JAM747
Topic Author
Posts: 524
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 12:17 am

How To Find Kai Tak On FS04?

Thu May 12, 2005 10:37 pm

I wanted to fly to Kai Tak on FS04 but could not find it. I know that the airport is now closed but was it omitted from FS04 or does it use a different code? Is it referred to as the ' Old Hong Kong Airport' because this option was there but my flight plan would not give me ' approach to land instructions' I have heard that Kai Tak is a difficult airport to land so I wanted to take on the challenge in a 777 or 747.
 
Q330
Posts: 1425
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2003 5:30 pm

RE: How To Find Kai Tak On FS04?

Thu May 12, 2005 11:08 pm

No, it doesn't exist in FS9 since it's closed in real life. You'll need to download and install an AFCAD for it if you want it to appear.

-Q
Long live the A330!
 
JAM747
Topic Author
Posts: 524
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 12:17 am

RE: How To Find Kai Tak On FS04?

Thu May 12, 2005 11:14 pm

Quoting Q330 (Reply 1):
You'll need to download and install an AFCAD for it if you want it to appear.

Thanks , what is AFCAD and how would I do it?
 
msp753nwa
Posts: 232
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 12:47 am

RE: How To Find Kai Tak On FS04?

Thu May 12, 2005 11:32 pm

Hi, Maybe Im wrong but if you type Hong Kong in the airport city box there are 2, Hong Kong Intl/VHHH and Hong Kong Intl(old)/VHHX. So am I wrong or is that it.



Matt
Going Boeing
 
san747
Posts: 4345
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2004 10:03 am

RE: How To Find Kai Tak On FS04?

Fri May 13, 2005 12:24 am

It was in FS2002 Pro, I haven't tried to find it in FS2004, but I don't see why it wouldn't be... Try taking off from the current airport (Chep Lap Kok) and slew around the area (moving toward the hills/mountains) and you should be able to find it...
Scotty doesn't know...
 
NWADC9
Posts: 3938
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2004 12:33 am

RE: How To Find Kai Tak On FS04?

Fri May 13, 2005 12:35 am

VHHX is kai Tak. Since there's no gates or runway assignments, you can't use ATC. You have to do everything yourself. They're gonna probably take Kai Tak (and Meigs for that matter) out when they release FS2006 this fall.
Flying an aeroplane with only a single propeller to keep you in the air. Can you imagine that? -Capt. Picard
 
yooyoo
Posts: 5686
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2003 5:01 am

RE: How To Find Kai Tak On FS04?

Fri May 13, 2005 12:40 am

Quoting Msp753nwa (Reply 3):
Hi, Maybe Im wrong but if you type Hong Kong in the airport city box there are 2, Hong Kong Intl/VHHH and Hong Kong Intl(old)/VHHX. So am I wrong or is that it

Your not wrong...its there all right Big grin

Fly there all the time.

Have fun

Andreas  spin 
I am so smart, i am so smart... S-M-R-T... i mean S-M-A-R-T
 
JAM747
Topic Author
Posts: 524
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 12:17 am

RE: How To Find Kai Tak On FS04?

Fri May 13, 2005 1:13 am

Quoting YooYoo (Reply 6):
Your not wrong...its there all right

Fly there all the time.

Have fun

Thanks, will it load to give approach proceedures and final vectors for landing in the GPS of FS04 ? Maybe I did not save it properly because I tried VHHX and I did not get any instructions.
 
N754AN
Posts: 1283
Joined: Sat Jun 05, 2004 9:49 pm

RE: How To Find Kai Tak On FS04?

Fri May 13, 2005 2:54 am

I wondered about the old Hong Kong airport a few months ago, so I opened FS and started myself at the new HKG and slewed my plane to Kai Tak and had a look... all that was there was a runway! I did plan on doing an AFCAD for the airport and add taxiways, lights and gates etc and "reopen" the airport so to speak, but I have yet to get around to it!

When I do I shall let you know how I get on!

Chris
Fankoooooooo
 
dreamer
Posts: 371
Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2004 9:18 pm

RE: How To Find Kai Tak On FS04?

Fri May 13, 2005 3:46 am

There is actually a payware package that has the old glorious Kai Tak with extended scenery so you actually get to approach between the houses, just like in the pictures you see in the database


Check it out http://128.242.89.92/hk04intro.htm

a review at of the older verison http://www.flightsim.com/cgi/kds?$=main/review/hk02.htm

Expensive, but amazing $39.95
still dreaming after all these years
 
JAM747
Topic Author
Posts: 524
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 12:17 am

RE: How To Find Kai Tak On FS04?

Fri May 13, 2005 11:14 pm

I flew to Kai Tak VHHX last night. I could not get the approach procedures but flew low so I could see the airport which was not lit. The runway is in an almost west to east direction to get the landing coming over the buildings. It is right by the coast, I could have come in easily east to west but coming instead west to east is more challenging which is what I wanted. If I had the right software which some of you have kindly suggested it would be even better. I am surprised that FS 04 did not provide procedures since Kai Tak is so famous . Thanks a lot guys for your help.
 
User avatar
bully707
Posts: 1014
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2005 7:29 pm

RE: How To Find Kai Tak On FS04?

Sat May 14, 2005 8:35 pm

Just look for Kai Tak over at avsim...I am sure there is a scenery there!!!!
I d/l one and used it in my "Retro-Corner" thread!!!

Check it out!!!!

I find it to be OK !!!!

Godspeed


Bully
"That's the good thing about the 707...it can do anything, but read!" Joe Patroni, Airport '70
 
jwenting
Posts: 9973
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2001 10:12 pm

RE: How To Find Kai Tak On FS04?

Sat May 14, 2005 9:33 pm

Quoting JAM747 (Reply 10):
I am surprised that FS 04 did not provide procedures since Kai Tak is so famous

This is 2005 we're talking about. Kai Tak is closed and therefore not included.
Had it been in there people would have complained about that...

The ground infrastructure is depicted as it was in 2003 or late 2002 when the scenery was finalised, still there but no longer operational.
I'd not be surprised if in the next installment of FS it's gone completely and replaced with the new buildings that are going up there for the business park that's being built on the site.
I wish I were flying

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CaptainKramer and 12 guests