IanatSTN
Topic Author
Posts: 564
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2003 2:27 am

*** New PC For FS9, Your Comments Please! ***

Wed Mar 24, 2004 2:36 am

Hi Guys,
I am currently looking to buy a PC for FS2004. I have come to the conclusion that my current PC, a PIII 800mhz, 512Mb Ram, 32Mb Graphics Card is not up to the job, and I have researched for hours and the best deal that I came up with is as follows.

Intel Pentium 4 2.8Ghz 533FSB
ASROCK P4VT8,6 Channel Sound, LAN, 8x AGP, Serial ATA
512mb DDR RAM PC3200
Maxtor 40Gb HD 7200Rpm
ATI Radeon 9600 128Mb

This system will be costing me aprox £380, $704.

Some questions to you are, how is anyone with a similar system coping with FS2004? What sort of FPS are you getting at various slider settings? Will I be able to run a lot of AI packages, possibly Ultimate Traffic and still be able to cope?

Also any suggestions on the system itself are more than welcome.

Any suggestions, comments and answers are really greatly appreciated!!

Cheers  Smile/happy/getting dizzy
Ian@STN
Ian@STN ::
 
jutes85
Posts: 1854
Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2003 12:50 pm

RE: *** New PC For FS9, Your Comments Please! ***

Wed Mar 24, 2004 6:14 am

Everything looks good. I'd buy another stick of 512mb, FS loves 1GB. You should have no problem running AI Packages like Ultimate Traffic 2004 at 100%. My System:

Athlon 2200+
1GB PC3200
80BG HD
MSI FX5900 128MB

As you can see, it is not the best one around. However, I've been able to tweak some settings with my Video Card and FS.cfg. I also have some cloud performance packages that can allow me to run at 100% 3D clouds with no problem. I range around 15-20fps in LAX and JFK with Ultimate Traffic at 100% so it does not bother me.

You should have no problem with a little tweaking.
nothing
 
Guest

RE: *** New PC For FS9, Your Comments Please! ***

Wed Mar 24, 2004 7:38 am

I have:


AMD XP 2800+
1GB RAM
ATI 9200 128MB DRR
120GB HDD


I get around 25FPS on the ground at LHR, LAX, JFK with AI at max.. and settings at max..

I suggest you get a ATI 9800 256MB DDR.. I'm getting one of those in April Big grin

And as already said above..

1GB RAM
Regards,

Milo
 
JBirdAV8r
Posts: 3454
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2001 4:44 am

RE: *** New PC For FS9, Your Comments Please! ***

Wed Mar 24, 2004 1:38 pm

Man, where did you get those "cloud performance packages"? I have the following system:

Pentium 4 3.0E ghz (prescott)
1gb RAM
160GB hdd
GeForce FX 5200

and my performance suffers GREATLY in clouds (frames in the single digits!)
I got my head checked--by a jumbo jet
 
jutes85
Posts: 1854
Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2003 12:50 pm

RE: *** New PC For FS9, Your Comments Please! ***

Wed Mar 24, 2004 3:13 pm

JBirdAV8r,

You have a great processor, I'm afraid that your video card is what is causing the low FPS with clouds.

Anyways, here is the site:

http://fsw.simflight.com/FSWFs2k4fix.html
nothing
 
IanatSTN
Topic Author
Posts: 564
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2003 2:27 am

RE: *** New PC For FS9, Your Comments Please! ***

Thu Mar 25, 2004 1:19 am

Hi Guys,

Thank you very much for your responses Jutes85, JBirdAV8r and EGFFbmi, I will be taking your advice for sure!!

Anyway, any more comments still greatly apreciated!!

Cheers  Smile/happy/getting dizzy
Ian@STN
Ian@STN ::
 
dan2002
Posts: 2024
Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2002 7:11 am

RE: *** New PC For FS9, Your Comments Please! ***

Thu Mar 25, 2004 5:46 am

Never Ever , get a video card that is PCI, slow as hell , go with AGP for your new PC, if it didnt already hav a AGP vid card.
A guy asks 'What's Punk?'. I kick over a trash can and its punk. He knocks over a trash can and its trendy.
 
