ZKSUJ
Topic Author
Posts: 6807
Joined: Tue May 18, 2004 5:15 pm

Crash To Desktop

Tue Sep 28, 2004 5:32 pm

Hi, I know that computer crashing to desktop happens every so often to most people on FS, but how often does it happen to you? It has happened to me on 2 times out of my last 4 flights and I am just curious.
Thanks
 
Arniepie
Posts: 1428
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2005 11:00 pm

RE: Crash To Desktop

Tue Sep 28, 2004 6:08 pm

Usually a CTD is the result of
- a corrupt landclass file (= addon scenery)
- a corrupt mesh-file (= addon scenery)
- a corrupt BGL-file in one of your addon scenerys (downloaded airports)
- a corrupt gauge in one of your downloaded panels

The best way to find this out is trying to determine when or where the CTD occurs, if it is always with the same plane then it is most likely a corrupt gauge, if it is always over the same area it is addon mesh/landclass/downloaded airport.

I had the same problem ,it always happened over Sweden and Cyprus, after I deactivated the downloaded LCEN airport (Cyprus) and some downloaded Swedish airports and landclass files the problem was fixed.
I also had a problem with a DC10 panel, changed it for another and all okay again.
Hope this helps you, if not tell me.
[edit post]
 
ZKSUJ
Topic Author
Posts: 6807
Joined: Tue May 18, 2004 5:15 pm

RE: Crash To Desktop

Tue Sep 28, 2004 6:12 pm

Thanks
I fly the 744 but I had a problem just before flying over Noumea and while I was descending into JFK. Know any other problem areas.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests