sevenheavy
Posts: 927
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2004 3:30 am

New Computer For FS9 - Any Advice Welcome!

Tue May 31, 2005 10:39 pm

Hi,

It has become apparent that despite a mid life memory and graphics card upgrade my faithfull system can no longer deliver what FS9 (and me Wink) demands. One too many add ons (or ai flightplans) have meant that the system is too slow to make FS9 enjoyable anymore.  Sad. Anyway.....

I have decided to invest in a new system. So far a company called mesh seem to offer the best package for the price. I will get an AMD 64 3800, 1024MB pc400 RAM, 300GB H/Drive, 2 x 256mb nvidia geforce 6800? (pciexpress?) graphics cards, soundblaster 7.1 sound and a 19in lcd monitor....

I would welcome any comments or advice anyone would be kind enought to offer. Specifically does FS rely more on say, processor than memory or vice versa. Also what are your thoughts on AMD64 processors?. From what I have read they seem good but I have always had intel before.

Thanks again for any advice.

Regards,

SevenHeavy
So long 701, it was nice knowing you.
 
draigonair
Posts: 624
Joined: Tue Oct 10, 2000 8:37 pm

RE: New Computer For FS9 - Any Advice Welcome!

Tue May 31, 2005 11:13 pm

Hey,

for video card i would recommend a ATI Radeon 9800PRo (or up) these are really great...Im not sure about AMD as i dont have it, but intel wise i would get 3.0MHz + (i have 2.26 and its slow now)

goodluck

cheers

Nick
cheers
 
dreamer
Posts: 371
Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2004 9:18 pm

RE: New Computer For FS9 - Any Advice Welcome!

Tue May 31, 2005 11:19 pm

Quoting SevenHeavy (Thread starter):
Specifically does FS rely more on say, processor than memory or vice versa.

Good question, see any MS product will almost take as much memory it can get, and my experience is that as soon as you run FS with much-addons the system will both peek at cpu usage and memory usage. I have 1 Gb memory and a intel HT, and first thread runs at 100%, and second at 10 to 20% and run out of ram when I fly an advanced plane like PMDG 737 and high quality scenery. So I really should add more memory.

As regards to AMD64, I can't answer, but is that 64 bit chip? can FS utilize that? and why do you need two graphic cards with one monitor?

What ever you choose, make sure you add extra cooling to your video card, they will run very hot.

Also consider two disk drives for performance increase.

Good luck
still dreaming after all these years
 
BA777
Posts: 2048
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2001 11:40 pm

RE: New Computer For FS9 - Any Advice Welcome!

Wed Jun 01, 2005 12:20 am

Hey SevenHeavy,

My specs are :

Athlon 64-bit 3400, 1Gb Corsair DDR, 160/80 Gb SATA HDs, HIS ATI Radeon X800 XT PE ICEQ II, Audigy 2 ZS 7.1

I can get a rather decent 20fps flying into LHR at dusk-time with the ifdg airbuses and PSS panel and a HUGE soundset by Andre Silva lol! Some shots --> (http://forums.avsim.net/dcboard.php?az=show_topic&forum=147&topic_id=201857&mesg_id=201857&page=)

Definetely go for two HDDs, say a 40gb for FS (or for a similar price a 20gb and get a faster performing one) and with regards to the 64-bit technology...no FS cannot take advantage of it yet because its a 32-bit application, like everything else around currently. But when the next Windows emerges, and the next FS in 12 months or whatever it's going to be it might be a different story! My advice is to without doubt, buy a Athlon 64 processor, a 256mb graphics card and 2 separate HDDs Also, make sure you do your homework on the graphics cards, read all the reviews you can and make your choices carefully!

Best of luck  Smile

Hennerz
 
sevenheavy
Posts: 927
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2004 3:30 am

RE: New Computer For FS9 - Any Advice Welcome!

Wed Jun 01, 2005 1:27 am

Thanks for all the answers guys - much appreciated.


and why do you need two graphic cards with one monitor?.

To be honest I have no idea - the computer just comes like that. I assume there must be some advantage as this is a system supposedly designed for high performance gaming.

Thanks again everyone, keep 'em coming!

Regards,

SevenHeavy
So long 701, it was nice knowing you.
 
dreamer
Posts: 371
Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2004 9:18 pm

RE: New Computer For FS9 - Any Advice Welcome!

Wed Jun 01, 2005 1:59 am

Seven, you are welcome!

Quoting SevenHeavy (Reply 4):
To be honest I have no idea - the computer just comes like that.

perhaps it has an on-board videocard on the motherboard, and that video would never be good enough for gaming, but fine otherwise.
still dreaming after all these years
 
splitzer
Posts: 151
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2004 6:37 am

RE: New Computer For FS9 - Any Advice Welcome!

Wed Jun 01, 2005 8:41 pm

Ah that seems pretty good. I can explain why you'd want to graphics cards too. Basically, like most, two is better than one, and having two graphics cards means double the power of having one graphics card for rendering.

Another way to look at it, is rather than spend £400 on a top of the range graphics cards, you can spend £150 on two decent graphics cards and combine them. The technology is called SLI. It was around some years ago under a different name, but never really took off. Here are some links that explain better than I can:

For a seller orientated explaination:
http://www.slizone.com/content/slizone/learn.html

For a buyer orientated overview:
http://graphics.tomshardware.com/graphic/20040628/index.html

Enjoy!
 
ohthedrama747
Posts: 244
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 3:59 am

RE: New Computer For FS9 - Any Advice Welcome!

Wed Jun 01, 2005 8:55 pm

Have a look at PC Advisor (www.pcadvisor.co.uk) reviews. All the power PCs at the moment are Athlon 64.

As splitzer said it's called an SLi link between the two graphics cards and gives you two graphics cards and ultimately more power.

Out of interest, as i'm looking for a new pc at the moment how much was that system you quoted up there Sevenheavy?
 
manzoori
Posts: 1459
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2002 7:08 am

RE: New Computer For FS9 - Any Advice Welcome!

Thu Jun 02, 2005 1:52 am

Sevenheavy,

Before you go laying down some serious dosh for a SLI enabled PC just for FS9 it may be worth buying a copy or two of PC Pilot magazine to see what they have to say about whether SLI will give you a benefit.

To be honest I've strayed from the fold somewhat having not even got FS9 installed at the moment and my subs to PC Pilot have lapsed but it's worth checking all the same.

Then again, if you play other sorts of games such as FPS then you will definitely see the benefit of SLI.

Also, have you considered having a custom system built or even having a go at it yourself? Might be able to save a few pennies that way!

Cheers!

Rez
 Big grin
Flightlineimages DOT Com Photographer & Web Editor. RR Turbines Specialist
 
sevenheavy
Posts: 927
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2004 3:30 am

RE: New Computer For FS9 - Any Advice Welcome!

Thu Jun 02, 2005 5:25 am

OhTheDrama:

The price comes to nearly £1500 including delivery. This includes the latest saitek throttle/joystick and logitech steering wheel with 4 games. They have a lot of systems to choose from and you can basically custom make your system as everything is upgradeable.

Website is www.meshcomputers.com .

Thanks again

SevenHeavy
So long 701, it was nice knowing you.
 
ohthedrama747
Posts: 244
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 3:59 am

RE: New Computer For FS9 - Any Advice Welcome!

Thu Jun 02, 2005 6:00 am

Hmm, bit pricey. Can i recommend this site to you?

www.cube247.co.uk

Extremely powerful computers, better specs than those above, (granted no games/joystick), but just to give ya a comparison.

Cheers for that,

G

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests