FrequentFlyKid
Topic Author
Posts: 1097
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2001 5:04 am

FS Autothrottle Question

Wed Dec 17, 2003 5:59 pm

I believe it to be widely known and understood that autothrottle in Flight Simulator is bad. Is there a way to fix it? I almost feel that on my FS it gets worse everyday. Today I was inbound for an ILS (no wind) and I had my speed set at 135 KIAS and I was blazing down the glideslope at 150K KIAS with a +/- 6 KIAS. I don't get it...
 
NAV20
Posts: 8453
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2003 3:25 pm

RE: FS Autothrottle Question

Wed Dec 17, 2003 7:07 pm

Works all right for me, FFK. Did you have the flaps and gear down - and give it time to settle? What aeroplane were you flying?
"Once you have flown, you will walk the earth with your eyes turned skywards.." - Leonardo da Vinci
 
Guest

RE: FS Autothrottle Question

Wed Dec 17, 2003 9:12 pm

You know, to be honest, I use autothrottle with everything that will allow it on Flight Simulator. The reason for this is because I don't know how to fly jets, and I want to avoid getting myself into bad habits for when I do learn how to fly them.

-Normal

P.S. My autothrottle works fine.
 
Pe@rson
Posts: 16004
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2001 6:29 pm

RE: FS Autothrottle Question

Thu Dec 18, 2003 8:10 pm

My authothrottle works perfectly. And the one in the simulator is very good, too.  Wink/being sarcastic
"Everyone writing for the Telegraph knows that the way to grab eyeballs is with Ryanair and/or sex."
 
Craigy
Posts: 1076
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2001 6:24 am

RE: FS Autothrottle Question

Fri Dec 19, 2003 1:47 am

On the 757-200, I line up on the localiser at 170 KIAS, flaps 15. (actually doing 170, as opposed to just setting the dial to 170, having allowed plenty of time to slow down beforehand)

As the glideslope indicator starts to move, I select Gear Down, Flaps 20 and dial in my speed (landing speed +5 Kts).

I then do a controlled slow down on the glideslope, finishing at the threshold at my intended landing speed, flaps 30 and a couple of degrees nose-up attitude.

Regards,
Craig.
 
flymia
Posts: 6808
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2001 6:33 am

RE: FS Autothrottle Question

Fri Dec 19, 2003 6:02 am

I works fine for me too. But usaly on the glide scope i take it my self.
"It was just four of us on the flight deck, trying to do our job" (Captain Al Haynes)
 
Gerry
Posts: 235
Joined: Sat Jul 03, 1999 2:11 pm

RE: FS Autothrottle Question

Sat Dec 20, 2003 1:23 pm

Autothrottles are not perfect. If you use the PSS aircraft you may well find that the 744 responds faster and better to Autothrottle inputs than the 772. Either way give yourself room. If you are coming down from 290Kts IAS to 250KTs give yourself at least 15NM with the throttles set to idle.
 
NAV20
Posts: 8453
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2003 3:25 pm

RE: FS Autothrottle Question

Sat Dec 20, 2003 10:42 pm

FFK, realised what the problem (probably) is.

The auto-throttle is ONLY a throttle. It cannot hold a given speed regardless of the attitude of the aeroplane. If, for example, you put the aircraft into a dive - or tell the autopilot to lose height quickly, for that matter - it is likely to fly a lot faster than your speed setting on the way down. All the auto-throttle can do about that is shut off the power - once that is at 'idle', it has done all it can! When you level off, of course, the autopilot can do its job again and hold a given speed.

In the specific case of a landing approach, if you get the trim and attitude right - a descent rate of around 600 feet per minute with around 30 degrees of flap and gear down - you should find that the auto-throttle will hold the desired speed. But not if you dive steeply. Hope this helps.
"Once you have flown, you will walk the earth with your eyes turned skywards.." - Leonardo da Vinci
 
FrequentFlyKid
Topic Author
Posts: 1097
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2001 5:04 am

RE: FS Autothrottle Question

Sun Dec 21, 2003 8:19 am

Yes, I fly the approach with full flaps and gear (obviously) and plenty of time to settle, so I don't know what the problem is?
 
User avatar
Aaron747
Posts: 8538
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2003 2:07 am

RE: FS Autothrottle Question

Sun Dec 21, 2003 10:57 am

If it occurs with a particular aircraft, it may an error in the .AIR file or aircraft.cfg parameters. Otherwise, don't know what to tell ya.
If you need someone to blame / throw a rock in the air / you'll hit someone guilty
 
NAV20
Posts: 8453
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2003 3:25 pm

RE: FS Autothrottle Question

Mon Dec 22, 2003 1:33 am

I'm stumped too, FFK. Only thing I can suggest is, try an approach with one of the other aeroplanes. On an ILS approach, with the autopilot and auto-throttle engaged, the speed should be right.
"Once you have flown, you will walk the earth with your eyes turned skywards.." - Leonardo da Vinci
 
NAV20
Posts: 8453
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2003 3:25 pm

RE: FS Autothrottle Question

Mon Dec 22, 2003 12:19 pm

I think I've found the problem, FFK - 'Jumbo-itis'.

I have a saved 'practice approach' that I use to try out different aeroplanes. I tried the 777, and found that it is just like the 747 - takes an awful long time to slow down in a descent. With jumbos, you really have to watch the speed like a hawk from about 15 miles out.

Like you, at about 4 miles out the IAS was over 150 knots and only coming down very slowly. The answer is to flick the spoiler on for a moment (the / key). Turn it off as soon as you can (/ key again). Once it's down to the speed you want the auto-throttle will hold you at that all right.

Hope that solves your problem.
"Once you have flown, you will walk the earth with your eyes turned skywards.." - Leonardo da Vinci

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests