FrequentFlyKid
Topic Author
Posts: 1097
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2001 5:04 am

Autolands In FS2004

Thu Oct 02, 2003 3:36 am

There was recently some discussion on autolandings on this forum. It got me to wondering if autolands were capable on the flight sims; so, in short, are they?
 
AA7771stClass
Posts: 288
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 1999 9:26 am

RE: Autolands In FS2004

Thu Oct 02, 2003 3:41 am

FS2004 is fairly capable of autolanding itself except that it will continue the same descent rate as the glide slope so I've found that if I want to use the APP button of the A/P, I disengage it a few hundred feet off the runway or else it will slam you into the runway around 600-700 fpm. Just what I've found, others might think differently...
 
Guest

RE: Autolands In FS2004

Thu Oct 02, 2003 4:31 am

Actually, I'm thinking of banning myself from using the autopilot inside the FAF. Even meaner, yet even more beneficial, would be to ban myself from using the autopilot insided the IAF. Hmm...

So, I'm not the one to ask about autolands.

-Normal
 
clrd2go
Posts: 976
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2003 4:43 am

RE: Autolands In FS2004

Thu Oct 02, 2003 5:57 am


I don't think FS2004 in it's default is set up for autoland. I believe there
may be some add-on aircraft with that capability, however.

I usually disconnect the AP near the FAF as well.


Jim
What a long strange trip it's been
 
N139J
Posts: 371
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 1999 12:24 pm

RE: Autolands In FS2004

Thu Oct 02, 2003 10:43 am

You never learn HOW to fly unless you FLY...in short, dont use autoland. Fly the approach yourself. I disengage and turn to base/final on my own.

-Jason
N139j
 
FrequentFlyKid
Topic Author
Posts: 1097
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2001 5:04 am

RE: Autolands In FS2004

Thu Oct 02, 2003 11:37 am

Well Jason, I fully understand that, however that wasn't my question. I can hand fly an approach, but I just wanted to know if it's possible to autoland. Thanks anyway though....
 
Guest

RE: Autolands In FS2004

Thu Oct 02, 2003 11:45 am

I remember that the 737 in FS2000 would do an autoland. It'd flare, touchdown, and go into reverse thrust. Pretty cool, actually. Couldn't replicate that in FS2002 though, and haven't tried in FS2004.

-Normal
 
jwenting
Posts: 9973
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2001 10:12 pm

RE: Autolands In FS2004

Thu Oct 02, 2003 1:34 pm

It's possible quite well in FS2002 'speed. Haven't tried in FS2004 yet, prefer to land by hand (which doesn't always work too well, I'm a bit rusty).

reverse thrust isn't applied automatically in real aircraft, which is why it doesn't happen in FS2002  Smile
I wish I were flying

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests