scottieprecord
Posts: 1208
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2004 5:38 am

Afcad Files For FS2004

Sat Feb 26, 2005 1:13 pm

Can someone tell me how to use AFCAD files? Thanks in advance.

-Mike
 
clrd2go
Posts: 976
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2003 4:43 am

RE: Afcad Files For FS2004

Sat Feb 26, 2005 2:34 pm

Once you've downloaded them, they go into the fs9/addon scenery/scenery folder. Assuming you've downloaded/installed the main afcad file you should be all set. Depending of course on what you want to do with AFCAD.


Jim
What a long strange trip it's been
 
eclipseflight7
Posts: 482
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2004 10:00 am

RE: Afcad Files For FS2004

Sat Feb 26, 2005 2:35 pm

This is an extremely hard process. You may want to write these down or read them a few times to fully understand.

Right click, copy.

Find your Addon Scenery/Scenery folder in your FS9 directory, and paste.

EDIT: Eh, looks like you beat me to it by 35 seconds.

[Edited 2005-02-26 06:36:39]
Holy sh*ts and burritos.
 
scottieprecord
Posts: 1208
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2004 5:38 am

RE: Afcad Files For FS2004

Sun Feb 27, 2005 1:11 pm

Thank y'all much. I figured that's all it took. I tried to download an AFCAD file for KSAT, and I did exactly what y'all said, but the files didn't seem to work. Is there anything else I should know about this process?

- Mike
 
clrd2go
Posts: 976
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2003 4:43 am

RE: Afcad Files For FS2004

Sun Feb 27, 2005 11:52 pm

Do you have AFCAD 2.21 by Lee Swordy? You must have that installed for Afcad files to work . you can download it on flightsim.com or avsim.com

Once that's installed correctly, it's a very simple process to get them to work.


Jim
What a long strange trip it's been
 
Arniepie
Posts: 1428
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2005 11:00 pm

RE: Afcad Files For FS2004

Mon Feb 28, 2005 1:07 am

Right click, copy.

Find your Addon Scenery/Scenery folder in your FS9 directory, and paste.


Best to place it in the scenery subfolder from KSAT ,to make sure that the AFCAD file you downloaded (= the good one) has the highest layer priority.

Do you have AFCAD 2.21 by Lee Swordy? You must have that installed for Afcad files to work .

I don't think you need AFCAD 2.21 for the downloaded file to work, you only need it when you want to make/change an AFCAD file for yourself.
If you only want to install an already existing AFCAD BGL you only need to place it in the correct folder.
[edit post]
 
Gofly
Posts: 1579
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2005 4:12 am

RE: Afcad Files For FS2004

Mon Feb 28, 2005 1:14 am

Can somebody tell me how to use AFCADS that are .txt documents, I have the AFCAD program installed but I have no idea how to use it!

Many thanks
Living the high life on my ex-Airliners.net Moderator pension...
 
Arniepie
Posts: 1428
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2005 11:00 pm

RE: Afcad Files For FS2004

Mon Feb 28, 2005 7:37 am

Can somebody tell me how to use AFCADS that are .txt documents, I have the AFCAD program installed but I have no idea how to use it!

AFCAD's in txt format are for FS2002 only, you need to have AFCAD for FS2002 intalled, there is a green icon which says "installer" , just drag an drop your AFCAD.txt over this installer and it will do the work for you.
IT CANNOT BE USED IN FS9 (2004).
In FS9, only the AF2_XXX type BGL's work.
These BGL_types don't work in FS2002, so no compatibility here.
[edit post]
 
Gofly
Posts: 1579
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2005 4:12 am

RE: Afcad Files For FS2004

Tue Mar 01, 2005 2:01 am

Ah, thanks Arniepie. The scenery I have installed is meant for FS2002, but works with FS9 as well. Shame because I really wanted that AFCAD........
Living the high life on my ex-Airliners.net Moderator pension...

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests