dinker225
Posts: 978
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2000 9:18 am

Changing Aircraft Designation

Tue Apr 13, 2004 7:32 am

Can somebody help me change the aircraft designation? I downloaded a 767 but when I am flying the ATC calls it an experimental. Anybody know how to change it so the ATC calls it 767? I am using FS2004. Thanks in advance.

Dinker

[Edited 2004-04-13 00:47:20]
Two rules in aviation, don't hit anything and don't run out of gas, cause if you run out of gas yer gonna hit something.
 
wilax
Posts: 448
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2002 2:39 pm

RE: Changing Aircraft Designation

Tue Apr 13, 2004 1:16 pm

I just went through all that.

There are specific codes that must be used to get ATC to refer to your plane correctly.

Assuming that you are unfamiliar with the aircraft.cfg file, this is what you do:

1. go into power desk or whatever file viewing system that you have

2. Open up your FS folder, then open up the Aircraft folder

3. find the plane that you want to change and open it's main folder

4. inside the plane's main folder, find the file called "aircraft.cfg", and open it

5. scroll down inside that file until you see:

[General]
atc_type=767
atc_model=
performance=Cruise Speedt.80 - .84 MachnNever Exceed
editable=0

6. change the first two lines under [general] to look like:

[General]
atc_type=Boeing Aircraft
atc_model=b762
performance=Cruise Speedt.80 - .84 MachnNever Exceed
editable=0

7. close the file and save the new changes

Now when you run FS, ATC will call your plane "Boeing 767", not "Boeing aircraft b762". For some reason, it has to be entered a certain way or else you will get "experimental"

For other aircraft:

atc_type=Boeing aircraft
atc_model=B752 ..........gets Boeing 757

atc_type=boeing Aircraft
atc_model=b734 ..........gets boeing 737

atc_type=boeing aircraft
atc_model=b773 ............gets boeing triple-seven

atc_type=douglas
atc_model=md80 .............gets douglas md80

atc_type=fokker
atc_model=100 ...............gets Fokker

atc_type=airbus
atc_model=a3xx ..............gets Airbu a3xx....works for
all airbuses

That is pretty much the way they go. Sometimes you download planes that already have the correct designation, and sometimes they don't......

Good Luck
 
A3204eva
Posts: 1041
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2004 4:25 am

RE: Changing Aircraft Designation

Tue Apr 13, 2004 7:42 pm

If you have an Aircraft editor, you can do it from there.
"They have lady pilots......... they're not that good, but they have 'em"

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests