MADtoCAE
Topic Author
Posts: 1094
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2004 7:32 pm

Repainters? Please Help...

Wed Nov 30, 2005 5:54 am

So, I got photoshop, started painting a KLM 744, OK everything is goin well.
Ive got 2 problems:
1. When I add a logo to the tail fuselage or whatever, how do I know what size te repaint it to?
2. DXBmp... well, I know the paints dont work without this but I have no idea of how it works. What do I do with it?
Operator!!! Give me the number for 911!!
 
MIAspotter
Posts: 2848
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2001 1:57 pm

RE: Repainters? Please Help...

Wed Nov 30, 2005 7:54 pm

Hmmm... Ok I am totally useless on photoshop but I can help you with DXTbmp

Right you need DXTbmp to convert the textures into a format that FS uses to "read" textures DXT3, DXT1 or 32bits.

First after you have finished the repaint in photoshop or paintshop or whatever you use, you open it on DXTbmp simply by drag-and-dropping it into the DXTbmp window. then you add the alpha layer (so that the plane shines in the sim) after that you save it in the format of your preference. on DXT3 the texture will load faster on the aircraft but you compromise a bit of sharpness (not sure if its true), I prefer saving them in 32 bit 888-8 because they look sharper.

Hope this helps.

MIAspotter
Nos vamos de Vueling?
 
User avatar
ZSOFN
Posts: 1379
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 5:20 pm

RE: Repainters? Please Help...

Wed Nov 30, 2005 8:13 pm

In answer to question 1:

Working out the size of the font you should use is really a case of trial and error until it looks right. As scales can differ on paint kits, there's no way of giving a more definitive answer than this.
 
MADtoCAE
Topic Author
Posts: 1094
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2004 7:32 pm

RE: Repainters? Please Help...

Wed Nov 30, 2005 11:54 pm

Thnaks for the help guys, I appreciate it.
MIAspotter, how do you add a alpha layer?  embarrassed 
Operator!!! Give me the number for 911!!
 
MADtoCAE
Topic Author
Posts: 1094
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2004 7:32 pm

RE: Repainters? Please Help...

Thu Dec 01, 2005 1:41 am

Ok, so I painted the fuselage of the 744:
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v518/AJNC/photoshop.jpg
I did the DXTBmp thing(without the alpha layer)
Put the textures in the plane folder, opened up FS and got this:
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v518/AJNC/wrongFS.jpg


What did I do wrong?
Operator!!! Give me the number for 911!!
 
northstardc4m
Posts: 2724
Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2000 11:23 am

RE: Repainters? Please Help...

Thu Dec 01, 2005 2:07 am

if its the POSky paintkit, the full fuse sides are not the actual textures. Next thing you need to do is open up the texture folder, find *_bodyl_t / *_bodyr_t and paste your fuselage textures into position on them.

Best suggestion i can make is this: anytime you are going to paint a plane, download an already painted version and take a look at what is in the texture folder. The files you see in there are the ones you NEED to have in yours. Any others won't show on the model.
Those who would give up Essential Liberty to purchase a little Temporary Safety, deserve neither Liberty nor Safety.
 
MIAspotter
Posts: 2848
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2001 1:57 pm

RE: Repainters? Please Help...

Thu Dec 01, 2005 2:51 am

Have you got MSN? MADtoCAE?

Add me christian_mondra at hotmail dot com .

MIAspotter
Nos vamos de Vueling?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests