coewr777
Posts: 420
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 7:50 am

Ever Draw Your Own Airport?

Mon Feb 28, 2005 7:57 am

I draw my own airports all the time i wish there was a good game where you could do that.
 
futureualpilot
Posts: 2402
Joined: Thu May 25, 2000 10:52 am

RE: Ever Draw Your Own Airport?

Mon Feb 28, 2005 8:31 am

A while back after flying through ATL I began wondering about different airport designs, and started drawing overviews of my own, so yes, I have.
Life is better when you surf.
 
Newark777
Posts: 8284
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 6:23 am

RE: Ever Draw Your Own Airport?

Mon Feb 28, 2005 8:53 am

I used to add my own airports ALL the way back when I used to use X-Plane. I'm sure there's a way to do it in MSFS, but I haven't tried.

Harry
Why grab a Heine when you can grab a Busch?
 
Goldenshield
Posts: 5005
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2001 3:45 pm

RE: Ever Draw Your Own Airport?

Mon Feb 28, 2005 9:29 am

Back when I was a kid, I used good old fashioned pencil and paper.  Smile
Two all beef patties, special sauce, lettuce, cheese, pickles, onions on a sesame seed bun.
 
NWADC9
Posts: 3938
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2004 12:33 am

RE: Ever Draw Your Own Airport?

Mon Feb 28, 2005 9:38 am


PIT's cargo area (with route 60! Big grin)

Not my airport, but here's some others:

AMS's Polderbaan with a KLM MD-11 in new colors landing...

What I hope looks like NRT Big grin

Oh, and you may download them. They're IM icons that I made.
Flying an aeroplane with only a single propeller to keep you in the air. Can you imagine that? -Capt. Picard
 
Mexicana757
Posts: 2633
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2001 3:21 pm

RE: Ever Draw Your Own Airport?

Mon Feb 28, 2005 12:03 pm

LMAO, nice airport pictures.  Big thumbs up
 
greenguy01
Posts: 221
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2003 9:21 am

RE: Ever Draw Your Own Airport?

Mon Feb 28, 2005 12:26 pm

I used to do this all the time when I was sitting in class in college. I would start off with a small local airport and would "add-on" to it as the demand for the airport grew. New runways, runway extensions, terminal expansions. I still draw them on occasion.
Never argue with an idiot. They drag you to their level and beat you with experience.
 
User avatar
bully707
Posts: 1014
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2005 7:29 pm

RE: Ever Draw Your Own Airport?

Tue Mar 01, 2005 2:33 am

Hey...good idea!!!
I think AFCAD lets you "create" your own airport...hmmm...so maybe I shold go ahead and build one for my hometown then...!!!

Godspeed

Bully
"That's the good thing about the 707...it can do anything, but read!" Joe Patroni, Airport '70
 
Blackhawk144
Posts: 769
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2004 6:20 am

RE: Ever Draw Your Own Airport?

Tue Mar 01, 2005 9:16 am

Bully,

You can't make airport terminals or hangars...only runways and taxiways  Sad.

Anthony
Time is the best of all teachers. Unfortunately, it kills all of its students!
 
Mir
Posts: 19092
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2004 3:55 am

RE: Ever Draw Your Own Airport?

Wed Mar 02, 2005 8:02 am

I used to design layouts for airport terminal buildings on graph paper in my spare time (and sometimes not during my spare time Big grin). Nothing formal, but it looked pretty good in the end (though I always ended up creating huge mega-terminals). I did a model of a section once for my architecture class, and it came out pretty well (despite my crappy modeling skills). I'll see if I can find a picture.

-Mir
7 billion, one nation, imagination...it's a beautiful day
 
coewr777
Posts: 420
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 7:50 am

RE: Ever Draw Your Own Airport?

Mon Apr 11, 2005 11:21 am

Just finished the new " stl int" lol AA with 40 gates having 102 deps with AAeagle with 46 deps, made a Ups super hub and it no has 3 runways and only 70 gates. I just started the new TPA.
 
AR1300
Posts: 1686
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2005 1:22 pm

RE: Ever Draw Your Own Airport?

Mon Apr 11, 2005 11:42 am

Quoting COEWR777 (Thread starter):
i wish there was a good game where you could do that.

Airport Tycoon ,maybe?You've even got a 2 hour free trial...

Mike.
You are now free to move about the cabin
 
European
Posts: 1495
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 5:01 am

RE: Ever Draw Your Own Airport?

Tue Apr 12, 2005 2:21 am

Hello

Nice pictures NWAD,

As I am still a "kid", I still draw my planes on paper, (when I Get bored at school) and a long time back I drew a little bit of an airport where my head quarters would be for me Airline. LOL

Cya Guy's

Jimmi
Flying high in the skies
Come on Ryanair! Come on BOH! BASE BASE BASE! Flying high in the skies...........
 
qr332
Posts: 2592
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 11:16 pm

RE: Ever Draw Your Own Airport?

Tue Apr 12, 2005 3:56 am

Quoting COEWR777 (Thread starter):
I draw my own airports all the time i wish there was a good game where you could do that.

I remember an old game called Airport Inc. which allowed you to do design a whole airport in 3D.
"The greatest threat to knowledge is not ignorance, it is the illusion of knowledge."
 
dba4u
Posts: 630
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 7:53 pm

RE: Ever Draw Your Own Airport?

Tue Apr 12, 2005 4:00 am

I've build my own military base on Novaja Semlja with AFCAD.
I missed some mystical place to land there, so I made my own... Big grin
 
MaverickM11
Posts: 15215
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2000 1:59 pm

RE: Ever Draw Your Own Airport?

Tue Apr 12, 2005 5:54 am

That was my entire high school class room experience! ...And I still graduated in the top of the class.
E pur si muove -Galileo
 
A340600
Posts: 3892
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2003 10:24 pm

RE: Ever Draw Your Own Airport?

Tue Apr 12, 2005 6:14 am

I used to have my own make up country with airports and everything, sed to have a whole folder on it, amazing how muh work I did on it, train maps, airport plans, town maps etc.etc. Ahh the old days Wink

Sam Smile
Despite the name I am a Boeing man through and through!
 
NWA1978
Posts: 66
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2004 9:15 am

RE: Ever Draw Your Own Airport?

Wed Apr 13, 2005 3:06 am

Speaking of this... Has anyone added major runway expansions to fs2004? Such as KDEN, it already has a ton of runways but I was curious if anyone has added more runways to any well knows airports. I think it would be fun to mess with atlanta and add a few more but I dont know how to do it and even if i did, I dont think it would come out very well!

I get upset because although AI traffic will use all runways when a few AI planes come in fairly close, air traffic will route them to the same runway rather than spread them out across the three or four active at the moment. If you have done this, post some screenies.
 
coewr777
Posts: 420
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 7:50 am

RE: Ever Draw Your Own Airport?

Wed Apr 13, 2005 10:10 am

So far 4 runways with SW with 16 gates and delta with a major focus city there serving Bos,Jfk,atl,slc,cvg,lax,dfw,msy,sea,and i wanna add a few more. GIve me idea for my next airport ill finish the update when i finish the flight times.
 
UA772IAD
Posts: 1269
Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2004 7:43 am

RE: Ever Draw Your Own Airport?

Wed Apr 13, 2005 11:03 am

I have. In fact this past year I've been taking an independent study in High School for architecture and urban planning. I've desigened my own city roughly the size and population of Chicago, just north of Savannah, GA (on the SC side). The Airport, Otown-Kingsport International Airport, is on it's own island, about 8 miles off the coast (where the city of Otown is) (Accessable by the Oceanic Bridge-Tunnel (like the Chesapeake Bay Bridge-Tunnel in VA (I-64))). It has 5 runways and is about the size of SFO. It has both SFO style inter-connected terminals and midfield terminals like DEN and IAD. Of course it's a United hub, but also recieves significant CO, DL, AA traffic. It is the 11th busiest airport in the world and 5th in the US. If I could show my drawings, I would (I'll try and find a way!)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests