FiddleSticks
Topic Author
Posts: 203
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2005 9:43 am

Adding New Models And Textures To Ultimate Traffic

Sat Apr 23, 2005 2:27 pm

This thread deals with adding new and replacing default textures and models in Ultimate Traffic. Be warned that this may become an obsession and that hours once spent flying will be instead spent hunting for repaints and/or models.

Off we go!

First, make sure you have all of the traffic set to show up in UT. To do this, click the "compile" button on the top left of the main screen. At the bottom right there is a check box that if checked will compile aircraft that have not been painted in an airline livery. Make sure this box is checked. Click continue on the bottom right and follow the instructions.

While you're recompiling I highly recommend that you get the Traffic View Board from Avsim.com (tvb_v2.1.zip). It will be very helpful in identifying the default planes that are not active (not flashing their departure and arrival airports, flight numbers, etc... above them).

Now that you've got your traffic compiled to include the unpainted aircraft and you've got the Traffic View Board installed its time to go hunting! Sooner or later you'll come across something that looks like this.



Each different aircraft has its own default paint job but you'll soon be able to recognize them. So now we get out our traffic view board, we'll need either the arrival or departure airport and the flight number. You can list aircraft by arrival, departure, in flight, or on ground. To find unpainted aircraft you'll want to look at the flight number. Normally you'll see the two letter code followed by the flight number BA 402 for example. The default paints, since they don't know which airline they belong to list -- for their code. Scroll around until you find some. Press the "Follow Aircraft" button on the lower right and you'll go right to them.

Our mystery 767 is listed as --1 from LHR to SEZ.



Our next step is to go back out to the Ultimate Traffic and check out the arrivals for SEZ and see who operates Flight 1. Normally you could just search for the flight number in the PDF but since the flight number is a single digit that would waste lots of time. Click "Time Table" on the main UT interface. Make sure its set to either departure or arrival depending on your case and type the airport ID in the box, in this case SEZ. Select the airport and hit generate.

It looks like our mystery plane is an Air Seychelles 767-300 (arrow added for emphasis)



Now we need to find a repaint! I have all of the AI Aardvark models installed on my computer so we'll search for a repaint on Avsim. Sure enough its there. (aav_b763_air_seychelles.zip)

I'm assuming you know how to install aircraft and repaints so I'll not bore you any more than need be with that process. The install of AI aircraft is no different than any other aircraft although with AI you needn't worry about a panel or sound. It is important to note that the AI Aardvark have models for each engine variation. This repaint is for the 763 with Pratts. I have a separate folder for each engine variation on my computer for the sake of simplicity. See below for an illustration.



To assign go to the utilities part of of UT and click on "aircraft" at the top right. Select Air Seychelles as the carrier airline (drop the box down and start typing the name in the box, its easier) Select Boeing 767-300 as the equipment type, notice that it is assigned to a default paint scheme. For all of the AI Aardvark planes the Manufacturer name is Aardvark so select that from the dropdown box. Select Boeing 767-300 in the "Type" box and finally, select Air Seychelles as the variation. Press the "insert" button and then save in the lower right. **Note that if you are replacing an existing texture you'’ll need to use the remove button and then insert the replacement texture. If the old one is not removed, both the new and the old will show up together.



Recompile your traffic file...

Success!!!



If you have any questions or comments feel free to leave them here and I'll get back to you as soon as I can.
If you love yourself, go now to western union and send me the sum of $10,000 to save your life.
 
FiddleSticks
Topic Author
Posts: 203
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2005 9:43 am

RE: Adding New Models And Textures To Ultimate Traffic

Sat Apr 23, 2005 9:19 pm

I forgot a step! After you install the repaint make sure you click the refresh button just above the dropdown arrow in the aircraft assignment screen. Otherwise it won't show up!  banghead 
If you love yourself, go now to western union and send me the sum of $10,000 to save your life.
 
cactusTECH
Posts: 204
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2005 12:11 am

RE: Adding New Models And Textures To Ultimate Traffic

Sun Apr 24, 2005 2:28 am

Hey since you know so much, why dont you tell me how to make my own airline in UT with the flightplans that i want!!!!! please help
 
FiddleSticks
Topic Author
Posts: 203
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2005 9:43 am

RE: Adding New Models And Textures To Ultimate Traffic

Sun Apr 24, 2005 4:10 am

Cactus TECH,

I haven't used UT to create an airline. There is a program called TTools by Lee Swordy that you can use to create flight plans. You can find it on Avsim. Just search for ttools202.zip.
The readme that comes with it will tell you'll need to know.

Do you have any aircraft for your airline? You'll need those to construct your flightplans.
If you love yourself, go now to western union and send me the sum of $10,000 to save your life.
 
komododx
Posts: 1734
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2004 4:40 am

RE: Adding New Models And Textures To Ultimate Traffic

Sun Apr 24, 2005 4:29 am

FiddleSticks,

My man, I cannot thank you enough. Actually, before you posted this I was trying to assign a repaint for Aires SA in Colombia, without success. At the moment I'm compiling traffic and will let you know if it worked or not.

Stefano  wave 
I'm homeless and unemployed
 
komododx
Posts: 1734
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2004 4:40 am

RE: Adding New Models And Textures To Ultimate Traffic

Sun Apr 24, 2005 4:58 am

Well,

It didn't work. Now instead of getting white DH8, they don't even appear anymore!

This is what I did:

-I d/l the model and repaint for Aires DH8 from Project AI.
-I installed it into my FS9Aircraft folder
-I opened UT and assigned the a/c
-I compiled
-I opened FS and went to BOG and no Aires a/c at all!

 cry 

Stefano  wave 
I'm homeless and unemployed
 
FiddleSticks
Topic Author
Posts: 203
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2005 9:43 am

RE: Adding New Models And Textures To Ultimate Tra

Sun Apr 24, 2005 6:25 am

Stefano,

Sorry to hear about your troubles. Is it the A B C or D model? Since I don't know your level of experience with the dealings of FS I'll make things basic. Check over the following things in the aircraft.cfg entry:

This is just an example...

[fltsim.2]<--------must be the next number in line, the top-most will be zero and on down from there
title=PAI DH82 Carib Sun<----------make sure the title is unique
sim=paidh8bv6<------------check to this matches the name of the .air file
model=
panel=
sound=
texture=SJU<----------this needs to match the texture folder, ie texture.SJU
atc_id_enable=1
atc_id_color=0xffffffff
atc_id=
atc_airline=Carib Sun<-------radio callsign
atc_flight_number=
atc_heavy=0
ui_manufacturer=Project AI<-------this is the manufacturer name for UT
ui_type=DASH8-Q200<-----------this is the type for UT
ui_variation=Carribbean Sun Airlines<-------this is the variation for UT
visual_damage=0
description=Project AI DH8B only for AI use, Repaint by C. Warner
atc_parking_Types=gate

Most of the PAI repaints don't come with the config all put together. What I usually do is copy the one from above it in the list and make the needed changes. Let me know if this solves anything.

Kelly
If you love yourself, go now to western union and send me the sum of $10,000 to save your life.
 
komododx
Posts: 1734
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2004 4:40 am

RE: Adding New Models And Textures To Ultimate Traffic

Sun Apr 24, 2005 6:48 am

Kelly,

Welcome to my RU list!  cheerful   cloudnine 

I finally managed to see Aires' new colors. Now I need to get about 10 different a/c and repaints to get rid of the default a/c in BOG.

As we speak, I've d/l about 10 diff Aardvark models as well and have been installing them... This is addicting!

Stefano  wave 
I'm homeless and unemployed
 
FiddleSticks
Topic Author
Posts: 203
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2005 9:43 am

RE: Adding New Models And Textures To Ultimate Traffic

Sun Apr 24, 2005 7:04 am

Glad to hear it Stefano, hopefully we'll get to see some shots of your AI collection shortly! Enjoy!!! spin 
If you love yourself, go now to western union and send me the sum of $10,000 to save your life.
 
ly7e7
Posts: 2222
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 3:15 am

RE: Adding New Models And Textures To Ultimate Traffic

Tue Apr 26, 2005 8:22 pm

How did you get the screen showing all flights? (The second picture)
2 things are endless: ignorance and space
 
qr332
Posts: 2592
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 11:16 pm

RE: Adding New Models And Textures To Ultimate Traffic

Tue Apr 26, 2005 9:04 pm

Quoting LY7E7 (Reply 9):
How did you get the screen showing all flights? (The second picture)

MRAI Traffic View Board (freeware)

Available here:
http://www.mostrealisticai.com/download_tools.php
"The greatest threat to knowledge is not ignorance, it is the illusion of knowledge."

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 10 guests