion Flight Simulator?

Mon Jul 07, 2003 1:41 am

I got to an An-24 of Lviv Airlines but it broke down.
-UN
What now?
 
FlySwiss
Posts: 406
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2003 8:45 pm

RE: Has Anyone Been In A Full-motion Flight Simulator?

Thu Jul 10, 2003 8:46 pm

"Flown" in a MD11 SR, be careful by landings, if you crash it takes ages for reload the programe.
Simle at the world and the world smiles back :)
 
Captain.MD-11
Posts: 657
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2001 7:03 am

RE: Has Anyone Been In A Full-motion Flight Simulator?

Sat Jul 12, 2003 9:11 am

I will have to have a go in one next year for my MCC. It will most likely be a 737 classic series, as this is the aircraft that I have been studying towards flying, and will hopefully be most likely to fly in real life. Although a L-1011 ride sounds too tempting. Pitty I will never fly on one for real  Sad
Twins,twins, everywhere.... but where are the three holers?
 
aa61hvy
Posts: 13021
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 1999 9:21 am

RE: Has Anyone Been In A Full-motion Flight Simulator?

Sun Jul 13, 2003 10:51 am

FlySwiss-did you crash in it?
Go big or go home
 
jhooper
Posts: 5560
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2001 8:27 pm

RE: Has Anyone Been In A Full-motion Flight Simulator?

Sun Jul 13, 2003 3:11 pm

I've been in the AA Flight Academy sim (M80) and a couple of USAF C-5 sims.
Last year 1,944 New Yorkers saw something and said something.
 
Notar520AC
Posts: 1517
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2001 6:53 am

RE: Has Anyone Been In A Full-motion Flight Simulator?

Mon Jul 14, 2003 7:56 am

A320 full motion sim for about 4 hours- was so much fun getting an engine fire! All the alarms go off and the warning lights come on- AGP was cool too. I never immagined that plane would be so easy to fly (and yes, it was on the real life settings). Plane pretty much flies itself. Self trims for everything, etc.-- just follow the flight director after you program the computer!

_NOTAR520AC
BMW - The Ultimate Driving Machine
 
aa61hvy
Posts: 13021
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 1999 9:21 am

RE: Has Anyone Been In A Full-motion Flight Simulator?

Mon Jul 14, 2003 10:57 am

Yeah actually flying the plane is fairly easy, its just the bad stuff you are trained for!
Go big or go home
 
fspilot747
Posts: 3455
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 1999 2:58 am

RE: Has Anyone Been In A Full-motion Flight Simulator?

Mon Jul 14, 2003 4:49 pm

I just did the MD-90 sim at Alteon on Long Beach. It was amazing. The MD-90 is really stable. I swear I was thinking how much easier it was to land than the 172's. Once you have auto-throttle on it's a piece of cake.

I'm considering trying it again for a longer period of time. Maybe the MD-11 next? Maybe the 90 again, who knows.

If you have the opportunity and also some flight experience, go for it!

FSP
 
bmistaff
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 3:27 am

RE: Has Anyone Been In A Full-motion Flight Simulator?

Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:33 am

I went in a British Midland (as it was then) 737 simulator years ago to what piolts undergoing their 6 monthly crash situations test. It was very exciting even though the plane was meant to be crashing. It was so realistic I got felt a little air sick (the plane was moving around a lot since it was crashing). The most interesting scenario was when one engine went into reverse thrust just after take off, it started jolting in a circle. I'm please to say the pilots did great.
 
MidnightMike
Posts: 2810
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2003 10:07 am

RE: Has Anyone Been In A Full-motion Flight Simulator?

Tue Jul 15, 2003 8:46 am

FSPilot747

I am glad that you enjoyed yourself! The MD90 simulator that you flew is actually a special MD90 that is only operated by Saudi Arabian airlines, it is a more advanced MD90 than the one that Delta airlines fly.

Be more than happy to have you back, don't forget about the 717, now that is a ride!

Alteon Training in Long Beach, California offers rides in their full flight simulators for $99 for 30 minutes, the best ride that money can buy.

We have the following simulators: 717, MD11, MD90EFD, 737-200, MD82, MD88, I would suggest taking the 717, MD90EFD, or the MD11 for a ride.

My email address is:
mpenguin1@yahoo.com
or
mike.comuniello@alteontraining.com

Mike
NO URLS in signature
 
aa61hvy
Posts: 13021
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 1999 9:21 am

RE: Has Anyone Been In A Full-motion Flight Simulator?

Tue Jul 15, 2003 8:48 am

I'd rather fly a DC-10 type plane, where the plane doesn't fly it self (compared to a 777)
Go big or go home
 
MidnightMike
Posts: 2810
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2003 10:07 am

RE: Has Anyone Been In A Full-motion Flight Simulator?

Mon Jul 21, 2003 6:19 am


Was the DC10 simulator in color? We have a 737-200, MD82, MD88 simulator that doesn't fly itself ( no color)

Our 717, MD11, & MD90EFD simulator are a little more advanced but the visual is the best, simply amazing!!!!

mpengui1@yahoo.com
NO URLS in signature
 
mirrodie
Posts: 6789
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2000 3:33 am

RE: Has Anyone Been In A Full-motion Flight Simulator?

Mon Jul 21, 2003 12:46 pm

Thanks to Mike, I will soon be able to answer YES to this discussion.

But one question. Mike, I was only told that these were offered:

717, MD-90, and MD-11? Any changes?

mirrodie
Forum moderator 2001-2010; He's a pedantic, pontificating, pretentious bastard, a belligerent old fart, a worthless st
 
Woodreau
Posts: 1182
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2001 6:44 am

RE: Has Anyone Been In A Full-motion Flight Simulator?

Mon Jul 21, 2003 2:22 pm

Well it's OBE with MidnightMike's offer of $99 for 30 minutes in Long Beach...

But ...
ATOP, Inc is offering a 2-day 737 intro course for $435 at Continental's Flight training facility. It's not affillated with Continental, the company just uses Continental's facilities.

You get 10 hours ground training in 737 systems and 2 hours in a 737 sim - 1/2hr PF 1/2hr PNF and 1 hr observer, and you'll log 1 hour flight time, two instrument approaches and 2 landings. For an additional fee you can get a high altitude endorsement in your logbook.

Course prerequisites are 15 hours of flight time and a student pilot's license and a rudimentary understanding of how to shoot an ILS approach.

http://www.b737.com

I got a chance to fly the F-18 simulator at MCAS El Toro before the base closed. The visuals were a two-story 360 degree projection around the cockpit. The cockpit is suspended between the first and second story of the bldg but it's not a full motion cockpit. I was standing on the catwalk leading out to the cockpit, and the pilot in the cockpit banked. Although the catwalk didn't move, I watched in horror/fascination/awe as I saw the whole world "bank." My eyes were telling me I was cranked over into a turn, my ears were telling me I wasn't moving. The end result, I ended up falling over because I wasn't holding on to anything.

I didn't know anything about flying then, so just overcame any aerodynamic difficulties with just pure power. You could connect the bank of simulators together, so several pilots could dogfight each other or fly formation, do coordinated attack tactics, etc.

Later, I had the chance to fly the Navy's F-14 simulator at NAS Oceana. The simulator set up was very similar to the F-18 one, a two story 360 degree projection. By now I actually knew a little bit about flying, thought not much more than before, and had a chance to do a carrier landing, and managed to catch the one-wire on my first attempt in perfect weather. So that was pretty cool. I'd have to say I really like the auto-trim in the F-14. You put the nose where you want it, and the aircraft auto-trims it all out so that you stay there.

Can't wait to try an airliner sim though.

Cheers  Smile
Woodreau


[Edited 2003-07-21 07:24:43]
Bonus animus sit, ab experientia. Quod salvatum fuerit de malis usu venit judicium.
 
MidnightMike
Posts: 2810
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2003 10:07 am

RE: Has Anyone Been In A Full-motion Flight Simulator?

Wed Jul 23, 2003 12:27 am

Woodreau!

Ok, consider me officially, envious, the F14 simulator, that is my favorite jet!!!
How was the simulator? The airplane is a little old, was the simulator equally as old? Was the visual color or black&white?

Our simulator ride program is just that, a ride. $99 for a 30 ride at the controls of a 717 simulator or a MD11 simulator is the chance of a life time. Oh well!

Mirodie

It was nice speaking with you, look forward to seeing you in September!

mpenguin1@yahoo.com
NO URLS in signature
 
mirrodie
Posts: 6789
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2000 3:33 am

RE: Has Anyone Been In A Full-motion Flight Simulator?

Wed Jul 23, 2003 12:27 pm

Midnight, thanks ! You are a gentleman!

Turns out we've changed plans!

We'l fly into LAS on Tuesday and relax through Friday night,
....
then leave early
Saturday AM and drive out to be in LA area for the nights of Sat, Sun and Monday.

Still deciding a a car though  Smile/happy/getting dizzy A convertible in LA might not be so bad after the 4+ hour drive in the desert  Big thumbs up

Will defintely do BOTH sims! Two sessions baby!

Midnight Mike is the man!  Big thumbs up

A true Gent. Thanks again!



Forum moderator 2001-2010; He's a pedantic, pontificating, pretentious bastard, a belligerent old fart, a worthless st
 
Woodreau
Posts: 1182
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2001 6:44 am

RE: Has Anyone Been In A Full-motion Flight Simulator?

Thu Jul 24, 2003 3:55 pm

The F-14 simulator was well used, you could see the worn panels. The visuals were in color, but not FS98 or FS2002 quality. Things were blocky But you could make out types of aircraft and the runway environment. The carrier was recognizable as a carrier.

I noticed that there was a separate projector which projected the carrier flight deck onto the screen.

I did get into trouble and stalled the F-14 at one point, and got myself into a spin which took bit of effort to recover. I think I was up around 15,000ft or so when I spun the aircraft (I imagine the Top Gun flat spin scene here), I impacted the ground, and kept going down with the altimeter now showing negative numbers on the HUD. After following the prompts on which way to move the controls, I recovered at around negative 35,000ft or so. It took a while to get back to the surface.

Midnight Mike, I'll have to give you an e-mail to set up some time in some of your sims.

Cheers  Smile
Woodreau
Bonus animus sit, ab experientia. Quod salvatum fuerit de malis usu venit judicium.
 
MidnightMike
Posts: 2810
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2003 10:07 am

RE: Has Anyone Been In A Full-motion Flight Simulator?

Sat Jul 26, 2003 9:02 am


Woodreau

Whenevery you are ready, give me a call! When I was in the Navy I saw a F14 up close & sat in the cockpit, now that
was pretty cool!

mpenguin1@yahoo.com
NO URLS in signature
 
mirrodie
Posts: 6789
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2000 3:33 am

RE: Has Anyone Been In A Full-motion Flight Simulator?

Sat Aug 02, 2003 11:35 am

Midnight, I can't wait! Looking through Travel books right now!

Why don;t more museus buy older sims and put them to use for aviation fans?
Forum moderator 2001-2010; He's a pedantic, pontificating, pretentious bastard, a belligerent old fart, a worthless st
 
MidnightMike
Posts: 2810
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2003 10:07 am

RE: Has Anyone Been In A Full-motion Flight Simulator?

Sun Aug 03, 2003 2:51 pm


Mirrodie

Look forward to meeting you & getting you in the simulator! You said that you wanted to ride in the MD11 & the 717?

It is very expensive to not only buy the simulator, but it is equally as expensive to maintain/repair the simulators. Sometimes
it seems harder to keep the simulators going than the aircraft, the simulator is more of a big computer, while the aircraft has more mechanical parts.

If you reserve the MD11 & the 717, I will see about slipping you into the MD90EFD (keep this between us). The MD90EFD is going to be moved, so it would your last chance to take it for a spin.

Make sure to bring your passport, I will contact my buddies at Boeing to see if I can take you on a Boeing plant tour of the 717, maybe we can take some pictures and post on this site.
NO URLS in signature
 
Olympic A-340
Posts: 738
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2000 3:28 am

RE: Has Anyone Been In A Full-motion Flight Simulator?

Mon Aug 04, 2003 2:15 am

I actually just completed that ATOP course about 1-2 weeks ago. It was a blast. We were in the full motion 737-500 sim. Shot 2 ILS approaches into SFO, aborted takeoff (engine failure), and a touch and go. It's amazing how stable those planes are. ALl in all it was a fantastic program...and although my instructor laughed when he saw my 1.2 hrs of 737-500 time, I knew he was jealous  Big grin You learn a lot and gain a deeper appreciation to aircraft systems-thats for sure. Additionally I took the option of getting a high altitude endorsement (not because I fly pressurized aircraft), but you get to use an FTD (basically a simulator with no movement or windows) and you practice an emergency descent from 29,000 feet due to a rapid depressurization.

BTW, I did shoot an ILS approach breaking out of the clouds at 300 feet with winds 270@23...greased that baby onto the runway. I even thought I heard clapping from my fellow sim riders as I applied reverse thrust haha.
 
Guest

RE: Has Anyone Been In A Full-motion Flight Simulator?

Mon Aug 04, 2003 3:25 am

I actually just completed that ATOP course about 1-2 weeks ago.

How is "Uncle Wayne" doing? Still telling people about the Trixie button?
Did you stay at the Sleep Inn, probably the worst airport hotel at IAH?
 
Olympic A-340
Posts: 738
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2000 3:28 am

RE: Has Anyone Been In A Full-motion Flight Simulator?

Mon Aug 04, 2003 8:26 am

Trixie button still in use...and yes Sleep Inn...the only nice thing about it was that the planes would fly right over us  Smile/happy/getting dizzy
I'm telling you some of Wayne's phrases are going to stick with me whether I like them or not.

"Those needles on the EGT gauges are doing a 'John Travolta'"
 
undies737
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2003 11:21 pm

RE: Has Anyone Been In A Full-motion Flight Simulator?

Wed Aug 13, 2003 3:45 pm

Living on an airforce base, I have a simulator complex spitting distance away.

It has:
1 x B707
1 x C130J-30
1 x C130H
All the sims manufactured by CAE, FAA category 5, full motion.

I've flown all of them, most occasions in the C130J (cos I work on them, know an instructor, & familiar with the systems).

It's extremely frustrating to resort back to FS2002 on a PC after a session.

I went in few weeks back, to watch a training sortie for 1 of out co-pilots - emergency procedures, IFR revision.

The "co-ee" cancelled @ last minute so the Instructor & I had a play for an hour or 2, complements of the government. Big grin

Definitely a good reality check, especially doing assymetric power landings.

 
MidnightMike
Posts: 2810
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2003 10:07 am

RE: Has Anyone Been In A Full-motion Flight Simulator?

Thu Aug 14, 2003 1:28 am

Undies737

Like you, I am just lucky, when I worked for Nippon Cargo Airlines in New York, I got to play in the TWA 747 simulator that they had over there, low tech technology now, but at the time it was great!

I sat in the jumpseat for a couple of 767 & other 747 simulators when I visited the ANA training center in Japan, I believe the 747 simulator was a 400.

I work for a company that has: "2" 717 simulators, a MD11 simulator, MD90EFD simulator, MD88, MD82, 737 (took a ride in all of them). I get a kick out of walking through the MD80 Cabin trainer it is huge!

I am working on a website, yeah I know, who isn't, take a look it has some pictures of the simulators and airplanes.

http://www.webradium.com/aviationtrainingentertainment87901/index.htm

NO URLS in signature
 
undies737
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2003 11:21 pm

RE: Has Anyone Been In A Full-motion Flight Simulator?

Thu Aug 14, 2003 4:30 pm

MidnightMike

If only I lived in the US, I'd be there full noise.
There is no company which offers simrides here in Skippyland.

It all about "who you know" not "what you know".

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 6 guests