IanatSTN
Topic Author
Posts: 564
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2003 2:27 am

RE: *** New PC For FS9, Your Comments Please! ***

Thu Mar 25, 2004 6:17 am

Thanx Dan, the 9600 is AGP I beleive.

Cheers  Smile/happy/getting dizzy
Ian@STN
Ian@STN ::
 
KLM777
Posts: 361
Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2003 1:00 am

RE: *** New PC For FS9, Your Comments Please! ***

Thu Mar 25, 2004 10:15 am

Ian@STN your configuration can definitely do the job, although I agree with the replies above that you should add another 512mb memory module.

PCI video cards are not favorable indeed, but they can hardly be found today. As always, you can spend more money to get a better FPS, but I understand it's a tradeoff between price and performance. You can add the 256mb video card, but it will cost you dearly. Your current configuration will run FS2004 very well so I would save that money...

One thing I've said before on this forum: A computer is as fast as the weakest link, so everything should be in balance, there's no point in buying a fast videocard when you are using a relatively slow CPU (which is not your case, but it's not the fastest either). On top of that, it's more advisable to buy a computer just one step behind the latest models. It'll be fast enough to run your current programs (including FS) and with the money you save you can buy a new (1 step behind) computer earlier again. Otherwise you'll probably run into upgrading single components one at a time, which disturbes the 'as fast as the weakest link'-theory

Kind regards,

Jeroen


[Edited 2004-03-25 02:20:31]
Every landing is a controlled crash
 
syncmaster
Posts: 1926
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2002 9:55 am

RE: *** New PC For FS9, Your Comments Please! ***

Thu Mar 25, 2004 12:12 pm

I have a Dell Inspiron 8200...everything at Max, 1600x1200 resolution, runs like a dream....

P4m 2.0GHz (512k L2 cache)
512MB DDR
64MB ATi Mobility Radeon 9000
15" UltraSharp UXGA Monitor (1600x1200)
 
IanatSTN
Topic Author
Posts: 564
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2003 2:27 am

RE: *** New PC For FS9, Your Comments Please! ***

Fri Mar 26, 2004 1:42 am

Jeroen, thank you very much for input, I will see if I can find some extra cash for that extra 512Mb module, can't wait to get this PC now!

Syncmaster, thank you also for your input.

Any more comments apreciated!

Cheers  Smile/happy/getting dizzy
Ian@STN
Ian@STN ::
 
kingsford
Posts: 403
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2003 6:26 pm

RE: *** New PC For FS9, Your Comments Please! ***

Thu Apr 01, 2004 9:42 pm

I have Dell Dimension 8200 : 2Ghz and 512MB but I am getting Dimension 8300, 3.2 Ghz and 1024 MB because it was not yet the ultimate machine to use FS9 (Elaborate a/c and rich scenery : Not a good mix)
 
aviationwiz
Posts: 882
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2004 7:20 pm

RE: *** New PC For FS9, Your Comments Please! ***

Fri Apr 02, 2004 4:43 am

Intel Pentium 4 2.8Ghz 533FSB
ASROCK P4VT8,6 Channel Sound, LAN, 8x AGP, Serial ATA
512mb DDR RAM PC3200
Maxtor 40Gb HD 7200Rpm
ATI Radeon 9600 128Mb


Looks good, just a few things.

1. I would recommend an Asus motherboard over an ASROCK, I like the P4C800-E Dlx. the P4P800 Dlx. might be what your looking for.

2. Go for a P4 2.6C (800MHZ FSB) over the 2.8B (533MHZ FSB) the 2.6C has the hyper-threading, and the faster front side bus, you will notice it go faster.

3. Be sure to get RAM from a good company, not some cheap bargain RAM.
Proudly from the Home of the Red Tail.
 
mNeo
Posts: 718
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 8:12 am

RE: *** New PC For FS9, Your Comments Please! ***

Fri Apr 02, 2004 7:14 am

instead of the 9600 get a FX5900XT its under 200USD and outpreforms the 9600XT 256mb
Powered by Maina

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 4 guests