Filip549
Topic Author
Posts: 53
Joined: Sun May 20, 2001 6:34 am

How To Add Repaints?

Wed Oct 29, 2003 1:22 am

Can someone please tell me how to install repaints for airplanes in fs 2002..
thx.
 
AmbiantAir
Posts: 110
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2003 1:27 am

RE: How To Add Repaints?

Wed Oct 29, 2003 2:26 am

First make a folder in the aircrafts folder (ie 767-400 Delta), and rename it "texture.x" with x being the next number in line of your textures folders. If you only have one texture folder than the next folder would be "texture.1", followed by "texture.2" etc etc.

Than you need to open up the "aircraft.cfg." I usually copy everything from [flightsim.0] down to "description" and paste it under the "description" with an extra line.

If that is the first new aircraft after [flightsim.0] then you need to rename it [flightsim.1]. Then add all the information you need into the new pasted area (ATC code, Airline, etc). Rename the Title to something obvious like "Boeing 757 Delta New Colors", and [b]be sure that your "texture" line reads "texture=x" where x is the folder number.[/b] In the above case "texture=1".

In the game when you select the original craft you repainted, under where the airlines are there should now be a drop down with your repaint listed.
 
Filip549
Topic Author
Posts: 53
Joined: Sun May 20, 2001 6:34 am

RE: How To Add Repaints?

Wed Oct 29, 2003 7:30 pm

Ok thx, now I wonder if I can manage to do that.
 
AmbiantAir
Posts: 110
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2003 1:27 am

RE: How To Add Repaints?

Wed Oct 29, 2003 11:48 pm

It's easier than my jumbled explanation sounds.

If you have any questions just ask.
 
Filip549
Topic Author
Posts: 53
Joined: Sun May 20, 2001 6:34 am

RE: How To Add Repaints?

Thu Oct 30, 2003 11:09 pm

Ok I understand how to do it now but when I select for example the Boeing 737-400 in the menu, and when I look at them they are all grey and some of them say for example SAS but they have the Lufthansa repaint,,most of them are just grey but some of them end up where they not supposed to be.
Please help me how to fix this.
 
AmbiantAir
Posts: 110
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2003 1:27 am

RE: How To Add Repaints?

Fri Oct 31, 2003 6:54 am

Might be a long post so get ready:

Now if you are using the default 737-400 here is the aircraft.cfg part that you would be messing with:

[fltsim.0]
title=Boeing 737-400
sim=Boeing737-400
model=
panel=
sound=
texture=
kb_checklists=Boeing737-400_check
kb_reference=Boeing737-400_ref
atc_id=N700MS
atc_airline=American Pacific
atc_flight_number=1123
ui_manufacturer=Boeing
ui_type=737-400
ui_variation=American Pacific Airways
description=blah blah

[fltsim.1]
title=Boeing 737-400 Paint1
sim=Boeing737-400
model=
panel=
sound=
texture=1
kb_checklists=Boeing737-400_check
kb_reference=Boeing737-400_ref
atc_id=N700MS
atc_airline=Landmark
atc_flight_number=1123
ui_manufacturer=Boeing
ui_type=737-400
ui_variation=Landmark Airlines
description=blah blah

[fltsim.2]
title=Boeing 737-400 Paint2
sim=Boeing737-400
model=
panel=
sound=
texture=2
kb_checklists=Boeing737-400_check
kb_reference=Boeing737-400_ref
atc_id=N700MS
atc_airline=Orbit
atc_flight_number=1123
ui_manufacturer=Boeing
ui_type=737-400
ui_variation=Orbit Airlines
description=blah blah

Now. If you wanted to add a Lufthansa texture to the default 737, you would make an extra entry after the last....like this:

[fltsim.2]
title=Boeing 737-400 Paint2
sim=Boeing737-400
model=
panel=
sound=
texture=2
kb_checklists=Boeing737-400_check
kb_reference=Boeing737-400_ref
atc_id=N700MS
atc_airline=Orbit
atc_flight_number=1123
ui_manufacturer=Boeing
ui_type=737-400
ui_variation=Orbit Airlines
description=blah blah

[fltsim.3]
title=Boeing 737-400 Paint2
sim=Boeing737-400
model=
panel=
sound=
texture=3
kb_checklists=Boeing737-400_check
kb_reference=Boeing737-400_ref
atc_id=Whatever you want
atc_airline=Lufthansa
atc_flight_number=Whatever you want
ui_manufacturer=Boeing
ui_type=737-400
ui_variation=Lufthansa
description=blah blah

The Lufthansa textures should be in a folder in the default 737-400 folder labeled texture.3. The Texture folder number will coincide with the "texture=" config. Usually it should coincide with the [flightsim.x] number too.

The "texture=" and the "ui_variation=" are very important. Without the right texture number, you will get the wrong textures or none at all. Without the ui_variation different, it won't show up in the drop down menu at all.

Also, be aware that if the sim= and sometimes the model= are different than for what the textures are for, the won't show up or they will be grey (no texture of any kind). I have run into this problem with Project AI craft. I download a 747 that might have "sim=pai744gev5" but the textures, or the aircraft.cfg that came with the textures will say "sim=pai744v4". Even after changing it to the correct version, the textures still won't show on the craft.

When downloading just texture sets, the description on the website should say whether its for the default 737, or FFXs 737 or what have you. Make sure you are trying to put them on the correct one.

I hope that helped some. If not message or email me. Should be in my profile. Or just post here again.
 
Filip549
Topic Author
Posts: 53
Joined: Sun May 20, 2001 6:34 am

RE: How To Add Repaints?

Fri Oct 31, 2003 7:27 am

Yes I made it,,thank you so much,,your the best.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests