usair330
Posts: 691
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2002 12:48 pm

Good PC For FS9?

Sat Jul 02, 2005 6:06 am

Dell Dimension 5100 Series Intel® Pentium® 4 Processor 531 w/HT Technology (3GHz,800FSB)

Memory 1GB Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM at 400MHz (4x256M)1GB4

Keyboard Dell USB Enhanced Multimedia Keyboard

15 inch E153FP Analog Flat

Video Cards 256MB PCI Express™ x16 (DVI/VGA/TV-out) nVidia GeForce 6800

Hard Drives 160GB Serial ATA Hard Drive (7200RPM)

Floppy Drive and Media Reader 9 in 1 Media Card Reader

Operating System Microsoft® Windows® XP Media Center 2005 Edition WMCE

Mouse Dell Optical USB Mouse

Network Interface Integrated Intel® PRO 10/100 EthernetIN

Adobe Software Adobe® Acrobat® Reader 6.0
AAREAD

CD or DVD Drive Dual Drives: 16x DVD-ROM Drive + 48x CD-RW Drive
DVDCDR

Sound Card Sound Blaster® Live! 24-bit ADVANCED HD™ Audio

Speakers Dell A215 Speakers
 
David L
Posts: 8547
Joined: Tue May 18, 1999 2:26 am

RE: Good PC For FS9?

Sat Jul 02, 2005 7:21 am

Looks OK to me. I guess the only comment I have is that you might want to get a bigger monitor at some point but that's always the way.

I'm rapidly coming to the conclusion that the best PC is one dedicated to FS. I mean, I don't care a lot if something slows my SQL Server or internet access by 15% but I don't want anything interfering with FS. It would also make it much easier to troubleshoot FS whereas I'm less inclined to fine-tune other applications. Not just at the moment, though!
 
dan2002
Posts: 2024
Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2002 7:11 am

RE: Good PC For FS9?

Sat Jul 02, 2005 9:23 am

I dont think Windows XP MCE is the best o/s to run FS9 on, but I dont think it will make that much of a difference.


-Dan
A guy asks 'What's Punk?'. I kick over a trash can and its punk. He knocks over a trash can and its trendy.
 
Gerry
Posts: 235
Joined: Sat Jul 03, 1999 2:11 pm

RE: Good PC For FS9?

Sat Jul 02, 2005 11:28 am

Have you thought about a laptop?
I just bought an ACER Ferrari with;

AMD Athlon 64 cpu
80Gb
128 Mb Video (ATI mobility Radeon)
512Mb RAM
15" screen

I run FS2004 with

FScene3D
Ultimate Traffic
PMDG b737 800/900

I have all the sliders set to the Max with broken cloud and I get 29fps (locked at 30) in the air and 27 - 28 on the ground.

Oh, and its red!!!

Whatever you do get the fastest CPU you can!
 
ita350
Posts: 148
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2005 2:23 am

RE: Good PC For FS9?

Sat Jul 02, 2005 11:39 am

Quoting Dan2002 (Reply 2):
I dont think Windows XP MCE is the best o/s to run FS9 on,

I run FS9 on media center I dont find a difference at all. Infact Xp MCE is just Xp professional with a registry extension that include media center. Although i do recommend a larger screen.
 
dan2002
Posts: 2024
Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2002 7:11 am

RE: Good PC For FS9?

Sun Jul 03, 2005 12:39 am

Quoting ITA350 (Reply 4):
I run FS9 on media center I dont find a difference at all. Infact Xp MCE is just Xp professional with a registry extension that include media center. Although i do recommend a larger screen.

Do you know what that registy key does? It enables a few memory hogging processes that you dont find on XP Home or XP Pro. It adds some new services that automatically start by default consuming some more ram. Again, your talking to a person that was a member of the short lived MCE 2005 beta program. I could email them and ask if you would like to know more.


-Dan
A guy asks 'What's Punk?'. I kick over a trash can and its punk. He knocks over a trash can and its trendy.
 
David L
Posts: 8547
Joined: Tue May 18, 1999 2:26 am

RE: Good PC For FS9?

Sun Jul 03, 2005 12:42 am

Quoting Dan2002 (Reply 5):
It adds some new services that automatically start by default consuming some more ram

But surely they can be disabled if you don't want them?
 
twincommander
Posts: 182
Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2005 11:54 pm

RE: Good PC For FS9?

Sun Jul 03, 2005 1:23 pm

only problem with that machine...

Its a dell...

heres what i have;

Intel Confidental 2.4c @ 3.1ghz
2 sticks mushkin black pc-3200 memory, 512mb @ 1000mhz bus speed, dual channel mode
ASUS P4P800 Motherboard
2 seagate 80gb baracuda V SATA hard drives, in raid, stripe 0
soundblaster audigy gamer sound card
ATI Radeon x850 XT video card, AGP 256mb GDDR3 memory
enermax whisper 460w powersupply
coolermaster stacker case

im just biased since i build computers myself. i personaly cant stand any corporate built garbage.
 
dan2002
Posts: 2024
Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2002 7:11 am

RE: Good PC For FS9?

Sun Jul 03, 2005 2:47 pm

Quoting TwinCommander (Reply 7):
only problem with that machine...

Its a dell...

only problem with that machine...

Its a intel...

Quoting TwinCommander (Reply 7):
im just biased since i build computers myself. i personaly cant stand any corporate built garbage.

Agree wholehartedly.

Quoting David L (Reply 6):
But surely they can be disabled if you don't want them?

Depends, im not sure if you can or not. The beta for MCE2005 literally lasted a few weeks (for me atleast, I joined late in the game).

-Dan
A guy asks 'What's Punk?'. I kick over a trash can and its punk. He knocks over a trash can and its trendy.
 
ita350
Posts: 148
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2005 2:23 am

RE: Good PC For FS9?

Mon Jul 04, 2005 12:57 am

Dan2002 " Do you know what that registy key does? It enables a few memory hogging processes that you dont find on XP Home or XP Pro. It adds some new services that automatically start by default consuming some more ram. Again, your talking to a person that was a member of the short lived MCE 2005 beta program. I could email them and ask if you would like to know more."

I never knew that MCE consumed RAM when it wasn't running. Although when recording I thought that it was only the non-hardware enabled tuners that took up RAM. I never notice problems any problems when playing FS while recording TV. I am also using the PMDG 737 at the same time.
 
dan2002
Posts: 2024
Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2002 7:11 am

RE: Good PC For FS9?

Mon Jul 04, 2005 2:02 am

Quoting ITA350 (Reply 9):
I never notice problems any problems when playing FS while recording TV. I am also using the PMDG 737 at the same time.

Yea at like 2 FPS.


-Dan
A guy asks 'What's Punk?'. I kick over a trash can and its punk. He knocks over a trash can and its trendy.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 17 guests