G-KIRAN
Topic Author
Posts: 710
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2000 1:55 am

Running FS2002/FS2004 On A Laptop

Sat Dec 11, 2004 2:15 am

Hi all,

I have a laptop that has the following specs: Intel Centrino 1.5GHZ and 256Mb RAM. Unfortunately, the computer that I normally use for FS2004 is some 6000 miles away. To make matters worse, I need to log a flight for my VA at least once per calender month. Would it be possible to get decent frame rates ie 10+ in FS2004 with Autogen off, building density set to around normal and no AI? Furthermore, I have found a shop where I can get FS2002 for £19.99, how will FS2002 run on my laptop config?

Cheers,
G-KIRAN
 
aerlingus330
Posts: 812
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 2:21 am

RE: Running FS2002/FS2004 On A Laptop

Sun Dec 12, 2004 11:25 pm

Well the miminal requirements for Fs 2002 are-

Windows 98/ME (64 MB RAM)
2000/XP (128 MB RAM)
Processor - 300 MHz
Hard Drive - 750 MB


I think FS 2002 will run smoothly on your laptop...I have two fs2002, if you want fs2002 I can post it to you (for free)...Just email me if you want it or not

aerlingus330


Aer Lingus Airbus A330-300
 
ZKSUJ
Posts: 6804
Joined: Tue May 18, 2004 5:15 pm

RE: Running FS2002/FS2004 On A Laptop

Mon Dec 13, 2004 7:15 pm

I may be and I probably am wrong. But I heard that laptops are not designed to take FS. It is possible, but it is not the best option.
 
LHR27C
Posts: 846
Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2004 3:49 am

RE: Running FS2002/FS2004 On A Laptop

Mon Dec 13, 2004 11:28 pm

ZKSUJ - I think some people would dispute that with you  Smile. It depends on the laptop specs. I was doing an FS9 presentation last week with a laptop which had a 2.8Ghz Pentium 4, 1GB RAM and an ATI Mobile Radeon 9600, projecting the display onto the screen and also with a full set speakers. It ran very smoothly throughout the demo (1 and a half hours), and I had most of the sliders maxed. I think the only problem with laptops and FS is their lack of space for cooling, so you need to watch the CPU temperature.

G-KIRAN - I agree you should be able to run FS smoothly with those specs, just keep the sliders down as you say.

Oliver
Once you have tasted flight, you will walk the earth with your eyes turned forever skyward
 
SXFAN
Posts: 361
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2004 2:20 pm

RE: Running FS2002/FS2004 On A Laptop

Tue Dec 14, 2004 2:41 am

I have FS2004 installed on my laptop and it runs prety smooth.
Eventhough I have 512 RAM 40Gb Hard disk Windows XP and Processor 2.66 Pentium 4.

 
efohdee
Posts: 212
Joined: Fri Oct 29, 2004 4:52 am

RE: Running FS2002/FS2004 On A Laptop

Tue Dec 14, 2004 2:46 am

I have a laptop Toshiba Satellite 1800, pentium3, Windows ME. Flight Simulator 2002 works great on it. However I tried installing FS 2004 and it wouldn't work. I'll wait till I get a new computer.
 
ZKSUJ
Posts: 6804
Joined: Tue May 18, 2004 5:15 pm

RE: Running FS2002/FS2004 On A Laptop

Tue Dec 14, 2004 6:59 am

Ok sorry. The computer shop dude told me that FS runs better on a Desktop.
My Bad  Sad
 
User avatar
GEG
Posts: 303
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 11:45 am

RE: Running FS2002/FS2004 On A Laptop

Tue Dec 14, 2004 7:25 am

ZKSUJ, your are right about some having issues with the laptops and FS2004. I saw a post recently (well in the last month or so) that someone was having problems with their laptop and running FS2004. However they did not provide the specs on their laptop, so it was hard to say if it was a FS2004 issue or their laptop.
I have no idea what I'm doing...
 
syncmaster
Posts: 1926
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2002 9:55 am

RE: Running FS2002/FS2004 On A Laptop

Tue Dec 14, 2004 10:06 am

I suppose it's possible to have problems, but I doubt you would. I have multiple computers, but my two primary computers are laptops (1 Notebook, 1 Tablet PC), the notebook is a Dell Inspiron 8200 with a 2.0GHz P4m, 512mb RAM, 64MB Mobility Radeon 9000, Windows XP Pro SP2, I run FS 2004 with all of the graphics settings maxed (even runs at 1600x1200) on an almost daily basis without any problems what-so-ever.

Your specs seem ok, RAM might slow it down a tad, but it shouldn't be too much of a problem. What kind of video card do you have?
 
xjramper
Posts: 2318
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2003 1:10 am

RE: Running FS2002/FS2004 On A Laptop

Tue Dec 14, 2004 2:49 pm

I have a dell Inspiron 5150, Pentium4, 3.06 GHz, 512 1ddr ram, with a 60GB HD and I was having trouble with both FS2002 and FS2004. But the computer seemed to be having trouble with only that game. Then a friend mentioned this to me and I have been having no trouble at all. Try this if you have XP:

Start Menu
Run
MSConfig
Startup(last tab)
Disable all
Restart
and your computer will run a lot better and I have had no problem since. It just seems that I had too many background programs for it to run smoothly. It may not be the solution, but as I said, I have had no problem with it.

XJR
Look ma' no hands!
 
meister808
Posts: 924
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2000 11:45 am

RE: Running FS2002/FS2004 On A Laptop

Wed Dec 15, 2004 2:50 am

I don't imagine what the problems would be... I am currently running FS2002 on a Dell 505 Laptop with a 1.4 GHz Pentium and 512 MB of RAM and I have most of the settings all the way up.

I get framerates around 55 with no problem.

So, uh, you should have no issue at all.

-Meister
Twin Cessna 812 Victor, Minneapolis Center, we observe your operation in the immediate vicinity of extreme precipitation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests