Fly2HMO
Posts: 7207
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2004 12:14 pm

FS9 And ATI's "X" Series Cards, Your Experiences?

Fri Jan 06, 2006 8:45 am

I'm about to buy a ATI X800 AGP, and after a looooot of research, I chose this as my new card, which should be a monstrous performance gain from my wimpy Radeon 9200 on a PCI board. Although this would mean getting a new motherboard too, because I don't have an AGP slot. I also need the AGP version too which is more rare because I ditched getting a mobo with pciE, since it would be too expensive to get that AND a new cpu with 775 socket config. Also unless you get a 64bit processor, PCIe won't be much faster than AGP. Plus, I've read the X800 is highly over-clockable, I just hope I won't fry my system Big grin

I'd be really interested in hearing your experiences with that card, or any other one of the upper level (X600+) series.

 wave 
 
SWISSER
Posts: 1568
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 11:31 am

RE: FS9 And ATI's "X" Series Cards, Your Experiences?

Fri Jan 06, 2006 10:54 am

Hi!

I have an X800XT Platinum and it is like Concorde compared to my previous cards!

You won't regret the price tag, especially the AGP version will increase a lot and I recommant the DNA drivers with it.
What time is top of descent?
 
Fly2HMO
Posts: 7207
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2004 12:14 pm

RE: FS9 And ATI's "X" Series Cards, Your Experiences?

Fri Jan 06, 2006 3:06 pm

Quoting SWISSER (Reply 1):
the DNA drivers with it.

You don't use ATI's catalyst drivers?
 
User avatar
nighthawk
Posts: 4795
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2001 2:33 am

RE: FS9 And ATI's "X" Series Cards, Your Experiences?

Fri Jan 06, 2006 7:29 pm

I recently switched from an ATI 9200 to an X800, and im very pleased with the increase. Taxiing around heathrow with full AI I was getting about 2-5 fps, now I get about 30.

Before and after upgrading I ran 3D Mark benchmarks, and got a score of 900 for my ATI9200, and 9,000 for my X800 Big grin

I would strongly recommend the card, im certainly not dissapointed. One piece of advice, with your new card go into the ATI control panel and disable "Application specified" for all the settings (AA, Antisetropic etc), the difference is absolutely unbelieveable. My graphics were very shimmery and just looked very textury, however by disabling ap preference and specifyiung the AA settings through the card instead my graphics were much crisper.
 
flyingKangaroo
Posts: 507
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2004 10:29 pm

RE: FS9 And ATI's "X" Series Cards, Your Experienc

Fri Jan 06, 2006 7:56 pm

Quoting Nighthawk (Reply 3):
I recently switched from an ATI 9200 to an X800, and im very pleased with the increase. Taxiing around heathrow with full AI I was getting about 2-5 fps, now I get about 30.

I've got a ATI X800 XL on order..cant wait till it arrives! Anyway, the 30fps your getting, is that with Heathrow Pro scenery or just the starndard scenery?

flyingKangaroo
QANTAS-- The Spirit of Australia
 
SWISSER
Posts: 1568
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 11:31 am

RE: FS9 And ATI's "X" Series Cards, Your Experiences?

Mon Jan 09, 2006 8:26 am

Quoting FLY2HMO (Reply 2):
You don't use ATI's catalyst drivers?

Nope, DNA gives (even) better results in FS9 with me and has 100% control of the X800XT PE.

Quoting Nighthawk (Reply 3):
I would strongly recommend the card, im certainly not dissapointed. One piece of advice, with your new card go into the ATI control panel and disable "Application specified" for all the settings (AA, Antisetropic etc), the difference is absolutely unbelieveable. My graphics were very shimmery and just looked very textury, however by disabling ap preference and specifyiung the AA settings through the card instead my graphics were much crisper.

Yes, that is a good piece of advice!
Also make sure to set the AA not to high, the X800's could manage 16X, but the FPS on 2X 4X are a massive increase!

Also make sure that in FSIM all AA and stuff are turned off, let the ATI driver take full control of the display in FS9.
What time is top of descent?
 
SWISSER
Posts: 1568
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 11:31 am

RE: FS9 And ATI's "X" Series Cards, Your Experiences?

Mon Jan 09, 2006 8:31 am

Quoting FlyingKangaroo (Reply 4):
flyingKangaroo

Welcome to the X800 club  Wink
What time is top of descent?
 
User avatar
nighthawk
Posts: 4795
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2001 2:33 am

RE: FS9 And ATI's "X" Series Cards, Your Experiences?

Tue Jan 10, 2006 6:13 am

Quoting SWISSER (Reply 5):
Also make sure that in FSIM all AA and stuff are turned off, let the ATI driver take full control of the display in FS9.

I think at present its still turned on in FS, i might try turning it off and see what happens.

flyingkangaroo: just default FS scenery
 
ewmahle
Posts: 93
Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2005 10:36 am

RE: FS9 And ATI's "X" Series Cards, Your Experiences?

Tue Jan 10, 2006 12:09 pm

Whats up. Just bought a Radeon X700 Pro AGP card for using FS9 with. Could use some help though. Can not get my FS9 to startup now. It boots up and the create a flight screen will flash quickly and just shut down again. Anyone had this problem before? Everything else works great with the new card, any suggestions would be appriciated.
 
Fly2HMO
Posts: 7207
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2004 12:14 pm

RE: FS9 And ATI's "X" Series Cards, Your Experiences?

Wed Jan 11, 2006 5:05 am

Quoting Ewmahle (Reply 8):
Could use some help though.

-download new drivers from ati's website (never use the ones in the disk, they'ra always outdated)
-go to your fs9 directory and try using the fs2002 or fs2000 executables to start flightsim.

I've got a few new questions:

1 Were you guys able to max out every slider (even 3d clouds) at say , 1024x768x16? (which is what I use)

2 Do you have triple buffering on?

3 Is there really that much of a difference between DNA and Catalyst drivers? Where do I get DNA?

Thanks.
 
dan330
Posts: 433
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2001 12:52 am

RE: FS9 And ATI's "X" Series Cards, Your Experiences?

Fri Jan 13, 2006 7:03 am

Hey all,

I'm using the X800XT PE and I'm having major problems as my FS keeps crashing!
The whole system crashes at certain areas of the FS world.

I'll try a few of the tips above but has anybody had similar experiences as everyone else seems to be saying good things about the card, am I the only one suffering these problems?

Any other suggestions that I could try?

Regards,

Dan
 
SWISSER
Posts: 1568
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 11:31 am

RE: FS9 And ATI's "X" Series Cards, Your Experiences?

Mon Jan 16, 2006 11:38 am

Quoting Dan330 (Reply 10):
Regards,

Dan

Hi Dan,

I use exactly the same card as you! (in fact you are the only one I know who also has the PE!)

what version do you use the PCI express or the AGP?
I use the AGP version.

I never had those problems, but I sometimes have CTD's without any notification that where due to bad AFCAD files.

Also with these cards (in fact all X series) set the AGP aperture in the BIOS to 256MB, it will improve results dramatically and maybe can fix your problem.

Also the Overdrive option, turn it off, it can give crashes on FSIM while it seldomly gives improvement on the X800XT PE.

Try different drivers and make sure that your card is installed correctly, both hard as software.
you can see it when a blue light comes out of your PC that the X800XT PE is correctly installed.
What time is top of descent?
 
SWISSER
Posts: 1568
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 11:31 am

RE: FS9 And ATI's "X" Series Cards, Your Experiences?

Mon Jan 16, 2006 11:47 am

Quoting FLY2HMO (Reply 9):
1 Were you guys able to max out every slider (even 3d clouds) at say , 1024x768x16? (which is what I use)

2 Do you have triple buffering on?

3 Is there really that much of a difference between DNA and Catalyst drivers? Where do I get DNA?

1* I use 1600x1200x32 at 100% 3D clouds, not much frame drop, but my sight is set to the minimum, as in the real world you seldomly see more then 60 miles wide.
2* I use double I believe, there is a massive FPS increase there.
3* With me there was a difference with the DNA drivers due to the X800XT PE support, find them here http://www.dna-drivers.com/
What time is top of descent?
 
dan330
Posts: 433
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2001 12:52 am

RE: FS9 And ATI's "X" Series Cards, Your Experiences?

Tue Jan 17, 2006 8:23 am

SWISSER - Yep also use e GP version. I tried some of the advice above and turned the AA and fitering thingy down to 4x and unticked the "let application decide".

Flw in and out of DUS yesterday without it crashing for the first time in ages, so far so good and hopefully I may have found the problem. Does appear that the frame rates are better as well.

Bit more testing but hopefully I can flight sim working full time now!
 
SWISSER
Posts: 1568
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 11:31 am

RE: FS9 And ATI's "X" Series Cards, Your Experiences?

Tue Jan 17, 2006 12:20 pm

Quoting Dan330 (Reply 13):
Bit more testing but hopefully I can flight sim working full time now!

Great!
also don't forget that aperture thing in the BIOS!
the PE's have a large memory and that gives the best results with a larger aperture, setting 8MB or 64MB could even be the most important cause for the crashes.
It is however not recommended for 128MB cards to set the AGP aperture to 256MB, 128MB is generally the best option, and you always need to test it for yourself in FSIM.
What time is top of descent?
 
DeC
Posts: 535
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2005 5:12 am

RE: FS9 And ATI's "X" Series Cards, Your Experiences?

Wed Jan 18, 2006 12:45 pm

I have a recently purchased SAPPHIRE ATI X800 GT AGP 256MB and it's running like a smooth baby! I couldn't believe it at first, after upgrading from my shitty nvdia geforce 5500 (yes, lame i know hehe). What�s really important, apart the BIOS aperture size set in 256 and higher (depends on the overall hardware and especially the 3d card), is that you use the latest ATI CATALYST drivers and overclocking tools are handy as well. I use the TRIXX tool by Sapphire, the one that came with my card and it can really do wonders. Most importantly though, in the FS display setup be sure to uncheck RENDER TO TEXTURE as it dramatically slows down FPS and I also have all anti-aliasing off. triLinear buffering is what I use as well with fps set to unlimited, and resolution at 1024x768x32. What I found hugely important though are the following settings on the c:documents and settingsadministratorapplication datamicrosoftfs9fs9.cfg (EDIT this with notepad or something) and be sure you have only ONE line that reads (say)

[DISPLAY.Device.RADEON X800GT.0]
Mode=1024x768x32

(i.e. if you changed any video cards, flight simulator might possibly have the previous card registered as well, something that slows it down. Be sure to have only the current card noted in there)

And the whole section underneath that should look like:

[DISPLAY.Device.RADEON X800GT.0]
Mode=1024x768x32
RenderToTexture=0
TextureAGP=0
PanelAsTexture=0
TriLinear=1
MipBias=8

Also do a search (ctrl+f) and find the following lines and modify as follows:

[DISPLAY]
UPPER_FRAMERATE_LIMIT=0
TEXTURE_BANDWIDTH_MULT=400

And save the cfg file.

You won�t believe how much these settings changed my fps. And of course these are for my own set of hardware. Experiment a bit and you can find your own fitting settings.

Hope I was of help, although I guess you all know these already. If you have any more effective edits of this nature, bring them in!



http://www.sapphiretech.com/
DEC
 
Fly2HMO
Posts: 7207
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2004 12:14 pm

RE: FS9 And ATI's "X" Series Cards, Your Experiences?

Sat Jan 21, 2006 9:33 am

I just installed my card, and whoa that thing hauls some serious arse!!!  eyepopping 

I have fs9 limited to 30 fps, and only with really complex aircraft (IFDG's A32x) and really detailed payware scenery, it goes down to 15 fps. Even when it goes to the low 20s it still looks smooth, it doesn't seem to have those fps spurts my other card had. I set it at 1024*768*16 (no real difference with 32bit colors really) and 2xAA 16x AF. Every slider at max, except autogen (dense) and weather set to the preset ultra high setting. That worked real well for me.

Quoting DeC (Reply 15):
TEXTURE_BANDWIDTH_MULT=400

Do you know what that does? because I have it set by default to 60. Does it have to do with slow loading textures?

 wave 
 
DeC
Posts: 535
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2005 5:12 am

RE: FS9 And ATI's "X" Series Cards, Your Experiences?

Mon Jan 23, 2006 9:00 pm

Quoting FLY2HMO (Reply 16):
Do you know what that does? because I have it set by default to 60. Does it have to do with slow loading textures?

Well, not really - i read it at: http://www.precisionmanuals.com/html/support/FAQ.htm
but it did change my fsp rate a lot.
DEC
 
User avatar
AirPacific747
Posts: 9394
Joined: Mon May 19, 2008 9:52 am

RE: FS9 And ATI's "X" Series Cards, Your Experiences?

Tue Jan 24, 2006 4:16 am

I have an X600

Its a good graphicscard, although I am disappointed that it is not good at rendering the clouds in fs.. it starts lagging a lot, so if you love clouds, dont buy it.
Other than that, my graphicscard serves me well with good framerates!
 
speedysounds
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 12:00 am

RE: FS9 And ATI's "X" Series Cards, Your Experienc

Mon Feb 20, 2006 6:30 pm

Don't know if anyone else has the same problem as me, but using an X800GT card with the latest ATI drivers I cannot get the fog or haze layer to show, making the horizon look really unrealistically hard at all visibilities. This was a problem previously with Radeon 9200 cards, and a fix was given by MS to add the line TableFog=1 to the display.cfg. However, doesn't seem to be a fix posted for this card. MS Support seem to be stumped too, so any help would be much appreciated!
 
DeC
Posts: 535
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2005 5:12 am

RE: FS9 And ATI's "X" Series Cards, Your Experiences?

Mon Feb 20, 2006 10:24 pm

hmmmm...never heard of it...where exactly do you put that line if you have the ati radeon x800 gt? There're many graphic cards' subdirectories in there. Other than that, i have this card and have no problem with this...are you sure all the settings in directx, msfs setup menus and in the ati catalyst setup are ok?
DEC
 
speedysounds
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 12:00 am

RE: FS9 And ATI's "X" Series Cards, Your Experiences?

Tue Feb 21, 2006 12:07 am

Really couldn't tell you if they are all set up ok to be honest, as I'm a bit of a novice when it comes to things like that. What I can say is that all MSFS sliders are full to the right - ATI control panel settings - haven't a clue! Maybe, as you have the same card, you could set me on the right track here?
 
DeC
Posts: 535
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2005 5:12 am

RE: FS9 And ATI's "X" Series Cards, Your Experiences?

Tue Feb 21, 2006 1:38 am

Yeap! Btw, which card do you have? mine it's SAPPHIRE ati radeon x800 gt 256 ram agp

Be sure to have the latest directx and ati catalyst drivers FIRST:

Get them (ATI Catalyst 6.2 Catalyst Package and everything else you might need at http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/ - be sure to check for updates every now and then).

AFTER you install them (especially the ati catalyst one) come back and see my settings, if they're of help to you:

my FS2004 settings:

DISPLAY
scenery --> global scenery quality --> ultra high
aircraft --> global aircraft quality --> high
weather --> global weather quality --> high
hardware --> be sure to have your correct card selected --> 1024x768x32 / target frame rate : unlimited / tick ONLY transform and lighting / filtering: trilinear / mip mapping quality : 8 / hardware rendered lights : 6 / global max texture size : high

now, my ATI CATALYST settings:

Select VIEW - advanced view

then go and set the following stuff:
3d - standard settings - use custom settings
anti-aliasing : 2x and nothing else checked
anisotropic filtering : 16x and nothing else checked
catalyst AI : standard (left side)
mipmap detail level : quality (far right)
smartshader : none
api specific : check (tick) Enable geometry instancing
check (tick) support dtx texture formats
and check (tick) triple buffering

(be sure to check only the ones i told you)

that's what i use and have no problems. I also overclock my card but i don't recommend it unless you know perfectly well what you're doing. In any case, that has nothing to do with your problem. Just be sure to have the latest directx from microsoft running ok and the latest ati catalyst drivers installed and running ok. Other than that, it's good to use the same desktop screen resolution as in the game (i, for one, use 1024x786x32, 85fps refresh rate for the desktop) and also take a look at REPLY NO 15.
DEC

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Popular Searches On Airliners.net

Top Photos of Last:   24 Hours  •  48 Hours  •  7 Days  •  30 Days  •  180 Days  •  365 Days  •  All Time

Military Aircraft Every type from fighters to helicopters from air forces around the globe

Classic Airliners Props and jets from the good old days

Flight Decks Views from inside the cockpit

Aircraft Cabins Passenger cabin shots showing seat arrangements as well as cargo aircraft interior

Cargo Aircraft Pictures of great freighter aircraft

Government Aircraft Aircraft flying government officials

Helicopters Our large helicopter section. Both military and civil versions

Blimps / Airships Everything from the Goodyear blimp to the Zeppelin

Night Photos Beautiful shots taken while the sun is below the horizon

Accidents Accident, incident and crash related photos

Air to Air Photos taken by airborne photographers of airborne aircraft

Special Paint Schemes Aircraft painted in beautiful and original liveries

Airport Overviews Airport overviews from the air or ground

Tails and Winglets Tail and Winglet closeups with beautiful airline logos