aerlingus330
Posts: 812
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 2:21 am

Is This Computer Any Good For FS2004?

Fri Aug 19, 2005 7:56 am

Hi,
I already play FS2004, I have for a while now, but my Laptop is pushed to its limit with it and I cant really get the graphics out of it considering acceptable proformance...So, Im going to get a new desktop, just to put FS2004 on.

Would this one do the job?-

Compaq EVO D500
Intel Pentium 4 Processor....1.8GHz
Windows XP Professional Edition
20 or 40GB Hard Drive
128MB Graphics Card
512MB RAM

Thank-You for your replies,
AerLingus330
Aer Lingus Airbus A330-300
 
David L
Posts: 8552
Joined: Tue May 18, 1999 2:26 am

RE: Is This Computer Any Good For FS2004?

Fri Aug 19, 2005 8:10 am

I think 1.8 GHz might be stretching it a bit. You should probably try getting a bit closer to 3.0 GHz.

Is the XP Pro optional? If it saves a few quid, XP Home should be enough. I got XP Pro first (because I thought it would be "better") and XP Home for my other PCs and there's nothing the Pro version does for me that the Home versions don't do. I think you just get more admin stuff (and more stuff running in the background?).

Using it just for FS will be a big help - that's what I'm going to do at my next upgrade.
 
A3204eva
Posts: 1041
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2004 4:25 am

RE: Is This Computer Any Good For FS2004?

Fri Aug 19, 2005 9:23 am

U will have a hard time with 1.8 GHz, as David says, you need something more like a 3.0... That's what I have along with the Radeon X30 and 512mb RAM, and I easily achieve 30FpS +

Scott  Smile
"They have lady pilots......... they're not that good, but they have 'em"
 
regupilot
Posts: 452
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2004 11:45 pm

RE: Is This Computer Any Good For FS2004?

Sat Aug 20, 2005 2:52 am

I think that, although processor speed is very much needed, Flight Simulator 2004 gets more performance out of a good graphics card and RAM. Much of the special things that makes Flight Sim a great looking game, are actually performed by the graphics card, not the CPU. I have proven that by running FS9 in different machines with different cards and processor speeds... and to be honest, Graphic Card and RAM its what set the difference, not processor speed, althought it is indeed, very important. So, to me, his 1.8Ghz would work only if he upgrades RAM to, say, 768MB or 1GB. The more the better. Also, a good graphics card. This latest nVidia GeForce 6600GT is an awesome card. Based on these specs, I don't think PCIe is an option for a Radeon X series card.

Effects that are now performed by the video card:

- Anti-Aliasing
- Reflections
- Lighting
- Pixel shaders, water reflections
- MIP Mapping

These are things that basically, makes the whole simulator. The processor has really not much to do there.

To answer your question: Nope. Its not good. It will run flight sim, but not very good. Would you at least tell what's the Graphics chip??

-Ragu
 
MarBergi
Posts: 179
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2004 8:56 pm

RE: Is This Computer Any Good For FS2004?

Sat Aug 20, 2005 8:44 am

Quote:

Intel Pentium 4 Processor....1.8GHz

Try get 3+ghz processor I went form a 2ghz to a 3.4 and the difference is amazing

Quote:

20 or 40GB Hard Drive

The bigger the better, my flightsim folder is approx 15gb and growing

Quote:

128MB Graphics Card

256 would be better but knowing the make of graphics card would help

Quote:

512MB RAM

512 is good but if you really want to notice the difference I'd try increase it to 1GB if possible.
 
aerlingus330
Posts: 812
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 2:21 am

RE: Is This Computer Any Good For FS2004?

Sun Aug 21, 2005 3:30 am

Thanks for your replies guys, I think that I may not buy that system afterall and maybe try and build my own...

AerLingus330
Aer Lingus Airbus A330-300

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests