mikedlayer
Posts: 390
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2004 7:40 am

Upgrading For FS

Thu Dec 29, 2005 4:51 am

Hi all,

Finally decided to upgrade my PC so I can actually use FS. It's been perfectly fine up until last week, where it seems on my world trip leg number 4 using FS Passengers (HECA-OMDB) my pc enjoys freezing. Not exactly sure why as its only ever done this once before (and Windows told me to install the FS update on the Microsoft website) which seemed to fix the problem. Obviously not.

What do you think of these specs?

Old:
Pentium 4 1.7Ghz 533mhz FSB
64mb Graphics Card
512 MB RAM

Planned new specs:
Pentium 4 3.0ghz 800mhz FSB
256mb Graphics Card
1GB RAM

Mike
 
freedomtofly
Posts: 714
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2005 8:07 am

RE: Upgrading For FS

Thu Dec 29, 2005 5:11 am

Absolutely perfect! You're graphics card is definitely your biggest problem, as FS relies on a good graphics card for all the processing of effects and weather and stuff. Honestly with your 256 MB graphics card and 1 GB of memory, you should be fine. The first thing about upgrading to P4 3 GHz is almost not necessary, but it's up to you, have fun!

Aaron
You are now free to move about the world.
 
Gofly
Posts: 1579
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2005 4:12 am

RE: Upgrading For FS

Thu Dec 29, 2005 5:53 am

Very nice, I agree with everything Aaron has said! Which graphics card are you considering?

-Gofly  Smile
Living the high life on my ex-Airliners.net Moderator pension...
 
User avatar
DesertFlyer
Posts: 358
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2005 2:05 pm

RE: Upgrading For FS

Thu Dec 29, 2005 6:07 am

The fact that it is a 256MB video card has less to do with how good the card will work for FS. What is your budget for the card? Assuming you have AGP, not PCI-Express, this is an excellent card if on a budget:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16814130220

There are even better cards out there if you would like to spend more, but that one should be able to play FS just fine. If you really enjoy gaming and want to update your processor, AMD chips are MUCH better than Intel for this, and tend to be less expensive. A gig of RAM doesn't hurt either.  Smile
 
boeingfanyyz
Posts: 970
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2005 12:12 pm

RE: Upgrading For FS

Thu Dec 29, 2005 7:05 am

Hey guys,

I have recently had some issues with FS, as it causes my computer to randomly shut down. I've spoken with the people at Toshiba, and they think that it's something to do with the computer over-heating, but I'm not sure I believe them.

Here is some basic information about my computer (I'm not a huge computer person, so I am probably leaving out a lot of things):

Computer: Toshiba Satellite A70
3.07 GHz, 448 MB of RAM

Any ideas are most certainly welcome!

Cheers,
Boeingfanyyz  airplane 
"If it aint boeing, it aint going!", "Friends are like condoms...they protect you when things get hard!"
 
mikedlayer
Posts: 390
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2004 7:40 am

RE: Upgrading For FS

Thu Dec 29, 2005 10:05 am

Quoting Boeingfanyyz (Reply 4):
I have recently had some issues with FS, as it causes my computer to randomly shut down.

Exactly the same sort of problem I've been having, it either shuts down and reboots completely, or it just freezes and I have to manually reboot. I can't see it being overheating, as I never have had this problem before the other week. I have 2 fans inside my casing, and just to try and cool it down a bit more had the casing sides off. I think it could be something to do with FS personally.

Quoting DesertFlyer (Reply 3):
The fact that it is a 256MB video card has less to do with how good the card will work for FS. What is your budget for the card?

I was thinking this:

http://www.udiggit.com/udiggit/productDetail/showProduct/2_MjgyNg==/

What do you think?
 
User avatar
DesertFlyer
Posts: 358
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2005 2:05 pm

RE: Upgrading For FS

Thu Dec 29, 2005 6:54 pm

Random reboots usually are caused by the power supply, or overheating (processor or video card.) It's hard to say exactly what is causing your problem though, as it could also be a problem with your Windows installation. The fact that it's causing your laptop to reboot, Boeingfanyyz, leads me to believe it is in fact overheating. Laptops are notorious for it, especially while gaming. You could pick up a laptop cooling pad to use while at home, and see if that fixes your problem, and they are not expensive.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...opertycodevalue=2768:17102&bop=and

As for the nVidia G-Force 6200, it would perform only slightly better than your current card. The problem with the 6200 is that it only has 4 pixel pipelines and DDR memory. If you want a true improvement, and a card that will last you into the future, you will probably want something with at least 8 pipes and the newer faster GDDR3 memory. This all comes at a higher price of course, but it is worth it.

Maybe you should check the heatsink on your processor to make sure there isn't too much dirt built up and completely rule out your computer is not overheating before you put money into a new video card and possibly keep having the same problems. Your powersupply could be dying, the processor could be overheating, or the video card could be overheating (just to name a few possibilities). Maybe it would be worth also trying a fresh install of FS to make sure the program didn't get corrupt or something like that.

If you really would like to build a new computer, that's always fun too. Big grin
 
boeingfanyyz
Posts: 970
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2005 12:12 pm

RE: Upgrading For FS

Fri Dec 30, 2005 1:42 am

Quoting DesertFlyer (Reply 6):

Thanks a lot for your help. I'll definitely look into investing in that.
Cheers,
Boeingfanyyz  airplane 
"If it aint boeing, it aint going!", "Friends are like condoms...they protect you when things get hard!"
 
mikedlayer
Posts: 390
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2004 7:40 am

RE: Upgrading For FS

Fri Dec 30, 2005 4:30 am

Quoting DesertFlyer (Reply 6):
As for the nVidia G-Force 6200, it would perform only slightly better than your current card. The problem with the 6200 is that it only has 4 pixel pipelines and DDR memory. If you want a true improvement, and a card that will last you into the future, you will probably want something with at least 8 pipes and the newer faster GDDR3 memory. This all comes at a higher price of course, but it is worth it.

I would of thought a 256mb card would make a much bigger impact than a 64mb card surely? Would it be advantageous to upgrade to the 6600 rather than a 6200 (even thought it is an extra £30 which I'm not sure I have to spend?)?
 
User avatar
DesertFlyer
Posts: 358
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2005 2:05 pm

RE: Upgrading For FS

Fri Dec 30, 2005 5:29 am

What they do is just put a lot of DDR RAM on an older chipset. If you were to get a 6600, get the 6600GT because it has the GDDR3 RAM, which is much faster. In the end it's up to you, but the 6600GT is a good value card that will give you a major improvement over your current setup. While the 6200 may have some gains in performance, I do not believe it would be enough to justify the investment. It's up to you though, and I have not used the 6200 with FS, I'm just basing my opinions here of the specifications of the cards.
 
mikedlayer
Posts: 390
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2004 7:40 am

RE: Upgrading For FS

Fri Dec 30, 2005 6:12 am

Thanks I'll look into it.

Quoting Freedomtofly (Reply 1):
The first thing about upgrading to P4 3 GHz is almost not necessary, but it's up to you, have fun!

What is the priority here do you think? A new graphics card or a new CPU?
 
mikedlayer
Posts: 390
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2004 7:40 am

RE: Upgrading For FS

Thu Jan 05, 2006 8:05 pm

Small set back here! Wondering if anyone could help. Just bought a new motherboard which I'm pleased with. However I've just noticed in the manual it says not to use a 3.3V Graphics Card in the AGP slot of this motherboard. So it rules out the 6200 256mb AGP card I was intending on purchasing for £44.

Are there any other 256mb AGP cards which aren't 3.3V or would I have to go PCI? I've never used a PCI graphics card and I'm on the assumption they're performance is lower than that of an AGP cards? I also really only have a budget of a maximum of about £70 so I'm not really sure where to start, any ideas?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests