NASOCEANA
Topic Author
Posts: 277
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2005 3:40 pm

RAM And FS9?

Thu Oct 20, 2005 2:35 pm

If I increase my RAM on my computer from 256 to 512 or 1024, how great of an effect will I notice in FS. I Have a Laptop 30Gig, P4 M 1.8ghz, 256RAM, Nvidia g card

Will I have a smoother transition if I turn up all my settings to max? Or will I experience the constant screen jumping when going through cloud formations or landing?

Thanks NASOCEANA!
B777 greatest Airliner ever built!
 
dogfighter2111
Posts: 1867
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2004 3:02 am

RE: RAM And FS9?

Thu Oct 20, 2005 2:39 pm

With that speed of Processor, then i doubt it. There may be a slight increase with 512MB or 1024MB but FS isn't best played on a P4 1.8GHz. (Not saying it won't work, just slower)

Thanks
Mike
 
goinv
Posts: 255
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2005 11:16 pm

RE: RAM And FS9?

Thu Oct 20, 2005 5:18 pm

I would estimate a 15-20% increase in overall PC performance if you doubled the RAM to 512mb and probably a 20-25% increase in overall performance if you quadrupled to 1024mb.

There are massive differences in graphics cards - generally (although not always) laptops are designed for business applications and the graphics card is not that good.

This may be your problem. Also, some graphics cards "eat" into the normal system RAM - so you may think you have 256Mb, but your graphics card is using anything up to 64Mb of this - meaning you have less than 200mb to play with. If your laptop does this - and it has windows XP - believe me - PUT MORE RAM IN. I recently upgraded a laptop (similar to the one described above) and it increased it's speed by (I would estimate) 80%

Hope this helps
Be who you are, The world was made to measure for your smile. So Smile.
 
flyingKangaroo
Posts: 507
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2004 10:29 pm

RE: RAM And FS9?

Thu Oct 20, 2005 7:38 pm

hey there.

a tad off topic, but how do you bring up that screen that gives ur RAM info, graphic card info, n all that?

thanks!

flyingKangaroo
QANTAS-- The Spirit of Australia
 
NASOCEANA
Topic Author
Posts: 277
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2005 3:40 pm

RE: RAM And FS9?

Fri Oct 21, 2005 1:55 am

Quoting FlyingKangaroo (Reply 3):
how do you bring up that screen that gives ur RAM info, graphic card info, n all that?

If you windows XP

Click: Start - My Computer - View System Information
This should display the computer specs

Graphics card
Click Start - Control Panel - Other Control Panel Options

Hope this helps

NASOCEANA!
B777 greatest Airliner ever built!
 
dogfighter2111
Posts: 1867
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2004 3:02 am

RE: RAM And FS9?

Fri Oct 21, 2005 1:55 am

Quoting FlyingKangaroo (Reply 3):

Go to Start, then select Run and then type in:

dxdiag

and then click ok.

That will display a whole load of info you want about your PC.

Thanks
Mike

EDIT: Gives more detailed info about your PC than the info in the post above ^

[Edited 2005-10-20 18:57:30]
 
NASOCEANA
Topic Author
Posts: 277
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2005 3:40 pm

RE: RAM And FS9?

Fri Oct 21, 2005 1:57 am

Thanks for the help! I think I will add more RAM as it will help my laptop all around.

Is there one type of RAM stick better than another?

NASOCEANA!
B777 greatest Airliner ever built!
 
NASOCEANA
Topic Author
Posts: 277
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2005 3:40 pm

RE: RAM And FS9?

Fri Oct 21, 2005 2:04 am

Quoting Dogfighter2111 (Reply 5):
Gives more detailed info about your PC than the info

Didn't know about that but thinks also!

Regards
NASOCEANA
B777 greatest Airliner ever built!
 
dogfighter2111
Posts: 1867
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2004 3:02 am

RE: RAM And FS9?

Fri Oct 21, 2005 4:22 am

Quoting NASOCEANA (Reply 7):

No probs, that is what all of the I.T. guys/gals use when they check a PC. It's worth knowing, because it gives Software Version numbers etc.

Thanks
Mike

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests