Mr Spaceman
Topic Author
Posts: 2723
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2001 5:09 am

Flt Sim 04 - Creating IFR Flight Plans?

Tue Dec 13, 2005 11:13 pm

Hi guys.

OK, I have a problem that I hope you can help me with because I haven't had the time to figure it out on my own ..... if it can be fixed.

I'm off work for a few days (bruised ribs! Ouch!  frown  ), so I want to get in some good flight simming while I can. My question is about setting up an IFR Flight Plan.

For my first flight today, I want to depart from Philadelphia Intl (KPHL) in the Learjet 45 and fly to Greenwood, Nova Scotia (CYZX), (ETE -1:17) and shoot the ILS approach for runway 26 ..... with User Defined weather that's set with clouds & vis down to minimums. That's easy to do so far, however, I then want to fly the Learjet back West to it's homebase in Toronto at Downsview Airport (CYZD).

The problem is that with Toronto entered as my final destination airport on my IFR Flight Plan, I will only receive radar vectors from ATC for a flight from Philly to Toronto ......... even though I have a stop at Greenwood, NS entered into my GPS.

So, is there a way I can fly to both Greenwood & Toronto under the same IFR flight plan?

In other words, I'd like to fly to Greenwood via radar vectors from ATC, land in IFR conditions, and shut down the engines. Then, about 45 minutes later (after doing some chores around my home in the real world  scared  ), I want to start up the engines and receive an IFR clearance to continue on to Toronto while following vectors untill it's time to try a non-precision approach at Toronto's Downsview airport.

Can I do this? If so, how?

I'd really appreciates some help & answers about this planned flight.

Thanks,


Chris  Smile
"Just a minute while I re-invent myself"
 
A3204eva
Posts: 1041
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2004 4:25 am

RE: Flt Sim 04 - Creating IFR Flight Plans?

Tue Dec 13, 2005 11:32 pm

Well I don't think it's possible... I think you'd just have to refile with the next flightplan when you're ready.

But ATC vectoring you the entire way?? An odd way to fly Big grin
"They have lady pilots......... they're not that good, but they have 'em"
 
Mr Spaceman
Topic Author
Posts: 2723
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2001 5:09 am

RE: Flt Sim 04 - Creating IFR Flight Plans?

Tue Dec 13, 2005 11:59 pm

Hello A3204eva.

Thanks for your reply.

Quoting A3204eva (Reply 1):
Well I don't think it's possible... I think you'd just have to refile with the next flightplan when you're ready.

OK, that's fine. But, can I file a new IFR flight plan for the leg from Greenwood to Toronto without having to completely reset everything ("Create" a whole new flight). Can I file a new IFR Flt Plan while on the ramp at Greenwood with the clock still running ..... or do I need to end the flight & exit completely, and then start from scratch?

Quoting A3204eva (Reply 1):
But ATC vectoring you the entire way?? An odd way to fly

Well, not the entire way. Just the usual heading vectors and altitude clearances during the departure & arrival phases of the flight. I have the autopilot locked onto the GPS course during the enroute cruise phase .... once ATC gets me there! Big grin




Chris  Smile
"Just a minute while I re-invent myself"
 
A3204eva
Posts: 1041
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2004 4:25 am

RE: Flt Sim 04 - Creating IFR Flight Plans?

Wed Dec 14, 2005 10:25 am

Quoting Mr Spaceman (Reply 2):
can I file a new IFR flight plan for the leg from Greenwood to Toronto without having to completely reset everything ("Create" a whole new flight). Can I file a new IFR Flt Plan while on the ramp at Greenwood with the clock still running ..... or do I need to end the flight & exit completely, and then start from scratch?

To be honest, I have no idea... I don't use FS9 default ATC. I fly on VATSIM so I talk to real people and file flightplans through a program called SB3  Smile

Guess you'll find out with trial and error  Smile
"They have lady pilots......... they're not that good, but they have 'em"
 
jeffry747
Posts: 906
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2005 6:26 pm

RE: Flt Sim 04 - Creating IFR Flight Plans?

Sun Dec 18, 2005 5:17 am

Quoting Mr Spaceman (Reply 2):
But, can I file a new IFR flight plan for the leg from Greenwood to Toronto without having to completely reset everything

Yes you can. After you park the plane, shut her down, and do what you gotta do AFK, open the menu under "Flights". Then simply select "Create or open new flightplan". After you create and open your new flight plan, FS9 will ask you if you want to move aircraft to the new airport listed under departure. Make sure to say "NO", otherwise you will be moved to that airport's active runway. Saying "NO" will leave the plane right where you parked it. You should then be able to receive IFR clearance to your new destination.
C'mon Big B, FLY!
 
Mr Spaceman
Topic Author
Posts: 2723
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2001 5:09 am

RE: Flt Sim 04 - Creating IFR Flight Plans?

Sun Dec 18, 2005 7:13 pm

Hello Jeffry747.

Thanks for your reply.

OK, I understand how it works now and I'm sure glad I can continue flying from one airport to another without having to reset everything like the "user defined weather" and time, etc ........ unless I want to. Big grin I always wondered why the Sim would ask me if I wanted it to move my aircraft to the airport on the flight plan???  scratchchin  Now I know why.

I finally took the time to do a lot of reading about, and experimenting with the simulator (MS Flt Sim 2004) after flying it for over a year ..... and I learned about so many things I can do that I wasn't aware of. It's like having a new simulator now!  silly 

For instance ...... I just flew the Learjet 45 from Toronto Intl (CYYZ) to Grand Canyon National (KGCN) in Arizona. Then I switched the aircraft type to the Bell 206 JetRanger helicopter and flew down into the canyon right to the river level and followed the canyon towards the Northeast on a tour and landed it down there. What a real blast! Especially since I didn't crash the chopper, although the landings were not pretty! The graphics for the canyon are wild!  eek 

Then I switched to the Mooney Bravo and flew Southeast from KGCN to White Sands Regl (KALM) in New Mexico where I arrived just after sunset and enjoyed all the lights of the town and airport plus in the clouds ...... as I landed.

I did this all with the same time and weather as if it were for real. What a trip!  bigthumbsup 

Chris  Smile
"Just a minute while I re-invent myself"
 
jeffry747
Posts: 906
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2005 6:26 pm

RE: Flt Sim 04 - Creating IFR Flight Plans?

Sun Dec 18, 2005 11:29 pm

I'm certainly glad I was able to be of assistance. Glad to see you had alot of fun on your flight as well!  bigthumbsup   bigthumbsup 
C'mon Big B, FLY!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSNbot Media and 9 guests