jgore
Posts: 518
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2002 2:41 am

How To Get ILS Freq Info Without Pausing The Sim?

Tue Jun 08, 2004 12:52 am

Hey guys

Every time I'm cleared for ils, I have to pause the game, click on world -> map, locate the airport, double click on it, and scroll down to the runways information and get the ils freq and approach course.

Is there any other way to figure this out without pausing the game and keep flying ?. It's really annoying, it makes my flight unrealistic.

Thanks in advance

Jgore  Smile

 
mikedlayer
Posts: 390
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2004 7:40 am

RE: How To Get ILS Freq Info Without Pausing The Sim?

Tue Jun 08, 2004 12:53 am

Have another computer, go on a website (or flight sim) and get it? lol I don't think there is any other way.

Mike
 
FlyingColours
Posts: 2202
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2003 3:13 am

RE: How To Get ILS Freq Info Without Pausing The Sim?

Tue Jun 08, 2004 1:09 am

Do what I do, when filing the flight plan bring up the airport information from the map, write all of the ILS frequencies down on a small piece of paper (I use Post-It thingies) and then keep it by your monitor (If you have a kneeboard use that). It is also handy because you'll still have it for future flights (unless you throw it away afterwards)

Phil
FlyingColours
Lifes a train racing towards you, now you can either run away or grab a chair & a beer and watch it come - Phil
 
jwenting
Posts: 9973
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2001 10:12 pm

RE: How To Get ILS Freq Info Without Pausing The Sim?

Tue Jun 08, 2004 1:28 am

in FS2004, the built-in GPS units provide the information as well. I refer you to the manual to find out how  Laugh out loud

That's what I use when I don't have paper charts at hand (which I have for several hundred airports).
I wish I were flying
 
IanatSTN
Posts: 564
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2003 2:27 am

RE: How To Get ILS Freq Info Without Pausing The Sim?

Tue Jun 08, 2004 3:16 am

I also beleive that their is a RwyInfo gauge which can provide all ILS data without having to go and view the map, have a look for it at Avsim and Flightsim.

Cheers  Smile/happy/getting dizzy
Ian@STN
Ian@STN ::
 
Guest

RE: How To Get ILS Freq Info Without Pausing The Sim?

Tue Jun 08, 2004 4:27 am

Just to back up what Jwenting said, it is actually pretty easy (both on FS and in real life) to get that type of information from the GPS once you learn how.

'Speed
 
Leezyjet
Posts: 3541
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2001 7:26 am

RE: How To Get ILS Freq Info Without Pausing The Sim?

Tue Jun 08, 2004 9:07 am

I'm still a few years behind and running FS2000. Is there any way to get the ILS info from that ?.

 Smile
"She Rolls, 45 knots, 90, 135, nose comes up to 20 degrees, she's airborne - She flies, Concorde Flies"
 
jamotcx
Posts: 839
Joined: Sun May 16, 2004 10:20 am

RE: How To Get ILS Freq Info Without Pausing The Sim?

Tue Jun 08, 2004 4:27 pm

Alternatively get some charts  Smile

I have a whole folder of charts I printed off the web for all the airports I fly too.


Jamo
 
justplanecrazy
Posts: 528
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2003 11:26 pm

RE: How To Get ILS Freq Info Without Pausing The Sim?

Tue Jun 08, 2004 6:59 pm

I have the same problem.I used to use the GPS but now ive got the PMDG 737 I dont have access to a GPS.
your pilots today on this 747 flight are captain oliver hardy and assisting will be FO stan laurel.Have a safe flight
 
ZKSUJ
Posts: 6808
Joined: Tue May 18, 2004 5:15 pm

RE: How To Get ILS Freq Info Without Pausing The Sim?

Tue Jun 08, 2004 7:35 pm

I usually get all the information I need befor the flight at the planning stage, I get the frequencies, elevation, headings etc... for all the runways at my destination. Then I don't have to pause anything.

ZKSUJ

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests