LawrenceMck
Topic Author
Posts: 301
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 3:45 am

White Squares

Wed Dec 28, 2005 6:40 am

Hey i've got this problem with the default scenery on FS2004. When changing views from inside the plane to outside or visa versa, white squared appear on the terrain below and take a significent ammount of time to disappear. You can still see the terrain through these white squares but they are rather annoying. This has only just started happenning to me. Ive read posts about white blocks on expansion scenery, but not on the default terrain, any advice would be helpful.
Thanks.
Love It To Live It
 
dreamer
Posts: 371
Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2004 9:18 pm

RE: White Squares

Thu Dec 29, 2005 7:20 am

You will get white squares anytime your system is not able to update your view fast enough. It can happen with any scenery, and is really a result of your system lagging. If it has just started to happen then something is your cause for a slow down. It could be your sysem running slower just because you have more stuff on it in general, or your system is fragmented, or you have installed more aircrafts in FS, or maybe you were flying a more frame demanding aircraft? I see white squares mostly when I fly my PMDG and change my view as you described. Or maybe you have cranked up your FS settings (clouds, traffic, graphics)
still dreaming after all these years
 
LawrenceMck
Topic Author
Posts: 301
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 3:45 am

RE: White Squares

Fri Dec 30, 2005 7:43 pm

My system runs fine, getting good fps, but its as if patches on the landscape are covered by a white film, maybe I should just re-install FS?

Lawrence
Love It To Live It
 
dogfighter2111
Posts: 1867
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2004 3:02 am

RE: White Squares

Fri Dec 30, 2005 11:10 pm

Hey, this happens to me from time to time. It is purely just the speed your system can process the Graphics.

What is your Processor speed and what is your card type including amount of RAM it has?

Thanks
Mike
 
LawrenceMck
Topic Author
Posts: 301
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 3:45 am

RE: White Squares

Sat Dec 31, 2005 1:17 am

My processor is 3.06Ghz, 128MB Graphics Card, I also have 900MB of RAM.
Love It To Live It
 
dogfighter2111
Posts: 1867
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2004 3:02 am

RE: White Squares

Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:36 am

Hey,

Your Processor is ok, but what about make is your Graphics Card, and version?

I use a NvIdia GeForce FX5200 256MB card, and that processes the graphics really fast, i only se the little white squares for 2 seconds.

Thanks
Mike

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests